A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation – a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 126 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 69 countries worldwide Russia also cooperates with 92 Russian public organizations and 54 regional governments.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Expert opinion
02.06.2020

Even if travelling to Mars is banned, humans will travel anyway

The beginning of June has traditionally been when the St. Petersburg International Economic Forum has taken place. We thought this would be a good time to look back at some of the stand‑out talks from previous years. One of them was by Georgy Grechko, Russian pilot, cosmonaut, and two-time Hero of the Soviet Union, who spoke in 2011 at the session «50 Years of Space Flight: Prospects for Manned Programmes». What did this legendary cosmonaut speak about?

Why space exploration is so important

People often say to me, ― Well, what‘s this space of yours for, who needs it? I live without space, and I am fine. That is why I would like to take advantage of the presence, here today, of the important people who take decisions about spaceflight and to make a proposition: we need to agree on one day on which we turn off everything that is working in space. Then people will understand why we need space. One person will not be able to listen to a concert; another will not be able to watch football. In a worst-case scenario, the craft would begin to collide, and then the public would no longer be asking why we need space, but would want all the space equipment to be turned back on quickly, and never turned off again.

The results of 50 years of space flight

So much has been done in those 50 years. Almost 500 people have already worked in space 12 of them on the Moon. Over 2,000 unmanned craft have been launched, and at different distances, from near-Earth to the edge of the Solar System. The human race can be proud of what has been done in space in those 50 years.

The Cold War and rivalry

So something strange occurs: during the Cold War and all that rivalry there were lots of new launches, but we, cosmonauts and engineers, dreamt then, not of competition, but of cooperation.

People and robots

Man is better than the most complex, even universal robot. I listened to the telescope as it worked with a phonendoscope, found the cause, and got it up and running. I do not think that there is any robot that would come up with that method.

The potential to land spacecraft at airports

We launch capsules with parachutes, then winged landing equipment, then again return to wings and then from wings to capsules. We are simply going from A to B and back again. But there have been some very interesting projects. Here is why. Capsules travel well through the dense layers of the atmosphere, but they cannot land on a pre-prepared pad or at an aerodrome, whereas winged craft do not travel well through the dense layers of the atmosphere, and it is very hard to protect the wings. And yet a design has already been proposed that takes the positives of both capsules and winged craft and removes the negatives. In the 1930s, Stern had already proposed that the dense layers of the atmosphere were first passed without wings, and then the wings would come out: the so-called Lapotok‘ made by Tsybin or Syromiatnikov, in which the wings were folded up and shaded from the plasma flow. When the wings were uncovered, they were at the edge of the plasma flow. And there is an even greater delight to this type of flight: if, while passing through the dense layers of the atmosphere, the wings below are deployed at a certain speed, and the cruising engine is turned on, then you can complete the landing at the nearest aerodrome. Let us take a look, though, at how a cosmonaut is currently met after a mission. There are aircraft, helicopters, all-terrain vehicles, search groups, emergency services, communications, the command post... And, if you land at an airport, your wife can simply meet you with a bouquet of flowers and that is it. Much cheaper.

Why we should listen to dreamers

If we had listened to the pragmatists instead of the dreamers, we would never have gone into space; it is a very expensive and foolhardy undertaking. But then, no one would ever have flown from continent to continent, because planes fall out of the sky. And people would not have sailed the oceans because boats sink. Or swum across a river because there is a crocodile. We would never have come out of our caves, because there was a sabre-toothed tiger. If we had always been pragmatic and never followed the dreamers, then we would still be living in caves.

Missions to Mars

I would say that even if travelling to Mars is banned, humans will travel to Mars anyway. I will say is that if Korolev were alive, we would already have been to Mars a long time ago.


Release date
02.06.2020
Authors
Analytics on the topic

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом. Установлено взаимодействие с 130 внешнеэкономическими партнерами, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 70 странах мира.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Экспертное мнение
02.06.2020

«Если даже запретить сейчас полеты на Марс, все равно человек полетит»

Начало июня — традиционное время проведения Петербургского международного экономического форума. Предлагаем вспомнить самые яркие выступления за годы существования Форума. Одно из них принадлежит летчику-космонавту, дважды Герою Советского Союза Георгию Гречко в 2011 году на сессии «50 лет полета в космос! Перспективы развития пилотируемых программ». О чем говорил легендарный космонавт?

О том, зачем нужно освоение космоса

Говорят: «Да, вообще, зачем этот ваш космос, кому он там нужен? Вот я живу без космоса, и ничего не чувствую плохого». Вот поэтому, пользуясь присутствием здесь тех сильных людей, которые принимают решения о космонавтике, я хочу внести предложение: надо договориться и на один день отключить все аппараты, которые работают в космосе. Вот тогда люди поймут, зачем нам космос. Один не услышит концерт, а другой не увидит футбола. Плохой прогноз, корабли начнут сталкиваться, и вот тогда публика уже не будет спрашивать, зачем нам космос, а будет требовать немедленно включить все космические аппараты и больше никогда не выключать.

О результатах за 50 лет космонавтики

За эти 50 лет было сделано очень много. Почти полтысячи человек уже поработали в космосе, из —них 12 на Луне. Запущено более 2 тысяч беспилотных аппаратов, причем запущено на разные расстояния, начиная с околоземных и кончая границей Солнечной системы. Человечеством можно гордиться, гордиться тем, что было сделано в космосе за эти 50 лет.

О Холодной войне и соперничестве

Получается странная вещь: когда была Холодная война и соперничество, было очень много новых запусков, но мы, космонавты, конструкторы, тогда мечтали не о соперничестве, а о сотрудничестве.

О людях и роботах

Человек лучше самого сложного, даже универсального робота. Я фонендоскопом прослушал работу телескопа, определил причину и ввел его в строй. Я думаю, что ни один робот не догадался бы до такого метода.

О возможности сажать космические аппараты в аэропорты

Мы то запускаем капсулы под парашютом, то запускаем крылатые посадочные аппараты, то опять возвращаемся к крыльям, а от крыльев опять к капсулам. Словно бродим между двумя соснами. А ведь были очень интересные проекты. Дело вот в чем. Капсулы хорошо проходят плотные слои атмосферы, но они не могут сесть на заранее подготовленную площадку или на аэродром. А крылатые корабли плохо проходят плотные слои атмосферы, очень трудно защищать крылья. <...> А ведь уже предлагались конструкции, где суммировались положительные качества капсулы и крылатых аппаратов и исчезали недостатки. Еще в 1930-х годах Штерн предложил, чтобы сначала проходили плотные слои атмосферы без крыльев, а потом выдвигались крылья. Так называемый «Лапоток» Цыбина или Сыромятникова, где крылья складывались и находились в тени от плазменного потока. Когда крылья раскрыты, они находятся на острие плазменного потока. И в чем еще прелесть такого полета: если, пройдя плотные слои атмосферы, уже внизу с определенной скоростью развернуть крылья и включить маршевый двигатель, то можно совершить посадку на ближайшем аэродроме. Ведь сейчас посмотрите, как встречают космонавтов после полета. Задействованы самолеты, вертолеты, вездеходы, группы поиска, спасения, связь, командный пункт. А если садиться в аэропорту, достаточно, чтобы жена тебя встретила с цветами, и все. Намного дешевле.

О том, почему стоит слушать мечтателей

Если бы мы слушали прагматиков, а не мечтателей, то человек не вышел бы в космос, — это очень дорогое и отчаянное предприятие. Но тогда человек и не полетел бы с континента на континент, потому что самолеты падают. Но тогда люди не стали бы переплывать океан — корабли-то тонут. Реку переплывешь, а там крокодил. В результате не выходили бы из пещер, а там саблезубый тигр. То есть, если бы [люди] оставались всегда прагматиками и никогда не следовали за мечтателями, то мы до сих пор сидели бы в пещерах.

О полетах на Марс

Если даже запретить сейчас полеты на Марс, все равно человек на Марс полетит. А еще я думаю, что если бы был жив Королев, то мы бы уже давно были на Марсе.

Полную стенограмму сессии смотрите по ссылке: https://forumspb.com/archive/2011/programme/52900/


Аналитика на тему