non-financial development institution
major organizer of congress and exhibition events
RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Creating a New Quality of Life in Africa
24 October 2019
13:00—14:30
KEY CONCLUSIONS
Improving Africa’s quality of life is a complex challenge

The topic of improving the quality of life on the African continent is extensive and diverse. It covers all areas, including those that we traditionally refer to as improving the quality of life: health, education and culture, as well as those that are usually somewhat neglected: personal initiative and opportunities for it, possibilities to work in good conditions, and a favourable environment — Andrey Sokolov, Deputy Chief Executive Officer, TASS Russia.

African countries should focus on domestic resources

Improve living standards in Africa is a new cluster of challenges – let's call them innovative. The first challenge is to avoid foreign loans for catching up with developed Western countries in terms of technology, as loans lead to increased debt bondage and economic instability. They should use the experience of China and other self-reliant countries that draw upon their own economic growth. Participation in new formats for international cooperation, such as BRICS+ needs to be ensured, as well as overcoming the mentality of dependency and developing national consciousness — Vladimir Yurtaev, Professor, Department of Theory and History of International Relations, Peoples' Friendship University of Russia.

I am confident that solutions to many of Africa's problems lie within the African continent itself — Dirk Badenhorst, Director, Mzansi Ballet.

Russian business invests social efforts in Africa

When working in Africa, it is important to help the local population understand why our business is important and what good things we bring in their lives. <...> Over the 10 years that we work in Africa, we have built about 100 schools, providing access to education in Burkina Faso and Guinea. In Guinea, we have built several clinics, so our employees and their families have access to free healthcare and medications. We have created over 3,000 jobs with competitive salaries in Africa. We are training young people to give them professions that will be in demand in the local job market. 1,600 employees got qualification through our multi-profession programmes — Evgeny Tulubenskiy, Chief Legal Officer, Corporate and Regulatory Affairs, Member of the Board of Directors, Nordgold.

NPOs promote development of entrepreneurship and improvement of living standards in Africa

Africa has a <...> foundation that has allocated about 100 million for local entrepreneurship, created 1 million jobs and generated about USD 1 billion in profits for the African economy. This is an entrepreneurial programme that educates our own entrepreneurs who will not leave but will stay on the continent. There is a programme of the British Council called Entrepreneurial Africa that aims to create a culture of entrepreneurship through competitions, mentoring programmes and forums. It helps African countries cooperate with other ones. The third part encompasses youth programmes, which create jobs and provide training — Namukale Chintu, Senior Director, EFG Private Bank Limited.

Fifteen years ago, I founded a non-profit organization that aims to improve living standards. We run an aid programme in Rwanda. <...> Our goal is not only to feed the hungry, but also to give people the opportunity to stand on their own feet so that they can support themselves. Through our programme, many young people in Rwanda have skills that enable them to feed their families and participate in the country's development: they pay taxes and contribute to a pension fund — Jan Berkmans, President, Global Help to Heal Inc.

ISSUES
Russia is poorly informed about Africa

Many do not work with Africa not because they do not want to, but because they do not have the knowledge — Tatiana Semenenko, Head, Francotheque Cultural Center, Margarita Rudomino All-Russia State Library for Foreign Literature.

Africa has no adequate access to education

More than 53% of Zambia's population is under 18 years of age. 83% of children do not have a birth certificate. 50% of children do not get sufficient food, water, healthcare or education. 800,000 Zambian children do not have access to education — Iosif Timchenko, Founder, Voskhod.

SOLUTIONS
Expanding opportunities for African young people to get education locally and in Russia

We have an example of underestimated integration – it's the student community. If African students had the opportunity to work in Russia, then they would return to Africa as representatives of Russia and would be able to work in places whose mentality they already know. These people are already becoming carriers of our own Russian culture, but this tool is not used enough — Tatiana Semenenko, Head, Francotheque Cultural Center, Margarita Rudomino All-Russia State Library for Foreign Literature.

It is necessary to organize language courses to prepare those who are going to study in Russia. A year-long course in Africa would help African students come to Russia prepared. It is necessary to establish and expand the network of vocational schools in Africa. This would attract young people, encourage them to get a profession and participate in the development of the country — Jan Berkmans, President, Global Help to Heal Inc.

An African e-University is now being established as a space for the development of education in Africa. It is necessary to provide African scientists an access to depositories and data storage systems, as well as target professional development of African specialists at Russia’s innovative enterprises — Vladimir Yurtaev, Professor, Department of Theory and History of International Relations, Peoples' Friendship University of Russia.

There is a need to establish branches of Russian universities in Africa, maybe to create a Russian-African polytechnic university. In a number of African countries there is a lack of vocational schools, and Russia should take part in this process — Kirill Aleshin, Group Leader, Centre for Global and Strategic Strudies, Institute of African Studies.

Involving business in implementing educational programmes

One of the main companies in this field is Rosatom, which operates in Egypt, Rwanda, Zambia and provides scholarships to locals. This is key not only to improving living standards, but also to stimulating entrepreneurial activity, to reducing crime rate and regional conflicts. <...> Emigration from Africa can be reduced by providing the population with the opportunity to study in Russian educational programmes. It is necessary to attract talented African young people to work on joint research projects in Russia — Kirill Aleshin, Group Leader, Centre for Global and Strategic Strudies, Institute of African Studies.

Involving children in arts and sports

I set up a football camp for slum children in Zambia. <...> More than 150 children have gone through it over the past six months <...> We have provided humanitarian support for some families, and they receive food from us — Iosif Timchenko, Founder, Voskhod.

Through ballet, children no longer spend time outside, they do not get to try drugs, we reduce the level teenage pregnancies – in South Africa it is a very serious problem, and through ballet we can solve it. <...> Thanks to our programme, we can improve the quality of life for children in Africa. We can physically take many of them out of poverty — Dirk Badenhorst, Director, Mzansi Ballet.

Getting Russian and African people better informed about their lives

It is necessary not only to tell about the African heritage around the world, but also share information it in Russia. A lot of people in Russia do not know much about Africa and its culture. It seems as if Africa is a continent of problems, but it is impossible to agree with it: Africa is a continent of opportunities — Kirill Aleshin, Group Leader, Centre for Global and Strategic Strudies, Institute of African Studies.

A consistent and comprehensive approach to organizing humanitarian cooperation

It is necessary to support alumni of Russian universities in Africa. The possibility for Russia to support these associations is another level of cooperation, as it has already invested a lot in these people. It is necessary to establish Russian language and culture centres in Africa to attract young people — Jan Berkmans, President, Global Help to Heal Inc.

In the wake of this Forum, it makes sense to consider holding a Russia–Africa Youth Forum to enhance humanitarian cooperation and make it a regular event every two or three years — Kirill Aleshin, Group Leader, Centre for Global and Strategic Strudies, Institute of African Studies.

The material was prepared by the Russian news agency TASS

нефинансовый институт развития
крупнейший организатор конгрессно-выставочных мероприятий
Рады вас видеть
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Создавая новое качество жизни в Африке
24 Октября 2019
13:00—14:30
Ключевые выводы
Повышение качества жизни в Африке – комплексная задача

Тема повышения качества жизни на Африканском континенте широка и многообразна и охватывает все сферы — как те, которые мы традиционно имеем в виду, когда говорим о повышении качества жизни: это и здравоохранение, и образование, и культура, — так и те, которые обычно остаются немного в стороне: это вопросы и возможности реализации личной инициативы человека, возможности трудиться в хороших условиях, благоприятная экологическая среда — Соколов Андрей, Заместитель генерального директора, Информационное агентство России «ТАСС».

Африканским странам следует сделать ставку на внутренние ресурсы

Следует назвать новый кластер задач — назовем их инновационными — для повышения уровня жизни в Африке. Первая задача — отказ от зарубежных займов в целях догнать развитые страны Запада в технологическом отношении, поскольку займы ведут к усилению кредитной кабалы, росту экономической нестабильности. Нужно использовать опыт Китая и других стран, опирающихся на собственные силы и экономический рост. Обеспечить участие в новых форматах международного сотрудничества, к примеру, в формате БРИКС+. Преодоление менталитета иждивенчества, развитие национального самосознания — Юртаев Владимир, Профессор кафедры теории и истории международных отношений, ФГАОУ ВО «Российский университет дружбы народов».

Я уверен, что решения многих проблем Африки находятся в пределах самого африканского континента — Баденхорст Дирк, Директор, Mzansi Ballet.

Российский бизнес активно ведет социальную работу в Африке

Работая в Африке, важно объяснить местному населению, зачем нужен наш бизнес, что хорошего мы внесем в их жизнь <…> За 10 лет, что мы работаем в Африке, мы построили порядка 100 школ, обеспечив в Буркина-Фасо и Гвинее доступ к образованию. В Гвинее мы построили несколько клиник, наши сотрудники и члены их семей имеют доступ к бесплатной медицине и лекарствам. Мы создали более 3 тыс. рабочих мест в Африке с конкурентной зарплатой. Мы обучаем молодежь тем профессиям, которые будут востребованы на местном рынке труда. 1600 сотрудников получили квалификацию благодаря нашим программам по разным специальностям — Тулубенский Евгений, Директор по правовым, корпоративным и регулятивным вопросам, член совета директоров, Nordgold.

