A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation – a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 126 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 69 countries worldwide.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Research
15.11.2019

Investment and Finance in Russia

The Russian economy is slowly growing


According to the rating agency Expert RA, the Russian economy is currently in a phase of slow growth amid the tight monetary policy pursued by the Central Bank of Russia. The authors of the report believe that high real interest rates combined with fiscal consolidation have been impeding growth of business activity outside the export-oriented sectors, while the process of monetary easing has only just started.

Russia’s gross domestic product (GDP) increased by 1.6% in 2017 and by 2.3% in 2018. However, Expert RA analysts consider this a one-time effect. The agency expects that GDP growth will remain relatively low in 2019-2020. In 2019, it is projected at 1.4%, in 2020 it will accelerate to 1.8%, and will be within the range of 1.5 to 2% by 2021.
In early 2019, consumer price inflation accelerated, reaching 5.3% annually by April.

Overall, the Russian economy has adapted to the VAT increase. Its negative effects were mitigated by the relatively high prices for oil and the appreciation of ruble. Inflation expectations of households and businesses soared in the first six months of 2018, but then started to decrease in early 2019. A low inflation combined with high interest rates impedes economic growth because it restricts lending and inhibits investment activity while reducing consumption in an indirect way. In the corporate sector, high debt level has a considerable negative effect on profitability.

Large amounts of natural resources and low external debt offset the decline in economic growth


According to the authors of the report, Russia’s economic stability can be primarily attributed to high prices for exported natural resources (especially oil and other hydrocarbons), and to a relatively conservative management of export revenues. From the economic perspective, such factors as large amounts of natural resources and a low level of debt are viewed as much more important than growth rates.

In recent years, ruble has become less dependent on oil prices, while its oil price elasticity has decreased in absolute terms. However, the Russian economy remains heavily dependent on the oil and gas sector and, consequently, on global markets for hydrocarbons. Volumes of Russian oil exports aren’t growing, but this is because the country continues to restrict oil production under the OPEC+ agreement. The authors of the report believe that as the OPEC+ agreement guarantees the stability of the oil market, it will be extended to the end of 2019 and then for a longer period, despite the high oil prices.

Russia’s external debt has decreased to 454 bn dollars by 2019, which is the lowest level since 2008. The decrease was mainly due to a reduction in external debt liabilities of Russian companies and banks in the context of sanctions.

Russia’s trade balance has been growing since 2016. Consequently, the current account surplus has also been growing. In 2018, it reached 113.8 bn dollars (+243% year on year), and equaled 32.8 bn dollars in the first quarter of 2019 (+9.25% compared to the same period of 2018). The geographical structure of Russia’s trade has somewhat changed. Russia’s key partners are still the EU countries (43.2% of total external trade turnover), China (16.6%), and the CIS countries (11.1%) but the shares of the EU and CIS shrank by 2.1 p.p. and 0.8 p.p. respectively in the first quarter of 2019.

In Russia’s external trade transactions, dollar is being replaced by euro and ruble. Since 2013, the share of dollar has shrunk by 12.6%, while the shares of euro and ruble have grown by 26.6% and 14.0% respectively. The share of yuan has increased by 8.8 times, but remains relatively small. In Sino-Russian trade transactions, the share of ruble has grown by 5.2 times.

The recovery in consumer demand will stimulate economic development, while the uncertainty on global markets will impede it


Such factors as the recovery in consumer demand (which has been demonstrating a downward trend since 2014) and the implementation of national projects are expected to be favorable for Russia’s economic development. At the same time, Expert RA analysts believe that the stagnation in household disposable income is unlikely to bring about a growth in the consumer sector of the Russian economy.

Business environment is also a crucial factor in economic growth. Attracting capital is still costly for Russian companies and banks due to the current interest rates which are intentionally kept at a high level, the oligopoly of state-owned banks, and the dominance of large issuers on the domestic bond market. Investments are mainly funded with the money coming from revenues and internal corporate financing, which cover nearly 60% of investment activity.

The authors of the report present the global market as the most fraught with uncertainty and risks. Capital flows decrease due to a reduction in foreign direct investments and a drop in foreign investors’ interest in the market for OFZ bonds. Moreover, politically driven sanctions against Russia lead to an increase in the risk premium when investing in Russian companies and banks. New sanctions against Russia may bring about a rise in consumer-price inflation (calculated based on CPI) which will be caused by depreciation of ruble, reduction in product offering, gaps in value chains, and an increase in logistic costs.
Analytics on the topic

нефинансовый институт развития
крупнейший организатор конгрессно-выставочных мероприятий
Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Исследование
15.11.2019

Инвестиции и финансы в России

Российская экономика — в фазе медленного роста


По данным рейтингового агентства «Эксперт РА», в настоящее время российская экономика проходит через фазу медленного роста на фоне проводимой Центральным банком РФ жёсткой кредитно-денежной политики. По мнению авторов отчёта, высокие реальные процентные ставки и бюджетная консолидация уже несколько лет тормозят рост деловой активности за пределами экспортно ориентированных отраслей, а смягчение денежно-кредитной политики ещё только начинается.

Валовой внутренний продукт (ВВП) России увеличился на 1,6% в 2017 году и на 2,3% — в 2018, однако этот рост «Эксперт РА» отчасти связывает с одноразовым эффектом. Представители агентства ожидают, что в 2019–2020 годах рост ВВП останется довольно низким: в 2019 он составит 1,4%, в 2020 ускорится до 1,8%, а к 2021 будет в коридоре 1,5–2%.

В начале 2019 года инфляция по индексу потребительских цен ускорилась, и к апрелю её годовой темп достигал 5,3%. Российская экономика в целом адаптировалась к повышению НДС. Его последствия смягчались стабильными и относительно высокими ценами на нефть, а также увеличением курса рубля. Инфляционные ожидания потребителей и бизнеса резко возросли в первом полугодии 2018 года, но в начале 2019 стали понижаться. Сочетание низкой инфляции с высокими процентными ставками препятствует росту экономики, так как ограничивает расширение кредитования и усиление инвестиционной активности и косвенным образом сокращает потребление. В корпоративном секторе высокий уровень задолженности весьма негативно сказывается на доходности.

Большие природные запасы и низкий уровень внешнего долга уравновешивают баланс при снижении темпов экономического роста


Экономическую стабильность России авторы отчёта связывают прежде всего с высокими ценами на экспортируемые природные ресурсы (особенно нефть и другие углеводороды), а также с довольно консервативным управлением экспортными доходами. Большие природные запасы и низкий уровень долга рассматриваются как факторы намного более важные в экономическом контексте, нежели темпы роста.

В последние годы зависимость курса рубля от цен на нефть уменьшилась, а его эластичность по цене на нефть снизилась в абсолютном выражении. Однако российская экономика по-прежнему сильно зависит от нефтегазового сектора и, соответственно, от мировых рынков углеводородного сырья. Объём российского экспорта нефти не растёт, но страна продолжает ограничивать нефтедобычу в рамках соглашения ОПЕК+. Поскольку соглашение ОПЕК+ обеспечивает стабильность рынка нефти, авторы отчёта предполагают, что оно будет продлено до конца 2019 года и на более длительный период времени, несмотря на высокий уровень цен на нефть.

Внешний долг России к началу 2019 года уменьшился до 454 млрд долларов — самого низкого уровня с 2008 года. Уменьшение долга было связано в основном с сокращением внешних долговых обязательств российских компаний и банков на фоне санкций.

Торговый баланс России с 2016 года увеличивается. Соответственно, после 2016 года увеличивается и профицит счёта текущих операций. В 2018 он вырос до 113,8 млрд долларов, на 243% по сравнению с предыдущим годом, а в первом квартале 2019 — до 32,8 млрд долларов, на 9,25% по сравнению с январём — мартом 2018 года. Несколько изменилась географическая структура внешней торговли России. По-прежнему ключевыми партнёрами являются страны ЕС (43,2% совокупного внешнеторгового оборота), Китай (16,6%) и СНГ (11,1%), однако доли ЕС и СНГ в первом квартале 2019 года уменьшились на 2,1 и 0,8 п. п. соответственно.

Во внешнеторговых расчётах России доллар заменяется евро и рублём: с 2013 года доля доллара уменьшилась на 12,6%, а доли евро и рубля повысились на 26,6 и 14,0% соответственно. Доля юаня выросла в 8,8 раза, но пока остаётся относительно небольшой. Доля рубля в российско-китайских торговых расчётах увеличилась в 5,2 раза.

Восстановление потребительского спроса будет стимулировать экономическое развитие, а неопределённость на мировом рынке — затормаживать


Экономическому развитию страны в дальнейшем должны благоприятствовать также такие факторы, как восстановление потребительского спроса, который с 2014 года показывал тенденцию к снижению, и реализация национальных проектов. В то же время, согласно данным «Эксперт РА», стагнация располагаемых доходов населения скорее всего не будет способствовать росту потребительского сектора российской экономики.

Состояние деловой среды также является важнейшим фактором экономического роста. Расходы российских компаний и банков на привлечение финансирования по-прежнему велики из-за процентных ставок, сознательно поддерживаемых на высоком уровне, олигополии государственных банков, а также доминирования крупных эмитентов на отечественном рынке облигаций. Инвестиционная активность обеспечивается в основном (почти на 60%) за счёт прибыли и внутрикорпоративного финансирования.

Мировой рынок представляется в отчёте наиболее сопряжённым с неопределённостью и рисками. Потоки капитала уменьшаются по причине сокращения прямых иностранных инвестиций и падения интереса к рынку облигаций федерального займа у иностранных инвесторов. Более того, политически мотивированные санкции против России вызывают увеличение премии за риск при инвестировании в российские компании и банки. Введение новых санкций против России может вызвать рост потребительской инфляции ИПЦ, обусловленный, помимо обесценивания рубля, уменьшением товарного предложения, разрывами в цепочках создания ценности и повышением логистических издержек.
Аналитика на тему