A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 160 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 75 countries worldwide.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian (t.me/Roscongress), English (t.me/RoscongressDirect), and Spanish (t.me/RoscongressEsp). Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
The Russian Continental Shelf: Is Development Necessary?
4 September 2019
17:15—18:45
KEY CONCLUSIONS
The Russian Arctic has incredible resource potential

By 2035 our on-land extraction in traditional regions can go down significantly compared to today. Different estimates give us 50 to 100 million tons decline, depending on the year and potential fiscal support measures. It means that the shelf is going to replace our traditional regions — Pavel Sorokin, Deputy Minister of Energy of the Russian Federation.

What makes the shelf so unique and why would investors want to come here, given we provide something resembling favorable conditions <…>? Actually, it the presence of the resource potential that is in decline globally. Both the Arctic and the shelf attract with their resource potential — Andrey Patrushev, Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Shelf Projects Development, Gazprom Neft.

Currently, we have 79 licenses for the shelf. Rosneft holds 31, Gazprom has almost the same number – 29, Gazpromneft has 5, and the remaining 14 are distributed among other companies. Since 2012, 46 licenses went to state companies. <…> Since 2012, three new deposits have been commissioned in the Arctic. Apart from the well-known Pobeda, it is Tsentralno-Olginskaya and Severo-Obskaya. Subsequently, the growth since 2012 resulted in 210 million tons of oil, 670 billion cubic meters of gas, and 16 million tones of condensate — Denis Khramov, First Deputy Minister of Natural Resources and Environment of the Russian Federation.

ISSUES
The shelf is not thoroughly investigated

When it comes to the degree of investigation. <…> It remains extremely uneven. The Barents Sea is best known in the Arctic with one and a half kilometers of the seismic survey per a square kilometer of area. For the Kara Sea it’s a half of that, whereas the East Siberian Sea is the least studied — Denis Khramov, First Deputy Minister of Natural Resources and Environment of the Russian Federation.

High risks of shelf exploration

In recent years, the mining companies regularly addressed the state about changing the licensing requirements. Business reported the unfavourable taxation regimen, lack of access to sea infrastructure construction subsidies, as well as outside factors like sanctions and currency exchange rate fluctuations. At the same time, global tendencies attest that starting the exploration the shelf projects in 2030s can make them uncompetitive in the market — Magomed Gekhaev, Advisor to the General Director, Far East Investment and Export Agency.

Western countries carrying out projects in the Gulf of Mexico or in Africa get funds under 2–3%. They can get listed and get cheap money there. Our companies face global limitations and have to get funding <…> under 8–9% if there’s no state support. It doesn’t work. These are very long-term projects, the risks are too high for such rates — Pavel Sorokin, Deputy Minister of Energy of the Russian Federation.

SOLUTIONS
State support for shelf investment projects

Our investors are not ready to cash out on these extremely risky projects basically under a promise as a guarantee. That’s why we need alternate financing tools: whether it’s co-financing, or differentiated breaks for explorations <…> Unfortunately, in order to attract investors to the unattractive territory we need to have some ‘honey’ to offer them — Pavel Sorokin, Deputy Minister of Energy of the Russian Federation.

Recently, a number of changes have been introduced into the Tax Code that consolidates exploration expenses with extraction results in Prirazlomnaya with a 1.5 multiplier. Thus, the state stimulation for exploration reaches 30%. However, this mechanism only works for greenfield exploration. <…> First thing the state could do to stimulate extraction is cover the entire exploration field with 1.5 multiplier. <…> Second, <…> if we look at the experience of other countries that work their shelf – Norway, Brazil, China – we’ll see discounted financing to create the infrastructure around their fields. That would be a key step for us. <…> Next step we could implement <…> is labelling all Arctic shelf exploration projects as 4th complexity category — Andrey Patrushev, Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Shelf Projects Development, Gazprom Neft.

To intensify the shelf exploration takes three main solutions. First is the development of competition. <…> Second is stimulus and regulation mechanisms required to fulfil the projects. <…> We suppose that the tax regimen needs to be changed for the shelf projects. The preference system we prepared takes that into account. <…> It includes spreading the 4th complexity category to the entire shelf without term expiration. We suppose that the state should intensify investments in technologies required to explore the shelf in particular and the Arctic in general — Alexander Krutikov, Deputy Minister for the Development of the Russian Far East and Arctic.

Attracting investment to the development of the region

President of Russia trusted us with the development of the Arctic zone on the Russian Federation. He pointed out three goals we need to achieve. First is raising the quality of life in the Arctic. 2.5 million of our compatriots live in rather grave conditions. Second is the economic development of those territories. <…> Third is a notable, sizeable increase in cargo transfer along the Northern Sea Route. <…> There is only one realistic way to achieve these goals. It’s attracting private investment to these territories. There are no funds available to flood the Arctic with money, thus improving the quality of life. <…> Private investment means jobs, improving the quality of those jobs, and growth of regional taxation base — Alexander Krutikov, Deputy Minister for the Development of the Russian Far East and Arctic.

The material was prepared by the Russian news agency TASS

Информационно-аналитическая система
Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Шельф России: нужно ли его осваивать?
4 сентября 2019
17:15—18:45
Ключевые выводы
Арктический шельф России имеет огромный ресурсный потенциал

К 35-му году наша добыча на суше в традиционных регионах может быть существенно меньше, чем текущий уровень. То есть разные оценки показывают потенциал падения от 50 до 100 млн тонн в зависимости от того, к какому году берем, в зависимости от того, будем ли мы принимать фискальные меры для ее поддержания. И это значит, что шельф станет фактически на замену наших традиционных регионов — Сорокин Павел, Заместитель Министра энергетики Российской Федерации.

В чем уникальность нашего шельфа и почему инвесторы могут сюда прийти, если мы создадим более или менее благоприятные условия <...>? Это, на самом деле, наличие ресурсного потенциала, которого в мире становится все меньше и меньше. Арктика и шельф привлекательны именно наличием ресурсного потенциала — Патрушев Андрей, Член правления, заместитель генерального директора по развитию шельфовых проектов, ПАО «Газпром нефть».

Сейчас на шельфе у нас выдано 79 лицензий, из них „Роснефти“ принадлежит 31, „Газпрому“ — 29, почти столько же „Газпромнефть“ — 5, и прочие недропользователи — 14. С 2012 года 46 лицензий было выдано, в первую очерель, госкомпаниям. <...> По проведенным работам с 12-го года в Арктике поставлены на баланс три месторождения. Это известная всем „Победа“, это „Центрально-Ольгинская“ и „Северо-Обская“. И, соответственно, прирост с 12-го года по текущий момент составил по нефти 210 млн тонн, 670 млрд кубов газа и 16 млн тонн конденсата — Храмов Денис, Первый заместитель Министра природных ресурсов и экологии Российской Федерации.

Проблемы
Недостаточная изученность шельфа

Что касается степени изученности <...> Она по-прежнему очень неравномерна. Из Арктики лучше всего изучено Баренцево море, и составляет это порядка полукилометра сейсмики на квадратный километр площади. Для Карского моря этот показатель уже в два раза меньше. Ну и самое малоизученное у нас — это Восточно-Сибирское море — Храмов Денис, Первый заместитель Министра природных ресурсов и экологии Российской Федерации.

Повышенные риски освоения шельфовых месторождений

В последние годы компании-недропользователи регулярно обращались в органы государственной власти с инициативами по изменению лицензионных обязательств. Бизнесом это объяснялось неблагоприятным налоговым режимом, отсутствием доступа у бизнеса к целевому финансированию на строительство морской инфраструктуры, а также внешними факторами, связанными с санкциями и валютными колебаниями. В то же время мировые тенденции свидетельствуют о том, что начало реализации этих проектов в горизонте 2030-х годов может сделать проекты по добыче углеводородов на шельфе невостребованными на рынке — Гехаев Магомед, Советник генерального директора, АНО «Агентство Дальнего Востока по привлечению инвестиций и поддержке экспорта».

Тот, кто финансируется, например, в том же Мексиканском заливе или в Африке, если это западные страны, они получают деньги под 2-3%. Они могут выйти на биржу и получить тоже достаточно дешевый капитал там. Наши компании будут вынуждены в условиях финансовых ограничений мировых и в условиях наших <...> фондироваться по 8-9%, если без поддержки государства. Это не работает. Проекты слишком долгосрочные, слишком высок риск для того, чтобы фондироваться под такие ставки — Сорокин Павел, Заместитель Министра энергетики Российской Федерации.

Решения
Господдержка инвестиций в шельфовые проекты

У нас инвесторы не готовы давать деньги на настолько рискованные проекты фактически под обещание, ну и под очень высокий риск. Поэтому нам нужны альтернативные инструменты. И здесь либо софинансирование, либо повышение коэффициентов вычета на геологоразведку <...> К сожалению, чтобы завлечь инвесторов на неизведанную территорию, которая сейчас на текущий момент не является самой привлекательной с точки зрения инвесторов, для этого нужно давать какие-то „морковки“ — Сорокин Павел, Заместитель Министра энергетики Российской Федерации.

Не так давно были внесены изменения в Налоговый кодекс, в соответствии с которыми затраты на геологоразведку консолидируются с добычей, которая происходит на „Приразломной“, с коэффициентом 1,5. Соответственно, мы получаем стимулирование от государства в размере 30% от стоимости геологоразведки. Но механизм этот работает только на поисково-оценочные скважины. <...> Первое, каким образом государство могло бы простимулировать нашу добычу, это распространение коэффициента 1,5 с консолидацией на весь периметр геологоразведочных работ <...> Второе <...> если мы посмотрим на опыт других стран, это Норвегия, Бразилия, Китай, другие страны, которые работают на шельфе, мы увидим, что государство помогает за счет предоставления льготного финансирования для обустройства месторождений и создания инфраструктуры. Для нас это является, наверное, самым главным фактором <...> Следующий шаг, который можно было бы применить <...> это применение четвертой категории сложности ко всем шельфовым проектам, которые находятся в Арктике — Патрушев Андрей, Член правления, заместитель генерального директора по развитию шельфовых проектов, ПАО «Газпром нефть».

Для интенсификации работы на шельфе — три главных решения. Первое — это развитие конкуренции. <...> Второе — это стимулы и преференции, которые мы даем для реализации проектов <...> Мы исходим из того, что нужно менять налоговый режим для шельфовых проектов. В рамках той системы преференций, которую мы подготовили для Арктики, это учтено. <...> Это распространение четвертой категории на весь арктический шельф и без лимитов по времени действия льгот <...> И третья история <...> это поддержка развития технологий. Мы исходим из того, что государство должно интенсивней и больше вкладывать средств в технологии, которые нужны для освоения шельфа и вообще для арктической зоны — Крутиков Александр, Заместитель Министра Российской Федерации по развитию Дальнего Востока и Арктики.

Привлечение инвестиций в развитие региона

Президент России доверил нам заниматься арктической зоной Российской Федерации, обозначив три цели, которые мы должны достичь. Первая цель — это повысить качество жизни в Арктике. 2,5 млн человек, наших граждан, проживает в таких весьма суровых условиях. Вторая цель — это собственно экономический подъем этих территорий. <...> И третья цель — это значительное, в разы наращивание грузоперевозок по Северному морскому пути <...> Единственный реальный способ выполнения этих целей один. Это привлечение как можно большего количества частных инвестиций в эти территории. Нет столько бюджетных денег, чтобы эти территории залить, тем самым подняв там уровень жизни. <...> Частные инвестиции — это создание рабочих мест, это повышение количества качественных рабочих мест, увеличение собственной налоговой базы регионов — Крутиков Александр, Заместитель Министра Российской Федерации по развитию Дальнего Востока и Арктики.

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС