A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 160 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 75 countries worldwide.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian (t.me/Roscongress), English (t.me/RoscongressDirect), and Spanish (t.me/RoscongressEsp). Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Carbon-Free Energy and the Future of Fossil Fuels
2 September 2021
12:30—14:00
KEY CONCLUSIONS
The petrochemical industry continues to offer potential in spite of decarbonization

2020 was a fairly difficult year for a great number of industries. However, a number of <...> areas remain on a firm footing. These are areas with a global reach, and are related to decarbonization. Across the globe, the number of such projects has only continued to grow. And from the point of view of industries, the petrochemical industry should be considered in the broad sense of the term. By this I also mean polymeric petrochemicals and gas chemistry, <...> which have proven to be pretty robust. Indeed, across several segments, there has even been growth on the whole. These areas <...> offer a great deal of potential. They will continue to grow in spite of decarbonization — Dmitriy Akishin, Director, Gas and Chemicals, VYGON Consulting.

Regulatory requirements to use low-carbon fuel are being drafted both in Russia, and in other countries

There is no getting away from it – we need to boost production of low-carbon fuel. First of all, we have our own requirements, which are set out in reference manuals for the best available technologies. The first 300 enterprises must fairly rapidly undergo ecological modernization from the point of view of environmental requirements. Secondly, in terms of primary industries, we are net exporters – we supply other countries more than we consume ourselves. <...> And our products have appeared in the list of goods which are today being reviewed in the European Union’s document on carbon tax. This specifically affects the chemical industry, metallurgy, and cement — Viktor Evtukhov, State Secretary – Deputy Minister of Industry and Trade of the Russian Federation.

ISSUES
The Russian budget remains reliant on hydrocarbon sales

Today, more than ever before, the future of hydrocarbons is a major issue. Given that they account for up to a quarter of Russia’s GDP and up to half of the federal budget, depending on prices, this is a critical question for the whole of our country. As the Ministry of Energy, we have set ourselves <...> the objective of fully capitalizing on the long-term opportunities that present themselves to us — Pavel Sorokin, Deputy Minister of Energy of the Russian Federation.

The move towards decarbonization is leading to significantly increased costs in the production chain

Overall, if we do not go too deeply into the climate agenda, the energy transition agenda, what implications are there for the sector? <...> Overall, there will be additional costs. <...> Somewhere in the supply curve <...> we will see changes. These may take the form of transnational carbon taxes, various environmental duties, or a change in consumer preferences. It will simply mean that an enterprise will incur additional expenses in order to sell a tonne of their product. This is true of oil, gas, and more complex polymers. It is crucial to maintain a competitive advantage in this area, so that if some producers drop out of this supply curve and lose their competitiveness, our enterprises maintain theirs — Pavel Sorokin, Deputy Minister of Energy of the Russian Federation.

SOLUTIONS
Producers of low-carbon fuels have a chance to replace a product that has a harmful impact on the environment

We are currently working on a project to construct a methanol production plant in the town of Skovorodino in Amur Region. In the last few years, we have also carved out a niche in relation to the fossil fuels segment. <...> The global marine fuel market is worth an enormous USD 200 billion per year, according to assessments conducted by every agency. Currently, 100% of that market consists of fuel made from oil, which has a major negative impact on the environment. In 2020 the UN and <...> the International Maritime Organization launched a range of important initiatives aimed at reducing marine fuel emissions. Put simply, we could see the environmental screws being tightened. And this gives all producers of low-carbon fuels the opportunity to contest this enormous niche and take a place in it. According to numerous agencies, as well as our partners, methanol offers great potential here — Vadim Medvedev, Vice President, ESN Group.

Cooperation between industries is helping companies remain competitive while adhering to high environmental standards

The global climate agenda is creating specific rules of the game – not only with regard to our industry, but also primarily with regard to the extractive industries. Here, we are in effect playing the role of a highly skilled assistant. You did indeed cite examples of cooperation – the result of the work done in Tobolsk. Overall, this involves <...> inter-industry cooperation between oil and gas companies working together on associated gas, on processing by-products created in the process of oil extraction, of condensate stabilization. Now the situation is changing somewhat. <...> It seems to me that <...> with the help of the petrochemical industry, the future of fossil fuels is bright indeed — Mikhail Karisalov, Chairman of the Management Board, Chief Executive Officer, SIBUR.

