A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of nationwide and international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, youth, sporting, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of nationwide and international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, youth, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5,000 people working in Russia and abroad.

The Foundation works alongside various UN departments and other international organizations, and is building multi-format cooperation with 166 economic partners, including industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions, financial, trade, and business associations from 76 countries worldwide, and 154 Russian public organizations, federal and legislative agencies, and federal subjects.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian t.me/Roscongress, English – t.me/RoscongressDirect, and Spanish t.me/RoscongressEsp. Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Research
20.01.2022

Special issue on the future of COVID-19

The current situation:

While a wave of new COVID-19 infections from the Omicron variant is sweeping the globe, hope is on the horizon. Our models show that by March 2022, the wave will have passed through most of the world, and this will lead to a period of low transmission. From there, COVID-19 will become a recurrent disease that health systems and societies will have to manage, re-emerging periodically during winter months and as immunity wanes.

Thankfully, we are now far better equipped to limit the impact of future waves than we were at the beginning of the pandemic. For instance:

  • Broad previous exposure to the virus and vaccines will make it harder for future waves to gain a foothold.
  • We have the technology to rapidly adapt vaccines to new variants.
  • We can now treat those infected with effective antivirals.
  • We know that high-quality masks and physical distancing work, and we can use them to protect the vulnerable in future waves.


Our reasons for hope are based on the following data and observations:

Unprecedented global Infections, increasing vaccination and immunity.

On January 17, 2022, there were an estimated 125 million infections per day across the globe, 10 times the peak of the Delta wave in April 2021. This unprecedented level of infection suggests that more than 50% of the world will have contracted Omicron by March 2022. The consequent high levels of infection-acquired immunity, along with continued increases in vaccination, mean that for some time, global levels of COVID-19 immunity should be at an all-time high. We therefore expect low levels of virus transmission for the ensuing weeks or months. As of January 17, Omicron waves were peaking in 25 countries in five WHO regions and 19 states in the USA, while only a few countries in Eastern Europe, North Africa, Southeast Asia, and Oceania have yet to start their Omicron wave. We expect the Omicron peak to occur in most countries between mid-January and mid-February, with later peaks in those countries where the Omicron wave has not yet started.

Asymptomatic infections and decreased severity.

Evidence suggests that the proportion of asymptomatic infections is between 80% and 90% for Omicron, and the global infection-detection rate has declined from 20% to 5%. While our models indicate that global daily infections have increased 30-fold between November 2021 and January 2022, reported cases have only increased six-fold during this same period. US data shows that the ratio of hospitalizations to cases has declined by 50% compared to various peaks, and in Canada and South Africa, the proportion of hospitalized patients who require intubation or are dying has declined by as much as 80–90%.

Effective strategies.

While mask use and vaccination will still protect individuals from COVID-19, the speed of the Omicron wave is so fast that additional policy actions will have an insignificant effect on the global course in the next 4–6 weeks: by the time these interventions scale up, the Omicron wave will be largely over. Increasing testing is likely to increase social disruption by excluding more individuals from work or school but is unlikely to impact the wave; contact tracing appears ineffective; and Omicron’s high transmissibility makes zero-COVID-19 strategies unlikely to succeed. In light of the preceding, control strategies need to be reset. However, this does not mean COVID-19 is gone for good; it will become another recurrent disease that health systems and societies will manage through strategies that have proven effective over the course of the pandemic, including:

  • Improving vaccine access and investing in new versions of vaccines.
  • Improving surveillance for emerging variants.
  • Utilizing masking and physical distancing as needed during future waves when immunity wanes or transmission increases during winter months.

The era of extraordinary measures by governments and societies to control transmission of a new pathogen will soon be over, and COVID-19 will become another recurrent disease that health systems and societies will have to manage.

Estimated percentage of the population infected with COVID-19 up to January 10, 2022

Rates of infection vary across the globe with most of locations showing percentages above 60%.​​​​



Estimated percent of new infections that are Omicron variant

The Omicron variant has spread rapidly across the globe, and we estimate that it is now dominant in nearly all countries.



Infection-fatality rate on January 10, 2022

The Infection-fatality rate (IFR) is estimated as the ratio of COVID-19 deaths to estimated daily COVID-19 infections. The IFR is less than 0.4 across the globe.



Global daily reported cases until May 1, 2022

Daily reported cases globally will peak in January 2022 and then decline steadily thereafter.



Source: IHME


Release date
20.01.2022
Topics
Analytics on the topic

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор общероссийских, международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, молодежных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор общероссийских, международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, молодежных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, создан в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом.

Фонд взаимодействует со структурами ООН и другими международными организациями. Развивает многоформатное сотрудничество со 173 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 78 странах мира, со 179 российскими общественными организациями, федеральными органами исполнительной и законодательной власти, субъектами Российской Федерации.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Исследование
20.01.2022

Спецвыпуск IHME о будущем COVID-19

Текущая ситуация:

В то время как волна новых инфекций COVID-19 от варианта Omicron охватывает мир, надежда уже забрезжила. Наши модели показывают, что к марту 2022 года волна пройдет через большую часть мира, и это приведет к периоду низкой передачи. С этого момента COVID-19 станет рецидивирующей болезнью, с которой системам здравоохранения и обществу придется справляться, периодически возникающей в зимние месяцы и по мере ослабления иммунитета.

К счастью, сейчас мы гораздо лучше подготовлены к ограничению воздействия будущих волн, чем в начале пандемии. Например:

  • Широкое предыдущее воздействие вируса и вакцин усложнит закрепление будущих волн.
  • У нас есть технология для быстрой адаптации вакцин к новым вариантам.
  • Теперь мы можем лечить инфицированных эффективными противовирусными препаратами.
  • Мы знаем, что качественные маски и физическое дистанцирование работают, и мы можем использовать их для защиты уязвимых в будущих волнах.


Наши основания для надежды основаны на следующих данных и наблюдениях:

Беспрецедентные глобальные инфекции, повышение вакцинации и иммунитета.

17 января 2022 года в мире ежедневно регистрировалось около 125 миллионов случаев заражения, что в 10 раз превышает пик дельта-волны в апреле 2021 года. Этот беспрецедентный уровень заражения предполагает, что более 50% населения мира заразится Омикроном к марту 2022 г. Последующие высокие уровни инфекционно-приобретенного иммунитета, наряду с продолжающимся ростом вакцинации, означают, что в течение некоторого времени глобальные уровни иммунитета к COVID-19 должны быть на рекордно высоком уровне. Поэтому мы ожидаем низкий уровень передачи вируса в последующие недели или месяцы. По состоянию на 17 января волны Омикрон достигли пика в 25 странах пяти регионов ВОЗ и 19 штатах США, в то время как только несколько стран в Восточной Европе, Северной Африке, Юго-Восточной Азии и Океании еще не начали свою волну Омикрон. Мы ожидаем, что пик Омикрон произойдет в большинстве стран между серединой января и серединой февраля, с более поздними пиками в тех странах, где волна Омикрон еще не началась.

Бессимптомные инфекции и снижение тяжести.

Имеющиеся данные свидетельствуют о том, что доля бессимптомных инфекций составляет от 80% до 90% для Omicron, а глобальный уровень выявления инфекций снизился с 20% до 5%. Хотя наши модели показывают, что в период с ноября 2021 г. по январь 2022 г. количество ежедневных заражений в мире увеличилось в 30 раз, число зарегистрированных случаев увеличилось только в шесть раз за тот же период. Данные США показывают, что отношение госпитализаций к числу случаев заболевания снизилось на 50% по сравнению с различными пиками, а в Канаде и Южной Африке доля госпитализированных пациентов, которым требуется интубация или умирающие, снизилась на целых 80–90%.

Эффективные стратегии.

В то время как использование масок и вакцинация по-прежнему будут защищать людей от COVID-19, скорость волны Омикрон настолько высока, что дополнительные политические меры окажут незначительное влияние на глобальный курс в следующие 4–6 недель: к тому времени, когда эти вмешательства будут масштабироваться вверх, волна Омикрон в значительной степени закончится. Увеличение количества тестов, вероятно, усилит социальные потрясения из-за исключения большего числа людей из работы или учебы, но вряд ли повлияет на волну; отслеживание контактов оказывается неэффективным; а высокая трансмиссивность Омикрон делает стратегии нулевого COVID-19 маловероятными. В свете вышеизложенного необходимо пересмотреть стратегии управления. Однако это не означает, что COVID-19 ушел навсегда; это станет еще одним рецидивирующим заболеванием, с которым системы здравоохранения и общества будут бороться с помощью стратегий, доказавших свою эффективность в ходе пандемии, в том числе:

  • Улучшение доступа к вакцинам и инвестирование в новые версии вакцин.
  • Улучшение эпиднадзора за появляющимися вариантами.
  • Использование масок и физического дистанцирования по мере необходимости во время будущих волн, когда иммунитет ослабевает или передача увеличивается в зимние месяцы.

Эпоха чрезвычайных мер со стороны правительств и общества по контролю за передачей нового патогена скоро закончится, и COVID-19 станет еще одним рецидивирующим заболеванием, с которым придется бороться системам здравоохранения и обществу

Расчетный процент населения, инфицированного COVID-19 на 10 января 2022 г.

Темпы распространения инфекции различаются по всему миру с большинством мест , показывающий процент выше 60%.



Расчетный процент новых инфекций, которые являются вариантом Omicron

Вариант Omicron быстро распространился по всему миру, и, по нашим оценкам, сейчас он доминирует почти во всех странах.



Коэффициент летальности от инфекций на 10 января 2022 г.

Коэффициент летальности от инфекций (IFR) оценивается как отношение смертей от COVID-19 к расчетным ежедневным случаям заражения COVID-19. IFR составляет менее 0,4 по всему миру.



Ежедневно регистрируемые случаи в мире до 1 мая 2022 г.

Ежедневно регистрируемые случаи во всем мире достигнут пика в январе 2022 года, а затем неуклонно снижаются.



Источник: IHME


Дата выхода
20.01.2022
Темы
Аналитика на тему