A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation – a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 129 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 69 countries worldwide.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Research
04.09.2020

Gold Mining Companies: Riding the Price Wave

The National Rating Agency presents a study of the gold mining industry in Russia in 2020. The article examines aspects such as investment demand, financial results of Russian gold mining companies, as well as the state of the global gold supply amid restrictions due to measures to counter the spread of COVID-19. NRA experts note that the average annual gold price in 2020 will grow by more than 20%. Against the backdrop of rising prices, the financial results of Russian gold mining companies will improve: revenues in 2020 may increase by more than 30% on average, and the EBITDA — by 48%.

Roscongress Foundation analysts highlighted the main theses of this research, accompanying each of them with suitable fragments of video broadcasts of panel discussions held as part of business programs of the key events hosted by the Foundation.

Gold is one of the traditional defensive assets in times of economic uncertainty. The COVID-19 pandemic was no exception and had an impact on investor demand, which increased in Q1 2020. However, due to the restrictions caused by the pandemic, global gold extraction decreased by 3% compared to Q1 2019.

By the summer of this year, the price of gold reached its maximum since 2012, having increased by 14% amid falling prices for other assets (for example, the Dow Jones Industrial Average fell by 12% during this time). Large-scale financial assistance programs adopted in the largest economies of the world increase inflationary risks, the tool for reducing which traditionally becomes gold.

Золото — один из традиционных защитных активов во времена экономической нестабильности.png

In 2019, investor demand accounted for almost 30% of the global demand for gold, while in Q1 2020, the share of investors in the demand structure reached 50%. In the Q1 2020, demand from investors increased by 80% year-on-year and almost doubled compared to the previous quarter, while demand in other segments decreased.

In general, global demand for gold in Q1 2020 increased by 1% in annual terms and by 3% compared to the previous quarter. However, the global gold supply is declining amid restrictions due to measures to counter the spread of COVID-19, which have caused disruptions to gold extraction and supply chains. Global gold extraction decreased by 3% compared to Q1 2019 and by 12% compared to Q4 2019. Gold supply decreased by 4% in annual terms and by 13% quarter-on-quarter

Video: https://roscongress.org/sessions/africa-2019-rossiyskaya-geologiya-v-afrike-nasledie-i-vzglyad-v-budushchee/search/#00:51:24.031

As of 2019, Russia is the third largest gold producer in the world, behind only China and Australia. In the Q1 2020, gold production increased by another 5%, but in April, due to the negative factors of the coronavirus pandemic, the bullion production decreased by 23% year-on-year.

In 2019, due to the development of mining assets and the processing of refractory concentrates, domestic producers set a record for gold production — 368 tons, which allowed the country to occupy about 11% of the world market. Russia is the third largest gold producer in the world, behind only China and Australia.

In the Q1 2020, gold production increased by 5% to 64.6 tons. Russian producers felt the impact of COVID-19 in April: the bullion production decreased by 23% year-on-year. Given the expected decline in the Russian economy by 5-6% in 2020 and inflation by 4-6%, gold production this year may remain at the level of 2019.

Россия находится на третьем месте в мире по производству золота.png

Against the background of record extraction figures and an increase in global investment demand, gold exports in 2019 increased sevenfold, reaching a third of production. At the end of January—April 2020, exports increased 7.5 times compared to the same period last year, while in April volumes showed a 13-fold increase. More than 90% of supplies go to the UK: London is a gold trading center. Gold imports to Russia are insignificant and comparable to less than 1% of exports. In 2020, against the background of a decrease in world extraction, Russian gold exports may grow by a third, to 164 tons.

экспорт российского золота .png

Gold mining in the Russian Federation is characterized by a fairly low market concentration, close to the average. The value of the Herfindahl-Hirschman index is about 800 units, the concentration coefficient for the first eight players is 56%. In Q1 2020 among public companies only Polyus and Highland Gold Mining (Russdragmet) cut production.

Video: https://roscongress.org/sessions/nedra-dalnego-vostoka-povyshenie-effektivnosti-resursnoy-ekonomiki/search/#00:17:02.719

See other materials posted in special sections of the Rosсongress Information and Analytical System StayHomeEconomy, Investment Projects, Exploration and Production, Monetary Policy and Financial Market dedicated to the sphere of precious metals extraction and support of investment projects, as well as possible ways to stabilise the economy in conditions of a pandemic.


Analytics on the topic

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом. Установлено взаимодействие с 130 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 70 странах мира.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Исследование
04.09.2020

Золотодобывающие компании: на ценовой волне

Национальное рейтинговое агентство представляет исследование золотодобывающей отрасли России в 2020 году. В материале рассматриваются такие аспекты, как инвестиционный спрос, финансовые результаты российских золотодобывающих компаний, а также положение мирового предложения золота на фоне ограничений в связи с мерами противодействия распространению COVID-19. Эксперты НРА ожидают, что среднегодовая цена на золото в 2020 г. вырастет более чем на 20%. На фоне роста цен финансовые результаты российских золотодобывающих компаний улучшатся: выручка в 2020 г. может увеличиться в среднем более чем на 30%, показатель EBITDA — на 48%.

Аналитики Фонда Росконгресс выделили основные тезисы данного исследования, сопроводив каждый из них подходящим по теме фрагментом видеотрансляций панельных дискуссий, состоявшихся в рамках деловых программ ключевых мероприятий, проведенных Фондом.

Золото — один из традиционных защитных активов во времена экономической нестабильности. Пандемия COVID-19 не стала исключением и оказала влияние на спрос со стороны инвесторов, который увеличился в I квартале 2020 г. Однако из-за ограничений, вызванных пандемией, добыча золота в мире снизилась на 3% по сравнению с I кварталом 2019 г.

Цена золота к лету этого года достигла максимума с 2012 г., повысившись на 14% на фоне снижения цен других активов (например, промышленный индекс Dow Jones за это время снизился на 12%). Масштабные программы финансовой помощи, принятые в крупнейших экономиках мира, усиливают инфляционные риски, инструментом для снижения которых традиционно становится золото.

Золото — один из традиционных защитных активов во времена экономической нестабильности.png

В 2019 г. спрос со стороны инвесторов составлял почти 30% мировой потребности в золоте, тогда как в I квартале текущего года доля инвесторов в структуре спроса достигла 50%. В I квартале 2020 г. спрос со стороны инвесторов увеличился на 80% год к году и почти вдвое к предыдущему кварталу при снижении потребности в других сегментах.

В целом мировой спрос на золото в I квартале 2020 г. увеличился на 1% в годовом выражении и на 3% к предыдущему кварталу. Однако мировое предложение золота снижается на фоне ограничений в связи с мерами противодействия распространению COVID-19, вызвавшими нарушения в функционировании добычи и логистических цепочек. Добыча золота в мире снизилась на 3% по сравнению с I кварталом 2019 г. и на 12% к IV кварталу прошлого года. Предложение золота сократилось на 4% в годовом выражении и на 13% к предыдущему кварталу.

Видео: https://roscongress.org/sessions/africa-2019-rossiyskaya-geologiya-v-afrike-nasledie-i-vzglyad-v-budushchee/search/#00:51:24.031

По состоянию на 2019 год, Россия находится на третьем месте в мире по производству золота, уступая только Китаю и Австралии. В I квартале 2020 г. производство золота выросло еще на 5%, но уже в апреле, под влиянием негативных факторов пандемии коронавируса, производство слитков сократилось на 23% год к году.

В 2019 г. отечественные производители за счет развития рудных активов и переработки упорных концентратов поставили рекорд по производству золота — 368 тонн, что позволило стране занять порядка 11% на мировом рынке. Россия находится на третьем месте в мире по производству золота, уступая только Китаю и Австралии.

В I квартале 2020 г. производство золота выросло на 5%, составив 64,6 тонн. Влияние COVID-19 российские производители ощутили в апреле: производство слитков сократилось на 23% год к году. Учитывая ожидаемое сокращение экономики России по итогам 2020 г. на 5-6% и инфляции в 4-6%, производство золота в текущем году может остаться на уровне 2019 г.

Россия находится на третьем месте в мире по производству золота.png


На фоне рекордных показателей добычи и увеличения мирового инвестиционного спроса экспорт золота в 2019 г. семикратно увеличился и достиг трети производства. По итогам января — апреля 2020 г. экспорт увеличился в 7,5 раза по сравнению с аналогичным периодом прошлого года, при этом в апреле объемы продемонстрировали 13-кратный рост. Более 90% поставок направляется в Великобританию: Лондон — центр торговли золотом. Импорт золота в РФ незначителен и сопоставим с менее чем 1% экспорта. В 2020 г. на фоне сокращения мировой добычи экспорт российского золота может вырасти на треть, до 164 тонн.

экспорт российского золота .png


Золотодобыча в РФ характеризуется достаточно низкой рыночной концентрацией, близкой к средней. Значение индекса Херфиндаля — Хиршмана составляет порядка 800 единиц, коэффициент концентрации по восьми первым игрокам — 56%. В I квартале 2020 г. среди публичных компаний производство сократили только «Полюс» и Highland Gold Mining («Руссдрагмет»).

Видео: https://roscongress.org/sessions/nedra-dalnego-vostoka-povyshenie-effektivnosti-resursnoy-ekonomiki/search/#00:17:02.719

Также предлагаем вам ознакомиться с другими материалами, размещенными в специальных разделах Информационно-аналитической системы Росконгресс СидимДомаЭкономика, Инвестпроекты, Разведка и добыча, Денежно-кредитная политика и Финансовый рынок, посвященных сфере добычи драгоценных металлов, поддержке инвестиционных проектов, а также возможным путям стабилизации экономики в условиях пандемии.


Аналитика на тему