A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation – a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 129 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 69 countries worldwide.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Research
14.12.2018

EAEU’s Trade and Geopolitics in a Global Scenario in Transition

As an introduction, the authors of the report observe that in the last decade Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) foreign trade performance has fluctuated. Trade increased annually at a moderate rate between 2007 and 2012, then reached its lowest level in 2016, but began to recover in 2017 when total trade volume climbed back up to approximately USD 741 bil., a 25% increase over 2016. The Intesa Sanpaolo experts name dynamics of energy prices and of the economies of the major trading partners, on the one hand, and the evolution of the cycle in the Eurasian region, on the other hand, as the main factors affecting EAEU import and export performance in the period. These were joined in 2014 by the effects of the progressive sanctions and counter-sanctions between Russia and Western countries. The inward stock of foreign direct investments (FDIs) in the Eurasian Economic Union countries has also fluctuated, reaching USD 31.5 bil. in 2017.


Besides the general changes in trade dynamics, EAEU countries have experienced significant changes in terms of sectors and geographical breakdown. While the share of EU countries in EAEU turnover has dropped, China’s portion has noticeably increased and continues to grow. Generally, the Intesa Sanpaolo experts highlight the reorientation of EAEU external trade policy towards China as the main trend. At sectoral level, there were changes as well: for example, with regard to Russian trade (which, on its own, covers approximately 80% of EAEU country trading globally), total machinery purchased in EU countries dropped from 42% in 2012 to just over 33% in 2017. The portion of Russian fuel covered by the EU dropped to less than 45% in 2017, compared to almost 54% in 2012. In this context, as the authors of the report note, the direct impact of the USA’s tariffs on steel and aluminum on the region’s exports as a whole is limited. However, potentially significant repercussions are expected at sectoral level.

Besides the economic aspect, the geopolitical relationships between the major players take on particular significance in terms of possible future outcomes in a global scenario in transition. The geopolitical activities of the EAEU move in two directions. The first is devoted to the process of economic integration among member countries, with the aim of establishing an area of free exchange of goods, services and capital, and freedom of movement of persons; the second is addressed to cooperation with external partners, in particular with the countries of Europe (primarily the EU) and Asia (China and Central Asian countries but also the Middle East and South-East Asia), through trade agreements, infrastructure projects and improvements in security.

Insofar as the trade and investment relations of Italy with EAEU countries, trade volumes began to climb again in 2017, reaching EUR 23 bil. The recovery in energy prices and the positive economic situation in Italy and EAEU countries were the main drivers of growth. Currently, Italian imports mainly consist of mineral products, especially energy and refined petroleum products, followed by metals. Exports consist of machinery, followed by textiles, chemical products, metals, and transport equipment.


Analytics on the topic

нефинансовый институт развития
крупнейший организатор конгрессно-выставочных мероприятий
Рады вас видеть
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Исследование
14.12.2018
Торговля и геополитика ЕАЭС в переходном глобальном контексте

Авторы доклада отмечают, что за последнее десятилетие внешняя торговля Евразийского экономического союза (ЕАЭС) показывала переменную тенденцию. В период с 2007 по 2012 годы товарооборот показывал устойчивый среднегодовой рост, в 2016 году упал до своего минимума и уже в 2017 году вырос на 25% по сравнению с показателем предыдущего года до отметки в 741 млрд. дол. США. В числе основных факторов, повлиявших на тренды экспорта и импорта ЕАЭС, группа «Intesa Sanpaolo» называет колебание цен на энергоносители, изменение географии основных торговых партнеров, эволюцию цикла в евразийском регионе, а с 2014 года также — последствия постепенного ужесточения санкций и режима противодействия санкциям между западными странами и Россией. Потоки же прямых иностранных инвестиций (ПИИ) в страны ЕАЭС также показывали разнонаправленную динамику и в 2017 году остановились на отметке в 31,5 млрд. дол. США.


Наряду с резкими изменениями в общей динамике торговли стран ЕАЭС, фиксируются значительные изменения во внешней торговле в географическом и отраслевом срезах. Одновременно со снижением доли стран ЕС в общем объеме торгового оборота ЕАЭС заметно выросла и продолжает расти доля Китая. Переориентация внешней торговой политики ЕАЭС на развитие отношений с Китаем — основной тренд, обозначенный экспертами группы «Intesa Sanpaolo» в докладе. На отраслевом уровне также происходили изменения: например, импорт машин из ЕС в РФ (на которую приходится около 80% внешней торговли стран ЕАЭС) упал до 42% от общего импорта машин в РФ в 2012 году до чуть более 33% в 2017 году, а экспорта углеводородов в страны ЕС упал ниже 45% от общего экспорта углеводородов РФ в 2017 году, по сравнению с почти 54% в 2012 году. Авторы доклада отмечают введенные, в стальной и алюминиевой отраслях, импортные пошлины США, влияние которых представляется несущественным в масштабах общего экспорта ЕАЭС, но значительным в рамках соответствующих отраслей.

В международном контексте переходного периода помимо экономического измерения особое значение для конфигурации возможных будущих результатов имеет развитие геополитических отношений. Геополитика ЕАЭС проводится по двум основным направлениям: а) экономическая интеграции между странами-членами ЕАЭС, создание зоны свободной торговли товарами, услугами и капиталом и свободы передвижения людей и б) сотрудничество с внешними партнерами, в частности со странами Европы (прежде всего ЕС) и Азии (Китая, стран Центральной Азии, Ближнего Востока и Юго-Восточной Азии) посредством коммерческих соглашений, инфраструктурных проектов и укрепления безопасности.

Что касается Италии, то объем торговли ЕАЭС с этой страной в 2017 году снова показал рост, когда он достиг отметки в 23 млрд. евро. Основными движущими факторами усиления торговой активности стали рост цен на энергоносители и позитивная тенденция экономической ситуации в Италии и в регионе ЕАЭС. В настоящее время Италия импортирует их стран ЕАЭС преимущественно энергоносители и металлы, а экспортирует машины, текстиль, химикаты, металлы и транспортные средства.



Аналитика на тему