A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 163 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 75 countries worldwide.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian (t.me/Roscongress), English (t.me/RoscongressDirect), and Spanish (t.me/RoscongressEsp). Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Analytical digest
26.11.2021

Outcome of the Senior Arctic Research Coordination Officials Meeting

The meeting of the Senior Arctic Research Coordination Officials took place on 18 November in a hybrid format in Moscow. The format of the event involved remote participation by foreign delegations. It took place as part of the action plan for Russia’s chairmanship of the Arctic Council in 2021–2023, which is operated by the Roscongress Foundation.

Senior Officials Meetings (SOM) are a crucial part of the Arctic Council’s work. At these meetings, representatives of the Arctic states guide and supervise the council’s activities in accordance with decisions and instructions from their foreign ministers. Delegates from the Arctic Council’s member states (Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden, and the USA), as well as representatives of the Indigenous Peoples of the North, international organizations, and the six working groups of the Arctic Council attended the regular meeting. There were 60 people in total.

Opening the meeting, Nikolai Korchunov, Ambassador-at-Large for the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Chairman of the Arctic Council’s Senior Arctic Officials’ Committee, recalled that this year the Council is celebrating its 25th anniversary. «For a quarter of a century, despite all the difficulties <...> we have been working together to achieve common goals in the Arctic. The Arctic Council has built a strong foundation for cooperation in this region», he said.

N. Korchunov noted that the Russian chairmanship of the Arctic Council has four main priorities. These are supporting Indigenous Peoples, protecting the environment, socio-economic development of the Arctic territories, and strengthening the role of the council itself. «As the chair of the Arctic Council, Russia supports cooperation in the scientific sphere. <...> Our goal is to increase the efficiency [of scientific cooperation] and improve the scope of the practical application of the results that have already been achieved in the Arctic. In addition, to optimize the use of scientific infrastructure, promote the use of advanced technologies and best practices in the implementation of joint projects», the ambassador added.

Korchunov emphasized the unique role of the Arctic Council’s working groups, which oversee a wide range of the most important issues, including climate change, pollution, and biodiversity. «The working groups include a wide network of experts from the Arctic states, as well as representatives of Indigenous Peoples’ organizations, who are permanent participants in the Arctic Council», reminded the Ambassador-at-Large for the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The participants discussed strengthening international Arctic scientific cooperation, holding joint scientific competitions for research projects, and the possibility of establishing a coordinating committee for scientific activities in the Arctic and creating a common international research database of the Arctic countries. One of the critical tasks on the meeting’s agenda was to discuss joint priorities of the Arctic Council member states. The results of the discussion of the Russian initiatives will be presented at the plenary session of the Arctic Council’s SOM committee to be held in Salekhard in December.

Main topics

1. Priorities for research

The Arctic Council was established in 1996 as an intergovernmental forum to promote international cooperation in the Arctic seas. Eight Arctic states and six permanent indigenous participant organizations are members of the council. In addition, more than 35 observer states and international organizations are represented. This year, for the second time in the organization’s history, Russia became chair of the council and will serve in that capacity from 2021 to 2023. The cross-cutting priority of Russia’s chairmanship of the Arctic Council will be ’Responsible Governance for a Sustainable Arctic’.

The meeting continued to discuss priorities for research in the Arctic, as well as the creation of a white paper, a document necessary for joint scientific research in the Arctic.

Polar Year

The most important of the Russian initiatives proposed at the meeting was the organization of the Fifth International Polar Year (IPY) in 2032-2033. Its adoption, according to the Russian participants in the Arctic Council, would create the conditions for joint polar research by the Arctic states.

2. Establishment of a coordinating committee

The biggest discussion among senior officials was about the Russian initiative to establish a coordinating committee for scientific activities in the Arctic. Presenting the project, Sergey Terashkevich, Deputy Director of the Department of International Cooperation of the Ministry of Education and Science of the Russian Federation and Chairman of the meeting, said that the climate changes occurring in the polar latitudes require an early response from the international community, and the efforts of researchers from different countries can be more effective if coordinated and carried out together, complementing rather than duplicating each other.

