A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation – a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 126 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 69 countries worldwide.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Expert opinion
09.06.2020

“We’ve created a ‘death economy’. There must be another way”

At a session entitled ‘John Perkins on transforming turmoil’, which was held at the St. Petersburg International Economic Forum in 2017, founder of the firm Dream Change and author of the renowned book Confessions of an Economic Hit Man, John Perkins, explains the difference between the ‘life economy’ and ‘death economy’ and why humanity should choose the former.

On the ‘death economy’

We have created something that I call a «death economy» — an economy based on destroying resources and exploiting the Earth. <...> We have created a system that can’t go on. We can’t continue digging up the Earth, destroying the air, destroying the climate — there has to be another way.

On the mistakes corporations make

I think corporations in the United States have made a lot of mistakes, I think the government made a lot of mistakes and, instead of doing really good things in the world, they did a lot of exploitation. <...> CEOs of corporations want to create a better world, but they are afraid to do so because, if they loose a small percentage of their market share, their profits will go down and stakeholders will fire them. So they face a dilemma.

On technology

We have created amazing technologies: medicine, art, music, but now we understand that maybe we have gone too far.

On transitioning to a new kind of economy

It’s time to change and we have reached the point beyond equilibrium. We need to move to a «life economy», an economy based on cleaning up pollution, regenerating the environment. <...> We have seen huge changes in the last five years regarding production of resources. Last year in the US was the first one when production of renewables was greater than that of fossil fuels.


Release date
09.06.2020
Authors
Analytics on the topic

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом. Установлено взаимодействие с 129 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 69 странах мира.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Экспертное мнение
09.06.2020

«Мы создали “экономику смерти”. Должен быть другой путь»

На сессии «От потрясений к преобразованиям» на Петербургском международном экономическом форуме в 2017 году основатель компании Dream Change и автор нашумевшей книги «Исповедь экономического убийцы» Джон Перкинс рассказал, чем «экономика жизни» отличается от «экономики смерти» и почему человечество должно выбрать именно первый путь.

Об «экономике смерти»

Мы создали «экономику смерти». Экономику, которая основана на уничтожении ресурсов и эксплуатации Земли. <...> Мы создали систему, которая не имеет будущего. Мы не сможем продолжать копать землю, загрязнять воздух и уничтожать экологию. Должен быть другой путь.

Об ошибках корпораций

Я считаю, что американские корпорации и правительство за свою историю совершили много ошибок. Они могли сделать много добра, но занимались лишь эксплуатацией. <...> Главы компаний хотят сделать мир лучше, но боятся этого, так как, если они потеряют хотя бы небольшую часть рынка, прибыль начнет снижаться, и акционеры могут их уволить. Поэтому они стоят перед выбором.

О технологиях

Мы создали уникальные технологии в медицине, искусстве, музыке. Но сейчас мы понимаем, что, возможно, зашли слишком далеко.

О переходе к новой экономике

Настало время меняться, и точка равновесия пройдена. Нам необходимо двигаться к «экономике жизни» — экономике, основанной на устранении загрязнений экологии и возрождении окружающей среды. <...> В отношении производства ресурсов за последние пять лет мы увидели серьезные изменения. В прошлом году в США производство возобновляемых энергоресурсов впервые превысило производство ископаемого топлива.


Аналитика на тему