A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation – a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 126 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 69 countries worldwide.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Expert opinion
15.06.2020

“You should worry when technology advances too fast”

Nassim Taleb, Distinguished Professor of Risk Engineering, Polytechnic Faculty, NYU is best known as the author of the famous black swan theory, a metaphor that describes rare and unlikely events that have significant consequences. By the way, the 2020 COVID-19 pandemic is a classic black swan event. Two years ago, the American essayist and professor took part in the St. Petersburg International Economic Forum, where he spoke at the Sberbank plenary session ‘Transitional World: What Will Tomorrow Bring?’

About fragility

I work with fragility. In fact, everything that is fragile eventually breaks. And if I am looking at what is to come in the next 30 years, I don’t need to imagine all these new things, I just look and try to find something that is in a fragile state and proceed from the assumption that it will no longer exist in 30 years time. Something will replace it which will also be fragile.

The technology development cycle

Technologies that recently faded into obscurity such as the desktop computer, which destroyed the mainframe, were later replaced by the laptop. And what replaced the laptop? The tablet. The tablet is 6,000 years old. As you can see, this is a process of convergence: technology brings us back to where we started, to an older technology that has long existed. 6,000 years ago, we drew on tablets that differ greatly from today’s modern devices. I think the current tablet will be replaced by another tablet based on a whole new technology. <...> We are moving towards a world that does not have to be bleak, technologies are returning us to where we started along with a few undesirable side effects, but this is bringing us back to our roots, to our natural habitat.

About information

Never be the recipient of information without being [its] carrier.

About disruptive technologies

It’s a good thing when technology is disruptive.

About the rate of growth

Anything that grows too fast will be associated with out-of-whack consequences that emerge later. It is important to grow slowly. Why? Look at nature, where the forces of evolution rein. <...> You should be concerned when a technology develops too fast. Not because growth is bad, but because in the natural world of evolution, any species growing too quickly will die out. Growth should not be near zero nor at 100%, but somewhere in between.

About financial growth

Regarding financial growth, if there is exponential financial growth, then there will be an exponential growth of problems.

See the full session at the link:

https://roscongress.org/en/sessions/tranzitnyy-mir-chto-zavtra/translation/

Release date
15.06.2020
Analytics on the topic

Cоциально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, спортивных, общественных мероприятий и событий в области культуры

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, спортивных и общественных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом. Установлено взаимодействие с 126 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 69 странах мира.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Экспертное мнение
15.06.2020

«Нужно беспокоиться, когда технологии развиваются слишком быстро»

Почетный профессор в области управления рисками политехнического факультета Нью-Йоркского университета Нассим Талеб известен прежде всего как автор знаменитого термина «черный лебедь», под которым понимаются редкие и малопрогнозируемые события, имеющие значительные последствия. К слову, классический пример «черного лебедя» — коронавирусная пандемия 2020 года. Двумя годами ранее американский эссеист и профессор принял участие в Петербургском международном экономическом форуме, где выступил на пленарной сессии Сбербанка «Транзитный мир: что завтра?».

О хрупкости

Я работаю с хрупкостью. По сути, все хрупкое рано или поздно когда-то сломается. И если прогнозировать на 30 лет вперед, мне не нужно представлять все эти новые вещи, я просто смотрю и пытаюсь найти нечто хрупкое, и исхожу из того, что этого не будет через 30 лет. Что-то придет на смену и тоже будет хрупким.

Круговорот развития технологий

Недавно ушедшие в небытие вещи — десктопный компьютер, который уничтожил мейнфрейм, им на смену пришел лэптоп. Лэптопу на смену пришло что? Планшет. Планшету шесть тысяч лет. Понимаете, это конвергенция: технологии возвращают нас на некий круг, на более древнюю технологию, которая давно существовала. Современный планшет не такой, на котором что-то писали, корябали шесть тысяч лет назад. Я думаю, что этому планшету на смену придет планшет на какой-то другой технологии. <...> Мы идем к миру, который не обязательно негативен, технологии возвращают нас на некий круг с какими-то побочными эффектами, но это возвращает нас в природу естественного обитания.

Об информации

Никогда не будьте получателем информации, не будучи [ее] носителем.

О технологиях разрушения

Это хорошо, когда технологии что-то разрушают, являются деструктором.

О скорости развития

Все, что растет слишком быстро, получит более диспропорциональные быстрые эффекты, которые проявятся позднее. Нужно расти медленно. Почему? Посмотрите на природу — у нас есть эволюция в природе. <...> Нужно беспокоиться, когда технологии развиваются слишком быстро. Не потому, что рост — это плохо, а потому, что, согласно эволюции, если будет слишком быстрое развитие, то виды вымрут. Рост должен быть не около нуля и не 100%, а где-то посередине.

О финансовом росте

По поводу финансового роста — если будет экспоненциальный финансовый рост, то будет и экспоненциальный рост проблем.

Аналитика на тему