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, созданный в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом. Установлено взаимодействие со 160 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 75 странах мира.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Безуглеродная энергетика. Будущее горючих топлив
2 сентября 2021
12:30—14:00
Ключевые выводы
Нефтегазохимия остается перспективной отраслью, несмотря на декарбонизацию

2020-й год был достаточно тяжелым для очень многих отраслей. Но вот есть <…> направления, которые чувствовали себя достаточно уверенно. Это глобальное направление, которое связано с декарбонизацией. По миру проекты по этой части только росли. И с точки зрения отраслей, наверное, нужно выделить нефтегазохимию в широком смысле слова. Я имею в виду и нефтехимию полимерную, и газохимию <…>, которые показали достаточно хорошую устойчивость. По многим сегментам даже, в общем-то, наблюдался рост. Эти направления <…> очень перспективные, они будут расти, несмотря на декарбонизацию — Акишин Дмитрий, Директор по консалтингу в секторе газ и химия, VYGON Consulting.

Нормативные требования по внедрению низкоуглеродного топлива создаются как в самой России, так и за ее пределами

Нам никуда не деться от этого. Нам необходимо будет развивать производство низкоуглеродного топлива. Во-первых, у нас есть требования свои, они заложены в справочниках наилучших доступных технологий. Первые три сотни предприятий должны достаточно оперативно провести экологическую модернизацию с точки зрения экологических требований. Во-вторых, по базовым отраслям мы нетто-экспортеры, мы поставляем на внешний рынок больше, чем потребляем у себя. <…> Наша продукция попала в перечень тех товаров, которые сегодня рассматриваются в документе Европейского союза по углеродному налогу. Там как раз химическая отрасль, металлургия, цемент — Евтухов Виктор, Статс-секретарь – заместитель Министра промышленности и торговли Российской Федерации.

Проблемы
Российский бюджет все еще существенно зависит от продажи углеводородов

Сегодня как никогда, наверное, остро стоит вопрос вообще будущего углеводородов. Поскольку это составляет сегодня до четверти ВВП России и до половины федерального бюджета при различном уровне цен, то, естественно, это является очень важным вопросом для всей нашей страны. Как Министерство энергетики мы ставим себе <…> это как задачу — обеспечить максимальное использование тех возможностей, которые у нас есть на долгосрочной перспективе — Сорокин Павел, Заместитель Министра энергетики Российской Федерации.

Внедрение принципов декарбонизации существенно увеличит издержки в производственной цепочке

В целом, если не уходить слишком глубоко в климатическую повестку, в повестку энергоперехода, то что это означает для сектора? <…> В целом это означает дополнительные издержки. <…> Где–то на кривой предложения <…> произойдут изменения: будь то трансграничные углеродные налоги, будь то различные экологические сборы или изменение потребительских предпочтений. Это будет просто означать, что предприятие несет дополнительные издержки, чтобы продать одну тонну своей продукции. Это касается и нефти, и газа, это касается и более сложных полимеров. Здесь важно обеспечить то самое конкурентное преимущество, чтобы если какие–то производители будут выпадать с этой кривой предложения, будут терять свою конкурентоспособность, чтобы наши предприятия ее сохраняли — Сорокин Павел, Заместитель Министра энергетики Российской Федерации.

Решения
Производители низкоуглеродистых топлив получили шанс заменить на рынке продукт с отрицательным экологическим следом

Мы реализуем проект строительства завода по производству метанола в городе Сковородино в Амурской области и в последние годы в экологической мировой повестке нащупали для себя нишу, связанную как раз с горючими видами топлива <…> Мировой рынок судового топлива оценивается в колоссальные 200 миллиардов долларов ежегодно, по оценкам всех агентств. На сегодняшний день 100% этого рынка — это топливо, которое производится из нефти и имеет существенный отрицательный экологический след. В 2020 году ООН и <…> Мировой морской организацией был принят ряд важных инициатив, направленных на снижение выбросов от судового топлива. По-простому, закручиваются на наших глазах экологические гайки. И это дает возможность для всех производителей низкоуглеродистых топлив побороться за эту огромную нишу и занять свое место. По оценкам многих агентств и наших партнеров, метанол здесь имеет все перспективы — Медведев Вадим, Вице-президент, Группа компаний «ЕСН».

Кооперация межотраслевая помогает компаниям оставаться конкурентоспособными при соблюдении высоких экологических стандартов

Глобальная климатическая повестка создает определенные правила игры не только для нашей отрасли, но и, в первую очередь, для отрасли, которая занимается добычей. Мы здесь фактически играем роль такого качественного помощника. Вы действительно привели примеры кооперации. То, что является результатом работы в Тобольске. В целом такая <…> кооперация межотраслевая между нефтяными и газовыми компаниями по попутному газу, по утилизации вторичных, побочных продуктов, которые возникают при добыче нефти, при стабилизации конденсата. Сейчас ситуация несколько меняется. <…> Мне кажется, <…> будущее горючих топлив при помощи нефтегазохимии очень хорошее — Карисалов Михаил, Председатель правления, генеральный директор, ООО «СИБУР».