According to D. Farrell, the committee is a small group of representatives of the Arctic states who would work together to promote scientific initiatives in the Arctic. S. Terashkevich specified that the proposed body could engage in the coordination of scientific research and inform all participants of the Arctic Council about the results of work in northern latitudes by scientists of the Council’s member states.

In addition, the committee would draw the attention of Arctic countries’ representatives to scientific conferences, seminars and other events, attracting more participants to them. Another task of the new body could be to create links between national research-oriented institutes in the Arctic and the Arctic Council.

Competitions for scientists

Irina Kuklina, Executive Director of the International Centre for Innovation in Science, Technology and Education, spoke at the meeting about competitions for joint R&D projects on the basis of common funding. According to S. Terashkevich, the coordinating committee could also supervise such competitions.

I. Kuklina said that practical work on the preparation of proposals would start next year during workshops on the implementation of joint action mechanisms. However, she stressed that it remains to be decided which countries and organizations can participate in joint programmes, finance them or provide research sites. Another task is to work out the criteria for selecting participants in the calls for proposals. The Arctic Council also needs to keep in mind how to follow-up the supported projects, and how to monitor their results and practical application. «[When conducting calls for proposals], we have to determine precisely the degree of participation of Indigenous Peoples [in collaborative research projects]», she added.

The workshops are intended to identify mechanisms for calls for proposals for joint research projects. It is planned to involve scientists and representatives, and organizations willing to fund research. The first of such workshops is proposed to be held via videoconference as early as January 2022.

Snowflake Station

According to Korchunov, one of the main platforms for scientific cooperation at high latitudes could be the Snowflake International Arctic Station. The Russian delegation presented this project, which focuses on joint research in the field of carbon-free energy, at a meeting of the Arctic Council’s Sustainable Development Working Group in 2019.

The Snowflake International Arctic Station is a year-round and fully autonomous complex that will be powered by renewable energy and hydrogen energy. «This station has always been an engine for supporting cooperative research on climate change as well as pollution, including pollution of the oceans. This station is one example of how Russia is trying to promote, to strengthen scientific cooperation in the Arctic», said the Ambassador-at-Large for the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

As reported earlier in November, at a meeting of the Arctic Council’s Sustainable Development Working Group, two sites for the station will be located on Yamal and in the Murmansk region. They will be used to test environmentally friendly life-support technologies, as well as robotics, telecommunications, medicine, biotechnology and new materials systems. The sites will differ: While Yamal will have a completely autonomous site based on wind and solar power and, above all, on the hydrogen cycle, the Murmansk region will rely on hydrogen, which will be produced externally, in particular at an external wind farm and hydropower plant.

The project has been approved by all the member states of the Arctic Council and is supported by the Russian Government. The Institute of Arctic Technology at the Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology is implementing it. Construction of the stations is scheduled to begin next autumn, with a view to putting them into test operation in 2024.

3. International research base

Another task of the Russian Chairmanship of the Arctic Council is to create an international database of Arctic states and update the existing database of those research projects conducted in the polar region.

The existing system of the Third Arctic Science Forum (ASM3), held in May this year by Iceland and Japan, could serve as the basis for the new international platform

The BIN project, a collaborative academic study of business activity and opportunities, was carried out by Russian, Norwegian, Finnish and Swedish academics at the initiative of the Nordic Development Centre at the Nordic University Business School in Norway. It is a database of economic, demographic and other indicators of the Arctic and aims to optimize financial and management projects in the region. The database will be available not only to scientists but also to all stakeholders as a tool for monitoring developments in the region and establishing new partnerships. In doing so, it will include all the scientific material produced in the three past Arctic Science Forums and take into account the experience of all the Arctic states.

The participants of the meeting noted that the presented project is ambitious and requires serious elaboration. In particular, it is necessary to determine its cost and sources of financing, select executors who will fill in the database and define areas of responsibility.

Ocean of knowledge

In addition to the ASM3 system, there are other databases that can be used to create the new platform. There are intra-national databases. In Norway, for example. And there are international ones, one of which is conducted within the AMAP (Arctic Monitoring and Assessment Programme) organization, which was established in 1991 and is one of the working groups of the Arctic Council. This working group studies the impact of pollutants and climate change on ecosystems and human health in the Arctic.

Russia has implemented a project for a unified state system of information on the situation in the world’s oceans, which is publicly available on the Internet portal and can be integrated into an international platform. This system is operated by 17 centres and 20 information providers representing various ministries, departments and the Russian Academy of Sciences.

The unified information system on the world’s oceans established in Russia also includes data on the meteorological situation in the polar region.

Polar Radio

The final proposal was a Russian initiative to establish a cross-border digital polar radio broadcasting service at the Senior Officials Meeting.

The project plans to revive powerful radio broadcasting for the Far North and equivalent areas on a modern digital platform. This will make it possible to create a unified information space in the territory of the Arctic, as well as a unique targeted notification system to improve safety, including during polar expeditions, various works and events in the Far North.

The radio channel will broadcast on the Internet and on shortwave, which will make it possible to deliver information, including alerts, anywhere in the world. It is proposed to broadcast in English and five northern indigenous languages. The International Consortium for the Preservation of Arctic Cultural Heritage, based at the RSHU, could be involved in the project to provide content for the radio channel.

For more analytical materials on the Arctic agenda, see the Roscongress Information and Analytical System roscongress.org/en/knowledge/arktika/materials/.


Release date
26.11.2021
Analytics on the topic

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры, созданный в соответствии с решением Президента Российской Федерации.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом. Установлено взаимодействие со 163 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 75 странах мира.

Официальные телеграм-каналы Фонда Росконгресс: на русском языке – t.me/Roscongress, на английском языке – t.me/RoscongressDirect, на испанском языке – t.me/RoscongressEsp. Официальный сайт и Информационно-аналитическая система Фонда Росконгресс: roscongress.org.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Аналитический дайджест
26.11.2021

Итоги встречи старших должностных лиц по координации научных исследований в Арктике

Встреча старших должностных лиц по координации научных исследований в Арктике прошла 18 ноября в гибридном формате в Москве. Формат мероприятия предусматривал дистанционное участие иностранных делегаций. Оно состоялось в рамках плана мероприятий председательства России в Арктическом совете в 2021-2023 годах, оператором которых выступает Фонд Росконгресс.

Встречи старших должностных лиц (СДЛ) — важнейшая составляющая работы Арктического совета. На них представители арктических государств направляют и контролируют деятельность совета в соответствии с решениями и инструкциями министров иностранных дел своих стран. Участниками очередной встречи стали делегаты государств-участников Арктического совета (Дания, Исландия, Канада, Норвегия, Россия, США, Швеция, Финляндия), а также представители коренных народов Севера, международных организаций и шести рабочих групп Арктического совета. Всего — 60 человек.

Открывая заседание, посол по особым поручениям Министерства иностранных дел РФ, председатель комитета старших должностных лиц Арктического совета Николай Корчунов напомнил, что в этом году совет отмечает 25-летие своей деятельности. «Четверть века, несмотря на все сложности, <...> мы работаем совместно для достижения общих целей в Арктике. Арктический совет выстроил мощную основу для сотрудничества в этом регионе», — сказал он.

Н. Корчунов отметил, что у российского председательства в Арктическом совете есть четыре основных приоритета — это поддержка коренных народов, защита окружающей среды, социально-экономическое развитие арктических территорий и усиление роли самого совета. «Будучи председателем Арктического совета, Россия поддерживает сотрудничество в научной сфере. <...> Наша цель — повысить эффективность [научного сотрудничества], а также улучшить сферу практического применения тех результатов, которые были достигнуты в Арктике. Кроме того, оптимизировать использование научной инфраструктуры, продвигать использование передовых технологий и лучшей практики при реализации совместных проектов», — добавил посол.

Участники встречи обсудили вопросы укрепления международного арктического научного сотрудничества, проведение совместных научных конкурсов исследовательских проектов, а также возможность учреждения координационного комитета по научной деятельности в Арктике и создания общей международной исследовательской базы данных арктических стран. Одной из ключевых задач в повестке заседания стало обсуждение совместных приоритетов государств-участников Арктического совета. Итоги обсуждения российских инициатив представят на пленарном заседании комитета СДЛ Арктического совета, который пройдет в декабре в Салехарде.

Главные темы

1. Приоритеты для научных исследований

Арктический совет создан в 1996 году как межправительственный форум для развития международного сотрудничества в высоких широтах. Членами совета являются восемь арктических государств и шесть организаций — постоянных участников из числа коренных народов. Кроме того, в нем представлены более 35 государств-наблюдателей и международных организаций. В этом году Россия во второй раз в истории организации стала председателем совета и пробудет в этом качестве с 2021 по 2023 годы. Сквозным приоритетом председательства России в Арктическом совете станет тематика «Ответственного управления для устойчивой Арктики».

На встрече продолжилось обсуждение приоритетов для научных исследований в Арктике, а также проекта по созданию «Белой книги» — документа, необходимого для проведения совместных научных исследований в Арктике.

Полярный год

Важнейшей из предложенных на встрече российских инициатив стала организация в 2032-2033 годах Пятого Международного полярного года (The International Polar Year — IPY). Ее принятие, по словам российских участников Арктического совета, создаст условия для проведения арктическими государствами совместных полярных исследований.

2. Создание координационного комитета

Наибольшую дискуссию среди старших должностных лиц вызвала российская инициатива создания координационного комитета по научной деятельности в Арктике. Представляя этот проект, заместитель директора Департамента международного сотрудничества Минобрнауки России, председатель встречи Сергей Терашкевич заявил, что происходящие в полярных широтах климатические изменения требуют скорейшей реакции международного сообщества, а усилия исследователей из разных стран могут быть эффективнее, если будут скоординированы и проводиться совместно, дополняя, а не дублируя друг друга.

По словам Д. Фаррела, комитет — это небольшая группа представителей арктических государств, которые бы совместно работали над продвижением научных инициатив в Арктике. С. Терашкевич уточнил, что предложенный орган мог бы заняться координацией научных исследований, а также информированием всех участников Арктического совета о результатах работы в северных широтах ученых стран-участниц совета.

Кроме того, комитет обращал бы внимание представителей арктических стран на научные конференции, семинары и другие мероприятия, привлекая к ним больше участников. Еще одной задачей нового органа могло бы стать создание связей между национальными институтами, ориентированными на проведение научных исследований в Арктике, и Арктическим советом.

Конкурсы для ученых

Исполнительный директор Аналитического центра международных научно-технологических и образовательных программ Ирина Куклина рассказала на встрече о конкурсах на проведение совместных научно-исследовательских проектов на основе единого финансирования. По словам С. Терашкевича, координационный совет также мог бы курировать проведение таких конкурсов.

И. Куклина рассказала, что практическая работа по подготовке таких конкурсов начнется в следующем году во время семинаров по реализации механизмов совместных действий. При этом она подчеркнула, что еще предстоит определить, какие страны и организации смогут участвовать в совместных программах, финансировать их или предоставлять площадки для исследований. Еще одна задача — выработать критерии отбора участников конкурсов. Арктическому совету также нужно не забывать о наблюдении за поддержанными проектами, мониторинге их результатов и практического применения.

Семинары нужны для определения механизмов проведения конкурсов совместных научно-исследовательских проектов. К участию в них планируют привлекать ученых и представителей и организаций, готовых финансировать исследования. Первый из таких семинаров предложено провести в режиме видеоконференции уже в январе 2022 года.

Станция «Снежинка»

По словам Н. Корчунова, одной из главных площадок научного сотрудничества в высоких широтах может стать международная арктическая станция «Снежинка». Российская делегация в 2019 году представила этот проект, ориентированный на совместные исследования в области безуглеродной энергетики, на заседании Рабочей группы Арктического совета по устойчивому развитию.

Международная арктическая станция «Снежинка» — круглогодичный и полностью автономный комплекс, который будет работать на возобновляемых источниках энергии и водородной энергетике.

Как ранее в ноябре сообщалось на заседании Рабочей группы Арктического совета по устойчивому развитию, две площадки станции намерены разместить на Ямале и в Мурманской области. На них будут заниматься тестированием природосберегающих технологий жизнеобеспечения, а также систем робототехники, телекоммуникаций, медицины, биотехнологий и новых материалов. Эти станции будут различаться: если на Ямале будет полностью автономная площадка на базе ветрогенерации, энергии солнца и, в первую очередь, водородного цикла, то в Мурманской области ставку делают на водород, который будет производиться вовне — в частности, на внешнем ветропарке и на гидростанции.

Проект одобрен всеми государствами-участниками Арктического совета и поддержан Правительством РФ. Его реализацией занимается Институт арктических технологий Московского физико-технического института. К строительству станций планируют приступить осенью следующего года, чтобы в 2024 году запустить их в тестовую эксплуатацию.

3. Международная исследовательская база

Другая задача российского председательства в Арктическом совете связана с созданием международной базы данных арктических государств и актуализацией существующей базы данных тех исследовательских проектов, которые проводятся в Заполярье.

Основой для новой международной платформы может стать существующая система Третьего Арктического научного форума (ASM3), проведенного в мае этого года Исландией и Японией.

Проект BIN — совместное академическое исследование деловой активности и возможностей, который был проведен российскими, норвежскими, финскими и шведскими учеными по инициативе Центра развития северных регионов при бизнес-школе университета Норд (Норвегия). Он представляет собой базу данных по экономическим, демографическим и иным показателям Арктики и направлен на оптимизацию экономических и управленческих проектов в этом регионе. База будет доступна не только ученым, но и всем заинтересованным сторонам как инструмент для мониторинга развития обстановки в регионе и установления новых партнерских связей. При этом она будет включать все научные материалы, подготовленные в рамках трех прошедших арктических научных форумов, и учитывать опыт всех арктических государств.

Участники встречи отметили, что представленный проект является амбициозным и требует серьезной проработки — в частности, нужно определить его стоимость и источники финансирования, выбрать исполнителей, которые займутся заполнением базы, определить сферы ответственности.

Океан знаний

Помимо системы ASM3, есть и другие базы, которые можно использовать при создании новой платформы. Есть внутринациональные базы данных — например, в Норвегии, а есть и международные — одну из них проводят в рамках организации АМАР (Программа арктического мониторинга и оценки), созданной в 1991 году и являющейся одной из рабочих групп Арктического совета. Эта рабочая группа занимается исследованием воздействия загрязнителей и изменения климата на экосистемы и здоровье человека в Арктике.

В России реализован проект единой государственной системы информации об обстановке в Мировом океане, которая находится в открытом доступе на Интернет-портале и может быть интегрирована в международную платформу. Операторами этой системы являются 17 центров и 20 поставщиков информации, представляющие различные министерства и ведомства, а также Российскую академию наук.

Созданная в России единая система информации о Мировом океане включает и данные о метеорологической обстановке в Заполярье.

Полярное радио

Заключительным предложением на прошедшей встрече старших должностных лиц стала российская инициатива по организации трансграничного полярного цифрового радиовещания.

В рамках проекта планируется возродить мощное радиовещание для районов Крайнего Севера и приравненных к ним территорий на современной цифровой платформе. Это позволит создать единое информационное пространство на территории Арктики, а также уникальную адресную систему оповещения для повышения безопасности, в том числе, при проведении полярных экспедиций, различных работ и мероприятий в условиях Крайнего Севера.

Радиоканал будет вещать в Интернете, а также на коротких волнах, что позволит доставлять информацию, включая сигналы оповещения, в любую точку планеты. Вещание предложено вести на английском и пяти языках коренных народов Севера. Для содержательного наполнения радиоканала к проекту можно подключить международный консорциум по сохранению культурного наследия Арктики, созданный на базе РГГМУ.

Другие аналитические материалы по арктической повестке смотрите в Информационно-аналитической системе Росконгресс roscongress.org/knowledge/arktika/materials.


Аналитика на тему