A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 160 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 75 countries worldwide.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian (t.me/Roscongress), English (t.me/RoscongressDirect), and Spanish (t.me/RoscongressEsp). Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
From Raw Materials to Advanced Processing: Achieving Growth in the Forestry Sector
4 September 2019
17:15—18:45
KEY CONCLUSIONS
Russian forest industry has a huge potential

Proven oil reserves [in Russia] are 106 billion barrels, that is around USD 6 trillion according to current market prices. Forest reserves are estimated to reach 83 billion cubic metres. If we multiply it by the average market price of round timber, around USD 70, it is also 6 trillion. But while oil is formed over 100 million years, a good tree needs 100 years to grow. So, it is interesting to find a way to make this important economic and ecological resource more valuable and more sustainably used in our economy — Alexey Chekunkov, Chief Executive Officer, Far East and Baikal Region Development Fund.

The prime cost of Finnish products that are delivered to the global pulp market and to consumers is around USD 500 per tonne of pulp. In Russia, given the prime cost and potential of Russian timber, we can offer the cost of USD 350. If we started developing this industry in Russia, we could squeeze the Finnish out and have 20% of the pulp market instead of current 2% — Mikhail Shamolin, President, Chairman of the Board, Segezha Group .

Globally, over the last five years the growth of the forestry sector reached 3% per year, and it corresponds to the global GDP growth rate. In Russia, over the same five years, the forestry sector growth was faster than GDP growth, mostly due to the export. In the Far East this also was the case in a number of segments — Igor Prutov, Partner, Transaction Advisory Services, EY.

We can see the potential of the industry. Last year the amount of investment in Russia was RUB 165 billion of capital expenditure, which is, according to different estimates, from 0.13% to 0.14% of GDP. In Finland it is four times more. So, there is room for improvement — Vladimir Sitnov, Senior Vice President, Sberbank.

Promotion of timber processing pays off

Decree number 1520 of the Government of the Russian Federation was adopted, related to the timber processing in the Far East. Also, a tariff quota was introduced for export of round timber of Far Eastern species, exclusively for enterprises that have set up processing capacities and have been exporting timber products. <…> In the first six months of 2019, the amount of unprocessed timber export decreased by almost 25% — Viktor Evtukhov, State Secretary and Deputy Minister of Industry and Trade of the Russian Federation.

Foreign investors are interested in creating forest processing facilities in the Far East

Now in many countries timber is transported as logs, and their deep processing results in waste – chips and remaining materials. In order to work with this waste, we are discussing these projects with the Far East Investment and Export Agency. <…> We plan to import timber from the Southeast Asia to Nakhodka, Vanino or Vladivostok and there process these materials, with amounts exceeding 500,000 cubic metres — Kazuhisa Hara, Executive Advisor, EREX Co..

ISSUES
Lack of relevant information about the situation in the industry and non-transparent pricing

Various state data bases provide very different information. As for the forest management, these are mainly 10–20-year old documents that make it impossible to plan any business — Nikolay Nikolaev, Chairman of the Committee of the State Duma of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation on Natural Resources, Property and Land Relations .

The problem of pricing transparency, transparency of the information source that exists in the industry, is really important. <…> As a result, no more than 10 out of 100 applications are ready for financing with the total of RUB 50–60 billion. Sometimes the prices for raw materials and end products are unreasonable; sometimes expectations do not correspond to forest ratios; sometimes processing resource is not confirmed by the source at the product entrance – this is not a bankable situation — Vladimir Sitnov, Senior Vice President, Sberbank.

Underdeveloped transport infrastructure

Roads remain a sore spot in the Far Eastern forest industry. Quite a few forest areas are currently almost inaccessible. <…> Also, there is a problem of timber transportation by heavy trucks — Dmitri Valtfogel, Chief Executive Officer, RFP Group.

70% of the region is covered with forest, 18 million cubic metres of calculated cut, but the question is how to use it in a correct way. Today we only have 6 million cubic metres from the relatively accessible areas; all the rest is in places where roads and infrastructure need to be built first — Mikhail Churkin, Acting Deputy Chairman of the Government, Acting Minister of Investment Development, Government of the Zabaikalsky Territory.

SOLUTIONS
Development of wood exchange and more transparent pricing

We support the exchange mechanism and we understand that it provides us with more open and reliable information about cost of timber products. Perhaps it would not make sense if everyone goes to the exchange, but we could use the exchange mechanism for assessment, for correct taxation of those who sell their products at understated prices and those who try to sell stolen products at lower prices — Mikhail Klinov, Deputy Head, Federal Agency for Forestry.

We believe that introduction of a regulation for timber trade within the region would encourage transparent pricing: we would understand the real cost of timber and have better access to round timber for processing — Dmitri Valtfogel, Chief Executive Officer, RFP Group.

The project [timber trading] started in 2014. <…> At the moment, 24 regions and forestry enterprises of 24 regions have joined the project, with 12 of them actively working and others on their way. <…> I hope that the launch of export trading will balance the pricing. Generally, the pricing should be pretty much the same — Alexey Ryzhikov, Managing Director, Saint-Petersburg International Mercantile Exchange.

More accessible and reliable information about forests

This is one of our most important strategic tasks. We have already started on it: the first amendment has been adopted requiring that regions publish information on forest areas — Nikolay Nikolaev, Chairman of the Committee of the State Duma of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation on Natural Resources, Property and Land Relations .

We are now taking steps to catch up and accelerate updating forest management materials using modern methods and technologies. <…> We rely on our ground activities and aerial photography to update the materials — Mikhail Klinov, Deputy Head, Federal Agency for Forestry.

We used satellite monitoring and neural networks. <…> The neural network uploads free satellite images, compares them and demonstrates online where forest has disappeared. <…> Based on that, we can analyze forestry activities – how intensive they are, where they are carried out, when they comply with forest declarations, and when they go beyond them — Kirill Berman, Minister of Information Technology and Communication of the Khabarovsk Krai.

We fully support the idea of forestry digitalization and its development. We are now carrying out research using space photography for specific projects in order to get all necessary data about forest areas — Maxim Duz, Deputy General Director, Far East Investment and Export Agency.

Forest restoration

Last year we approved amendments to the Forestry Code introducing obligatory compensatory reforestation: we need to plant as much as we have cut. <…> We will now work on a regulation that would require that both state and market players head towards restoration of the consumed forest resource — Nikolay Nikolaev, Chairman of the Committee of the State Duma of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation on Natural Resources, Property and Land Relations .

The material was prepared by the Russian news agency TASS

нефинансовый институт развития
крупнейший организатор конгрессно-выставочных мероприятий
Рады вас видеть
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
От сырья к глубокой переработке: как будет развиваться лесная отрасль Дальнего Востока
4 Сентября 2019
17:15—18:45
Ключевые выводы
Лесная отрасль России обладает большим потенциалом

Разведанные запасы нефти [в России] составляют 106 млрд баррелей – это примерно 6 трлн долларов в рыночных ценах сегодня. И запасы леса оцениваются в 83 млрд кубов. Если перемножить на среднюю рыночную цену кругляка в примерно 70 долларов, то тоже получается 6 трлн долларов. Но если хорошее дерево 100 лет растет, то нефть формируется 100 млн лет. Поэтому интересно найти способ этот важнейший экономический и экологический ресурс сделать более ценным и более рачительно используемым в нашей экономике — Чекунков Алексей, Генеральный директор, АО «Фонд развития Дальнего Востока и Байкальского региона».

Себестоимость финской продукции, поставляемой на мировой рынок целлюлозы и доставленной до потребителя, составляет примерно 500 долларов за тонну целлюлозы. В России, если взять себестоимость российского леса и потенциал, мы можем давать доставленную стоимость в 350 долларов. Если бы в России всерьез взялись за дело развития этой отрасли, то финнов мы могли бы точно вышибить и иметь не 2% рынка целлюлозы, как мы имеем сейчас, а все 20% — Шамолин Михаил, Президент, председатель правления, Segezha Group .

В целом в мире рост ЛПК за последние 5 лет составил 3% в год и соответствует темпам роста мирового ВВП. В России темпы роста ЛПК за последние 5 лет в среднем опережали темпы роста ВВП, во многом благодаря экспорту. На Дальнем Востоке по ряду сегментов также было опережение — Прутов Игорь, Партнер, практика консультационных услуг по сделкам, компания EY.

Мы видим потенциал отрасли. Объем инвестиций в России в прошлый год составил 165 млрд рублей капексов — это, по разным оценкам, от 0,13 до 0,14% ВВП. В Финляндии — в 4 раза больше. Нам точно есть куда стремиться — Ситнов Владимир, Старший вице-президент, ПАО Сбербанк.

Стимулирование лесопереработки приносит результаты

Было принято постановление Правительства РФ №1520, которое касается лесопереработки на территории Дальнего Востока. Также была введена тарифная квота на вывоз круглого леса дальневосточных пород древесины исключительно для предприятий, которые создали перерабатывающие мощности и осуществляли экспорт продукции лесопереработки. <…> За первое полугодие 2019 года мы наблюдаем снижение объемов экспорта необработанной древесины почти на 25% — Евтухов Виктор, Статс-секретарь — заместитель Министра промышленности и торговли Российской Федерации.

Иностранные инвесторы заинтересованы в создании лесоперерабатывающих производств на Дальнем Востоке

Сейчас во многих странах материалы перевозятся в виде бревен, и при их глубокой обработке появляются отходы: стружка и остаточные материалы. Чтобы работать с этими отходными материалами, мы вместе с Агентством по развитию Дальнего Востока находимся на стадии обсуждения этих проектов. <…> Мы планируем завозить лес из Юго-Восточной Азии в Находку, Ванино или Владивосток и там перерабатывать эти материалы в объеме более 500 тысяч кубометров — Хара Казухиса, Исполнительный советник, EREX Co..

Проблемы
Отсутствие адекватной информации о ситуации в отрасли и непрозрачность ценообразования

Самые разные государственные базы предоставляют абсолютно разные данные. Что касается информации по лесоустройству, то в большинстве своем это документы 10-20-летней давности, что не позволяет планировать никакой бизнес — Николаев Николай, Председатель комитета Государственной Думы Федерального Собрания Российской Федерации по природным ресурсам, собственности и земельным отношениям.

Проблема прозрачности ценообразования, проблема прозрачности того информационного ресурса, который есть в отрасли, — это действительно значимая проблема. <…> Она материализуется в то, что из 100 поданных заявок не больше десятка готовы к финансированию на общую сумму в 50-60 млрд рублей. Где-то заложены неадекватные цены на сырье и на готовую продукцию, где-то заложены несопоставимые с лесными балансами ожидания, где-то ресурс переработки не подтвержден ресурсом источника на товарном входе — это точно не bankable ситуация — Ситнов Владимир, Старший вице-президент, ПАО Сбербанк.

Неразвитость транспортной инфраструктуры

Дороги по-прежнему являются больным местом в лесной отрасли Дальнего Востока. Достаточно большое количество лесных массивов на данный момент труднодоступны. <…> Также существует проблема перевозки леса большегрузным транспортом — Вальтфогель Дмитрий, Генеральный директор, ООО «РФП Групп».

Я совершенно согласен: без дорог по большому счету не добраться до леса, хотя его вроде и много — Евтухов Виктор, Статс-секретарь — заместитель Министра промышленности и торговли Российской Федерации.

70% края покрыто лесом, 18 млн кубов расчетной лесосеки, но здесь вопрос, как нам ее правильно осваивать. Сейчас у нас из понятных земельных участков, которые хотя бы относительно доступны, есть только 6 млн кубов, а все остальное находится в тех местах, где нужно строить какие-то дороги, прокладывать инфраструктуру — Чуркин Михаил, Исполняющий обязанности заместителя председателя Правительства, исполняющий обязанности Министра инвестиционного развития, Правительство Забайкальского края.

Решения
Развитие биржевой торговли лесом и повышение прозрачности ценообразования

Мы биржевой механизм поддерживаем, понимаем, что он нам дает некую открытую, более правдивую и достоверную информацию о стоимости тех или иных товаров из древесины. Может быть, нет смысла всех поголовно загонять на биржу, но стоит подумать об использовании биржевого механизма для оценки, для правильности налогообложения тех, кто свой товар продает по заниженным ценам, тех, кто пытается украденный товар продать по более низкой цене — Клинов Михаил, Временно исполняющий обязанности руководителя, Федеральное агентство лесного хозяйства.

Мы считаем, что введение какой-то регуляторной среды при торговле лесом внутри региона позволило бы сделать прозрачное ценообразование: мы бы понимали, сколько действительно стоит лес, и имели больший доступ к круглому лесу для переработки — Вальтфогель Дмитрий, Генеральный директор, ООО «РФП Групп».

Проект [торги лесом] начался с 2014 г. <…> На текущий момент 24 региона и лесхозы 24-х регионов влились в проект, из них активно работающих — 12, остальные на подходе. <…> Я надеюсь, что запуск экспортных торгов выровняет уровень цен. По большому счету цена должна быть примерно одинаковой — Рыжиков Алексей, Управляющий директор, АО «Санкт-Петербургская международная товарно-сырьевая биржа» (СПбМТСБ).

Повышение доступности и достоверности информации о лесах

Это одна из наших важнейших стратегических задач. Мы уже приступили к ее исполнению: уже принята первая поправка, обязывающая регионы публиковать информацию о лесных участках — Николаев Николай, Председатель комитета Государственной Думы Федерального Собрания Российской Федерации по природным ресурсам, собственности и земельным отношениям.

Сейчас мы принимаем меры, чтобы современными методами, технологиями догнать и ускорить актуализацию материалов лесоустройства. <…> Мы опираемся на наши наземные силы и средства, на аэрофотосъемки, чтобы материалы актуализировать — Клинов Михаил, Временно исполняющий обязанности руководителя, Федеральное агентство лесного хозяйства.

Мы использовали спутниковый мониторинг и нейронные сети. <…> Нейронная сеть подкачивает бесплатные спутниковые снимки, делает их сопоставление и в режиме онлайн показывает, где пропал лес. <…> На основе этого мы можем делать анализ о том, насколько интенсивно ведется лесохозяйственная деятельность, где она ведется, когда она ведется в рамках лесных деклараций, а когда выходит за границы — Берман Кирилл, Министр информационных технологий и связи Хабаровского края.

Мы поддерживаем полностью идею цифровизации области и развития этого направления. Сейчас под конкретные проекты мы проводим отдельные исследования с точки зрения космосъемки, чтобы полностью подготовить данные о лесных участках для проектов — Дузь Максим, Заместитель генерального директора, АНО «Агентство Дальнего Востока по привлечению инвестиций и поддержке экспорта».

Принятие мер по лесовосстановлению

В прошлом году мы приняли изменения в Лесной кодекс, которые ввели обязательное компенсационное лесовосстановление: теперь сколько вырубили, столько и нужно посадить. <…> Мы будем сейчас работать над нормами, которые позволили бы и обязали бы и государство, и участников всего рынка каким-то образом все-таки двигаться по направлению восполнения лесного ресурса, который был потреблен ранее — Николаев Николай, Председатель комитета Государственной Думы Федерального Собрания Российской Федерации по природным ресурсам, собственности и земельным отношениям.

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС