A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation – a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 130 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 70 countries worldwide.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Article
29.08.2019

In search of a cog e surplus

Two significant events occurred last spring. The first was the Boeing 773 MAX 8 plane crash in Ethiopia, shortly after another plane of this model had crashed because of its automatic flight control system. The second was that, by the end of March, 1% of the population of the People’s Republic of China, or 13.5 million people, were included in the list of ‘untrustworthy persons’ in the country’s national social trust system.

These two very different situations are examples of the growing use of artificial intelligence (AI) in systems that make ethically important decisions. People’s fates, even life or death moments, are increasingly dependent on systems that involve some elements of AI.

The further development of this trend will require a fundamental transformation of our ethical systems. This is our primary challenge. We are creating a society where human ethics will be altered through the integration of AI into the process of making crucial decisions.

In other words, each person will need to get an explanation of why vital decision-making by AI systems is acceptable, beneficial, desirable, and, in the long run, fair.

This is a horrible choice. And, in a certain sense, our technological civilization no longer has any other option.



The collapse of ethical systems

The issue of ethical transformations due to AI was brought to the table at the moment when ethical systems from previous waves were in the process of collapsing.

This also includes the traditional ethical systems formed during the rise of agrarian societies. The system of answers to the meaning of life for a person whose life ended around the age of 35–40 is not very fitting for a person who will live an average of 70–80 years and for whom 35–40 is a period of psychological and physiological development and of painful re-evaluation of one’s own path.

Previous answers to the question ‘Why must I spend invaluable hours of my life on one or the other type of collectively approved behaviour?’ are becoming increasingly unsatisfying to people across a variety of strata and from very different societies around the world.

What’s more, it’s not just that old answers are out of date,change is happening at such a pace that previous mechanisms for the transmission of these answers is also deteriorating. The system of passing values, knowledge, and skills from generation to generation is failing time and time again, because, all too often, the experiences being passed on lose their value before there is a demand for them.

A simple example. The first iPhone was presented in 2007. Over the next decade, smart phones radically transformed the model of consumption, forcing whole industries to change — from taxis and retail to media and political campaigns. In the next decade, technologies, fueled in part by AI, will create even greater changes in the world.

The world has entered the concluding stage of a grand transition, starting essentially from the price revolution and manifesting as three processes: urbanization, industrialization, and globalization. This short (historically speaking) period may lead to the illusion of the existence of a social economic optimum that can and should be returned to.

Depending on their ideological preferences, people either point to the 1970—1980s or 1990—2000s. Both groups are wrong. It’s impossible to remain in a transition period or return to one.

Cognitive race

In 2017, researchers from Stanford University (USA) organized an experiment. A group of 30 volunteers made decisions about the funding of 36 Kickstarter projects. Their goal was to guess which projects would and wouldn’t be successfully funded. What’s more, these people were competing against a special algorithm.

The people lost. Their predictions matched the real outcome 52.9% of the time. The algorithm was able to predict the outcome with an accuracy of 59.1%.

What is the most surprising thing about the results of this experiment? It’s not the victory of artificial intelligence. It’s the fact that the cognitive surplus of the human mind, when guessing the future, was only able to exceed a random 50/50 chance by 2.9%

Our civilization is built upon these ‘three percent.’ Everything else is the law of large numbers: a vast number of people and a colossal number of attempts, hypotheses, and experiments, trials and errors over the course of a vast number of centuries. Imagine now a civilization built not on these ‘three percent’
of cognitive surplus, but on nine percent. Clearly, the societies that will be the first to effectively include AI in their management systems will benefit from significant competitive advantages and will be able to increase the speed with which they develop.

The quantity and speed of transactions performed and the quantity and speed of decisions made are constantly growing. For example, the aforementioned Chinese social trust system has already blocked the purchase of 20.5 million plane tickets and 5.7 train tickets by ‘untrustworthy citizens.’Public transport, jurisprudence, medicine — all these sectors are actively working towards implementing AI-based systems.

Does this mean that increasingly less intelligent people will become dependent on increasingly intelligent machines?

That’s the wrong question. In reality, falling individual IQ scores is not a sign that people are becoming less intelligent. The issue is that human reason has a group element to it. Higher cognitive function is excessively energy intensive (the brain consumes 20 to 40% of a body’s energy) and, looking at a species, it only pays off in the presence of societies.

Humans with their cognitive surplus of ‘three percent’ are probably fairly intelligent, rather than completely reasonable. Essentially, formally speaking, a 15th or 18th century person can be considered less intelligent than a 20th century person, but the Renaissance and Enlightenment are the products of our ‘less intelligent’ predecessors.

The right question exists on a completely different plane. We already live in a world where saying that pilots control airplanes is an arguable statement. Where the question of keeping human pilots on board is no longer a technical issue, but a passenger relations issue. A symbol of, in part, how much airlines value the lives of their clients.

In reality, the question is how can we adapt our understanding of ethics to reality, when an increasing number of critical questions are answered by AI systems? In other words, how can we avoidlosing our humanity in this new reality?
Analytics on the topic

нефинансовый институт развития
крупнейший организатор конгрессно-выставочных мероприятий
Рады вас видеть
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Статья
29.08.2019
В погоне за когнитивным профицитом
Минувшей весной произошло два знаковых события. Первое — крушение авиалайнера Boeing 773 MAX 8 в Эфиопии вскоре после того, как один самолет этой модели уже разбился из-за особенностей автоматической системы управления. Второе — по состоянию на конец марта 1% населения КНР, или 13,5 млн человек, оказался внесен в список «ненадежных» в рамках работы национальной системы кредита общественного доверия.

Эти два очень разных примера говорят об одном — о нарастающем использовании систем с элементами искусственного интеллекта (ИИ) при принятии этически важных решений. Как сложится судьба человека и даже вопросы жизни и смерти — во все большей степени в руках систем с элементами ИИ.

Развитие этой тенденции потребует коренной трансформации этических систем. Таков главный вызов. Нам предстоит создать общество, в котором этика человека будет изменена в результате интеграции ИИ в процесс принятия жизненно важных решений.

Иначе говоря, каждый человек должен будет получить ответ на вопрос, почему принятие жизненно важных решений искусственными разумными системами приемлемо, благотворно, желательно и в конечном итоге справедливо.

Это ужасный выбор. В каком-то смысле другого пути у нашей технологической цивилизации уже нет.



Распад этических систем

Вопрос о трансформации этики под давлением ИИ появился в повестке дня в тот самый момент, когда этические системы предыдущих волн оказались в фазе распада.

Это касается и традиционных этических систем, сформировавшихся в эпоху восхождения аграрных обществ. Система ответов о смысле жизни для человека, завершающего свой жизненный путь в 35–40 лет, не слишком подходит для человека, живущего в среднем 70–80 лет, для которого 35–40 лет — это и период психофизиологического расцвета, и время болезненной переоценки собственного пути.

Прежние ответы на вопрос «Почему я должен менять бесценные часы своей жизни на тот или иной тип коллективно одобряемого поведения?» все меньше удовлетворяют представителей самых разных слоев в самых различных обществах по всему миру.

Впрочем, устаревают не просто прежние ответы — скорость изменений такова, что деградируют прежние механизмы передачи этих ответов. Система передачи от поколения к поколению ценностей, знаний и навыков дает сбой за сбоем, поскольку слишком часто опыт обучающих теряет свою ценность раньше, чем на него возникает запрос.

Простой пример. Первый iPhone был представлен в 2007 году, за следующие 10 лет смартфоны радикально изменили модель потребления, заставив измениться целые отрасли: от такси и розничной торговли до медиа и политической борьбы. Еще через 10 лет под влиянием технологий,
в частности ИИ, в мире снова произойдут большие изменения.

Мир вошел в завершающую стадию грандиозного перехода, начавшегося условно с революции цен и проявляющегося в трех процессах: урбанизации, индустриализации и глобализации. Краткий по историческим меркам момент может породить иллюзию существования социально-экономического оптимума, в который можно и желательно вернуться.

В зависимости от идеологических предпочтений в качестве такого оптимума одни называют 1970-1980-е годы, другие — 1990-2000-е. Ошибаются те и другие. Невозможно ни задержаться в одной из точек перехода, ни тем более вернуться в нее.

Когнитивная гонка

В 2017 году ученые Стэнфордского университета (США) провели исследование. Группа из 30 добровольцев принимала решение о вложении средств в 36 проектов на Kickstarter. Они должны были угадать, какие проекты получат финансирование, а какие нет. При этом люди соревновались
со специальным алгоритмом.

Люди проиграли. Их прогноз совпал с реальностью в 52,9% случаев. Алгоритм прогнозировал с точностью 59,1%. Что самое поразительное в результатах этого эксперимента? Вовсе не победа искусственного интеллекта. А то, что когнитивный профицит человеческого мозга при «угадывании будущего» превысил случайные 50/50 всего на 2,9%.

На этих условных «трех процентах» и построена наша цивилизация. Все остальное — закон больших чисел. Огромное количество людей — и колоссальное количество попыток, гипотез и экспериментов, проб и ошибок в течение многих и многих веков. Представьте теперь себе цивилизацию, построенную не на условных трех, а на девяти процентах когнитивного профицита. Понятно, что общества, которые первыми комплементарно включат ИИ в свои системы управления, получат весомые конкурентные преимущества, смогут ускорить темпы своего развития.

Количество и скорость совершаемых трансакций, количество и скорость принимаемых решений постоянно растут. Например, упоминавшаяся китайская система кредита общественного доверия уже заблокировала «ненадежным» гражданам покупку 20,5 млн билетов на самолет и 5,7 млн билетов на поезд. Общественный транспорт, юриспруденция, медицина — во всех этих отраслях активно ведутся работы по внедрению систем на основе ИИ.

Означает ли это, что все менее умные люди попадут в зависимость от все более умных машин?

Вопрос сформулирован неточно. В действительности падение индивидуального IQ вовсе не означает, что люди становятся глупее. Дело в том, что человеческий разум имеет групповую природу. Высшая психика слишком энергоемка (мозг потребляет 20–40% всей энергии организма), и с точки зрения особи она окупается лишь в социуме.

Человек со своим когнитивным профицитом в «три процента» скорее довольно сообразителен, чем вполне разумен. В конце концов человека XV или XVIII века формально можно назвать глупее человека ХХ века, но эпохи Возрождения и Просвещения являются продуктами наших «более глупых» предшественников.

Операционально вопрос стоит совсем в другой плоскости. Мы уже живем в мире, где утверждать, что пилоты авиалайнеров управляют полетом, можно лишь весьма условно. И оставлять или нет живых пилотов — уже не вопрос технической реализации, но взаимоотношения с пассажирами. В частности, того, насколько авиакомпании ценят жизни своих клиентов.

В действительности вопрос состоит в том, как нам адаптировать наши представления об этичном к реальности, когда все большее число жизненно важных вопросов будут решать системы на ИИ. То есть в конечном итоге как нам в этой новой реальности не утратить собственную человечность.
Аналитика на тему