НКО способствуют развитию предпринимательства и повышению уровня жизни в Африке

В Африке действует фонд <…> который выделил около 100 млн на развитие местного предпринимательства, было создано 1 млн рабочих мест и получено около $1 млрд прибыли для африканской экономики. Речь идет о предпринимательской программе, которая воспитывает наших собственных предпринимателей, которые не уедут, а останутся на континенте. Есть программа Британского совета “Предпринимательская Африка”, направленная на создание культуры предпринимательства через проведение конкурсов, наставнических программ, форумов. Она позволяет наладить сотрудничество стран Африки с другими странами. Третья программа — молодежные программы, они создают рабочие места и занимаются обучением — Чинту Намукале, Старший директор, EFG Private Bank Limited.

15 лет назад я основал некоммерческую организацию, целью которой является повышение уровня жизни. Мы осуществляем программу помощи в Руанде <…> Наша цель — не только накормить голодных, но и дать людям возможность встать на ноги, чтобы они могли обеспечивать себя сами. Благодаря нашей программе многие молодые люди в Руанде владеют навыками, которые позволяют им кормить свои семьи и принимать участие в развитии страны: они платят налоги, делают взносы в пенсионный фонд — Беркманс Жан, Президент, Global Help to Heal Inc.

Проблемы
Слабая информированность об Африке в России

Многие не работают с Африкой не потому, что нет желания, а из-за отсутствия знаний — Семененко Татьяна, Руководитель, Культурный центр «Франкотека», ФГБУК «Всероссийская государственная библиотека иностранной литературы имени М.И.Рудомино».

Отсутствие адекватного доступа к образованию в Африке

Более 53% населения Замбии — дети до 18 лет. 83% детей не имеют свидетельства о рождении. 50% детей живут в условиях недостатка еды, воды, медицинской помощи и образования. 800 тыс. замбийских детей не имеют доступа к образованию — Тимченко Иосиф, Основатель, Команда «Восход».

Решения
Расширение возможностей образования для африканской молодежи на местах и в России

У нас есть пример недооцененной интеграции — это студенчество. Если бы африканские студенты имели возможность работы в России, то потом они вернулись бы в Африку как представители России и смогли бы работать в местах, чей менталитет они уже знают. Эти люди становятся носителями уже нашей, российской культуры, но этот инструмент недостаточно используется — Семененко Татьяна, Руководитель, Культурный центр «Франкотека», ФГБУК «Всероссийская государственная библиотека иностранной литературы имени М.И.Рудомино».

Нужно организовывать подготовительные языковые курсы для тех, кто собирается учиться в России. Годовые курсы в Африке позволили бы африканским студентам приезжать в Россию уже подготовленными. Нужно организовать и расширить сеть профессиональных училищ в Африке. Это привлекло бы молодежь, сподвигло бы ее получить профессию и участвовать в развитии страны — Беркманс Жан, Президент, Global Help to Heal Inc.

Сейчас идет создание Африканского виртуального электронного университета как системного пространства развития образования в Африке. Нужно обеспечить доступ африканских ученых к депозитариям и системам хранения информации, а также целевое повышение квалификации африканских специалистов на инновационных предприятиях России — Юртаев Владимир, Профессор кафедры теории и истории международных отношений, ФГАОУ ВО «Российский университет дружбы народов».

Нужно создавать филиалы российских вузов в Африке, возможно, создать российско-африканский политехнический университет. В ряде стран Африки есть недостаток профтехучилищ, в этом направлении России нужно поучаствовать — Алешин Кирилл , руководитель группы Центра глобальных и стратегических исследований Института Африки РАН.

Привлечение бизнеса к реализации образовательных программ

Следует предоставлять образование в кредит <…> одной из основных компаний в этом направлении является “Росатом”, работающий в Египте, Руанде, Замбии и предоставляющий стипендии местному населению. Это важно не только для повышения уровня жизни, но и для стимулирования предпринимательской активности, для снижения уровня преступности, региональных конфликтов <…> Можно снизить уровень эмиграции из Африки, предоставляя возможность населению обучаться по российским образовательным программам. Необходимо привлекать талантливую африканскую молодежь к работе над совместными проектами в России в научном направлении — Алешин Кирилл , руководитель группы Центра глобальных и стратегических исследований Института Африки РАН.

Вовлечение детей Африки в занятия искусством и спортом

Я основал футбольный лагерь в Замбии для детей из трущоб <…> За полгода существования через него прошло более 150 детей <…> Для некоторых семей мы организовали гуманитарную поддержку, они получают от нас продукты питания — Тимченко Иосиф, Основатель, Команда «Восход».

Занимаясь балетом, дети больше не проводят время на улице, у них нет возможности попробовать наркотики, мы понижаем уровень подростковых беременностей — в ЮАР это очень серьезная проблема, и через балет мы можем эту проблему решить <…> Благодаря нашей программе мы можем улучшить качество жизни детей в Африке. Мы можем физически вывести многих из них за пределы бедности — Баденхорст Дирк, Директор, Mzansi Ballet.

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС