A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of nationwide and international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, youth, sporting, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of nationwide and international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, youth, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5,000 people working in Russia and abroad.

The Foundation works alongside various UN departments and other international organizations, and is building multi-format cooperation with 173 economic partners, including industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions, financial, trade, and business associations from 78 countries worldwide, and 179 Russian public organizations, federal and legislative agencies, and federal subjects.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian t.me/Roscongress, English – t.me/RoscongressDirect, and Spanish t.me/RoscongressEsp. Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Expert opinion
26.11.2021

Training the Next Generation of Arctic Scientists

Summary session «Training a New Generation of Arctic Researchers» within the framework of the Arctic Talent Acquisition Conference, which took place on November 15-16, 2021 in Arkhangelsk.

KEY FINDINGS

Developing the Arctic zone, implementing projects and research work requires highly qualified specialists while ensuring an influx of young people

«The first conclusion I would draw here is that the Arctic needs highly qualified researchers. <...> We are precisely those who research the Arctic and train specialists for the Arctic, and we are primarily responsible for this. And here I was pleased with the fact that from Murmansk to Tomsk, we did not go any further, we have a consensus that the Arctic must grow with young researchers», said Vladimir Masloboyev, Advisor to the Head of the Kola Science Centre under the Russian Academy of Science.

«We understand that youth and young people are an indispensable attribute of sustainable human capital development. And that is why, specifically concerning the Arctic, the University of the Arctic and the Barents Regional Youth Council, and the Association of Polar Early Career Scientists <...> have long been working to involve young people in the Arctic agenda, in particular in developing science in the north», said Mikhail Uksusov, Youth Envoy of Russia for International Cooperation in the Arctic during the Russian Chairmanship of the Arctic Council.

In order to improve the competence of young scientists, training and research centres need to be established, and teachers need to be trained. At the same time, young people should be trained to work in Arctic conditions

«The challenges facing science and higher education are obvious. First of all, it requires not only the attraction of advanced machinery and technology but also top-class specialists. It is necessary to create training and research centres with appropriate new methods of training and retraining of personnel for work in the northern latitudes. It is necessary to train scientific personnel and teachers themselves for higher education. That is, before training students, we need to train teachers in the widest range of competencies», said Alexey Fadeev, executive director of the Association of Polar Explorers of the Murmansk Region and chief researcher of the Luzin Institute of Economic Problems at the Kola Science Centre under the Russian Academy of Science.

«In order to train researchers, we need to train [teaching] staff first. At the same time, we are seeing a shortage of personnel, and the industries that work in the Arctic are already beginning to compete for high-level specialists. We need to keep this in mind and prepare the higher education sector as much as possible for the challenges that the development of the Arctic dictates today», said Vladimir Masloboyev, Advisor to the Head of the Kola Science Centre under the Russian Academy of Science.

«There are special skills related to how to act, function, sometimes even survive in Arctic conditions, remote from civilization and from rescue points. That is, you need to have first aid skills, safety skills and work on the sea ice or in a possible encounter with a polar bear», said Alexander Saburov, Director of the Arctic Center for Strategic Research at the Northern (Arctic) Federal University.

PROBLEMS

Scientific organizations point to staff shortages, including low salaries and a lack of opportunities for rapid career advancement. In addition, there is a shortage of comfortable housing in the Arctic

«Training a new generation of Arctic researchers is a very important topic both for universities and for scientific organizations, which are located in the Arctic zone and which, probably, suffer most of all now from an insufficient inflow of young specialists, young scientists exactly to science. But science doesn’t pay much, and there is a very long way to go in science in terms of career development», said Vladimir Masloboyev, Advisor to the Head of the Kola Science Centre under the Russian Academy of Science.

«Another important thing we haven’t talked about is the problem of housing, the problem of comfortable housing. The situation in Murmansk is paradoxical: once there were 400 thousand citizens, now there are 300 thousand with great difficulty, and what happened to the flats that people left? They stand empty. And we don’t have a mechanism in the country to redistribute this free housing just to bring in the young. Housing conditions are sometimes the most preferable, especially for those who have already managed to have children when they graduate», said Vladimir Masloboyev, Advisor to the Head of the Kola Science Centre under the Russian Academy of Science.

SOLUTIONS

Scientific organizations need to work more closely with schools, to build cooperation with institutions to engage students in science. It is important for them to develop a mentoring system to support and retain young specialists.

«We do not know how to work with schools. The difference between senior pupils and students may be only one summer, but they have fundamentally different perceptions and can and should be treated differently. <...> There is definitely such a gap here: the school has its own tasks, which are as far as possible from, say, our needs as an employer of the future», said Alexander Makarov, Director of the Arctic and Antarctic Research Institute

«The best training programme is mentoring and paying as much attention to the guys as possible, having them spend as much time at the institute as possible. And yes, it takes a very long time to train a specialist, but if he stays and decides to work at the institute, he essentially turns out to be one of the most valuable personnel», said Alexander Makarov, Director of the Arctic and Antarctic Research Institute

«Just as we understand that the work itself needs to be done in partnership, the staff also needs to be trained in networking because the competencies are quite strongly distributed across Russia. <...> In fact, everything I said shows that we should, first of all, talk about some kind of ecosystem. If we want to train researchers with high competencies, we have to go straight to the ecosystem, to create network programs together», said Victor Demin, First Vice Rector of the National Research Tomsk State University.

For more analytical materials on the Arctic agenda, see the Roscongress Information and Analytical System roscongress.org/en/knowledge/arktika/materials/.

The material was prepared by the information partner of TASS.

Release date
26.11.2021
Analytics on the topic

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, созданный в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом. Установлено взаимодействие со 163 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 75 странах мира.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Экспертное мнение
26.11.2021

Подготовка нового поколения исследователей Арктики

Саммари сессии «Подготовка нового поколения исследователей Арктики» в рамках конференции по привлечению кадров в Арктику, состоявшейся в 15-16 ноября 2021 г. в Архангельске.

КЛЮЧЕВЫЕ ВЫВОДЫ

Для развития Арктической зоны, реализации проектов и исследовательской работы нужны высококвалифицированные специалисты, при этом необходимо обеспечить приток молодежи

«Первый вывод, который я бы сделал здесь, это то, что Арктике нужны высококлассные исследователи. <...> Мы — как раз те, кто занимается исследованиями в Артике, и те, кто готовит специалистов для Арктики, и мы, в первую очередь, за это отвечаем. И здесь меня порадовало то, что от Мурманска до Томска, дальше мы не забирались, у нас единое мнение о том, что Арктика должна прирастать молодыми исследователями», — советник руководителя Федерального исследовательского центра «Кольский научный центр Российской академии наук» Владимир Маслобоев.

«Мы понимаем, что молодежь и молодые кадры — это неотъемлемый атрибут устойчивого развития человеческого капитала. И именно поэтому, если говорить конкретно об Арктике, университет Арктики и Арктико-молодежный совет Баренцева региона, Ассоциация молодых ученых Арктики <...> уже данным давно работают над тем, чтобы вовлекать молодежь в арктическую повестку — в частности, в развитие науки на севере», — молодежный посланник России по международному сотрудничеству в Арктике на период председательства РФ в Арктическом совете Михаил Уксусов.

Для повышения компетенции молодых ученых нужно создавать учебные и научные центры, а также готовить преподавателей. При этом молодых людей нужно готовить к работе в арктических условиях

«Задачи, которые стоят перед наукой и высшей школой, очевидны. Прежде всего, требуется не только привлечение прогрессивной техники и технологий, но и высококлассных специалистов. Нужно создание учебных и научных центров с соответствующими новыми образовательными методиками подготовки и переподготовки кадров для работы в северных широтах. Необходима подготовка самих научных кадров и преподавателей для высшей школы. То есть, прежде чем готовить студентов, нам необходимо подготовить преподавателей по самому широкому спектру компетенций», — исполнительный директор Ассоциации полярников Мурманской области, главный научный сотрудник Института экономических проблем им. Г.П. Лузина Кольского научного центра РАН Алексей Фадеев.

«Для подготовки исследователей нам необходимо сначала подготовить [педагогические] кадры. При этом мы наблюдаем дефицит кадров, и отрасли, которые работают в Арктике, уже начинают конкурировать за высококлассных специалистов. Нам необходимо это помнить и максимально готовить сферу образования высшей школы к тем вызовам, которые сегодня диктует освоение Арктики», — советник руководителя Федерального исследовательского центра «Кольский научный центр Российской академии наук» Владимир Маслобоев.

«Есть особые навыки, которые связаны с тем, чтобы успешно действовать, функционировать, иногда даже выживать в арктических условиях — отдаленных от цивилизации, от пунктов спасения. То есть нужно обладать навыками оказания первой помощи, навыками безопасности и работы на морском льду или при возможной встрече с белым медведем», — директор Арктического центра стратегических исследований Северного (Арктического) федерального университета имени Александр Сабуров.

ПРОБЛЕМЫ

Научные организации отмечают дефицит кадров, в том числе, из-за низких зарплат и отсутствия возможности быстрого карьерного роста. Кроме того, в Арктике существует проблема нехватки комфортного жилья

«Подготовка нового поколения исследователей Арктики — это очень важная тема и для вузов, и для научных организаций, которые находятся в Арктической зоне и которые, наверное, больше всего сейчас страдают от недостаточного притока молодых специалистов, молодых ученых именно в науку. Но в науке не так много платят и в науке надо пройти очень длинный путь с точки зрения карьерного роста», — советник руководителя Федерального исследовательского центра «Кольский научный центр Российской академии наук» Владимир Маслобоев.

«Еще важно то, о чем мы не говорили — это проблема жилья, проблема комфортного жилья. Парадоксальная ситуация в Мурманске: когда-то здесь было 400 тысяч жителей, сейчас — с большим трудом 300 тысяч, а куда делись квартиры, с которых выехали жители? Они пустые стоят. И в стране у нас нет механизма перераспределения этого свободного жилья как раз для того, чтобы приезжали молодые. Жилищные условия иногда являются наиболее предпочтительными, особенно для тех, кто уже выпускниками университетов успевает детей завести», — советник руководителя Федерального исследовательского центра «Кольский научный центр Российской академии наук» Владимир Маслобоев

РЕШЕНИЯ

Научным организациям необходимо плотнее работать со школами, выстраивать взаимодействие с учреждениями для вовлечения учащихся в науку. Им важно развивать систему наставничества для сопровождения и закрепления молодых специалистов

«Мы не умеем работать со школой. И вроде бы разница между старшими школьниками и студентами составляет всего лишь одно лето, но принципиально разные мироощущения, принципиально по-разному с ними можно и нужно разговаривать. <...> Здесь определенно есть такой разрыв: у школы свои задачи абсолютно, которые максимально далеки, скажем, от потребностей наших, как работодателя будущего», — директор Арктического и антарктического научно-исследовательского института Александр Макаров.

«Лучшая программа подготовки кадров заключается в наставничестве — в том, чтобы как можно больше внимания уделять ребятам, чтобы они как можно больше времени проводили в институте. И да, занимает очень много времени подготовить специалиста, но тем не менее, если он остается, решает работать в институте, то он по сути получается одним из самых ценных кадров», — директор Арктического и антарктического научно-исследовательского института Александр Макаров.

«И мы понимаем, что также, как саму работу нужно делать в партнерстве и в сетевом взаимодействии, так же и кадры необходимо готовить именно в сетевом взаимодействии, потому что компетенции в общем-то довольно сильно распределены по территории России. <...> Фактически все, что я говорил, показывает, что мы, в первую очередь, должны говорить о некой экосистемности. Если мы хотим готовить исследователей с высокими компетенциями, мы должны сразу заходить на экосистемность, создавать программы сетевые совместно», — первый проректор Национального исследовательского Томского государственного университета Виктор Демин.

Другие аналитические материалы по арктической повестке смотрите в Информационно-аналитической системе Росконгресс roscongress.org/knowledge/arktika/materials/.

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС.