A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation – a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 126 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 69 countries worldwide.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Research
17.03.2020

Water scarcity: Addressing the key challenges

Freshwater scarcity: Gravity of the problem


Water covers 70% of the Earth’s surface. However, usable freshwater accounts for as little as 3% of the entire world’s water. Over two billion people still live in countries experiencing high water stress, while four billion people experience severe water scarcity for at least one month a year. According to Credit Suisse, by 2030 a 40% supply-demand gap can be expected.

Water scarcity, and the societal risks it poses, is one of the primary challenges faced by the world today. Water scarcity is one of the key areas of focus as part of the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and addressing the consequences of the problem is central to six of these SDGs.

Factors driving water demand


With total water consumption set to see structural growth for decades to come, the report finds three factors driving water demand:
  • Population growth.
Global population is expected to reach ten billion by 2050 with global water usage expected to reach 5.3 trillion m³ by 2050, up from 3.7 trillion m³ currently.
  • Urbanization.
Urbanization raises water consumption by improving access to water and increasing the penetration of water-consuming appliances, and also causes higher water losses due to inadequate infrastructure maintenance.
  • Rise of the emerging middle class.
Rising wealth in emerging economies is likely to lead to higher per-capita food and calorie intake as higher incomes allow greater expenditure on food, as well as increased consumption of water-intensive non-food products.

Need for a global approach to the problem of water scarcity


Water supply, measured using renewable internal freshwater resources, is typically very static as renewable resources are low in many countries. According to Credit Suisse, part of the reason why the issue of water scarcity has not received the necessary attention from the global community to date might be because water scarcity is perceived as a more local issue than climate change. For example, high water stress in areas like North Africa and the Middle Eastern countries doesn’t seem surprising, given their climate and geography, so the problem doesn’t receive due global consideration.

While acknowledging the regional nature of the water-scarcity problem, the authors of the report underline the need for a coordinated global approach to address water stress.

Climate change and water stress: Strong linkages


Water stress and climate change are intrinsically linked — not least because disruption to rainfall patterns is a direct, incontrovertible result of climate change. The implications are two-fold. One is an immediate disruption: increased droughts, floods and temperatures. The other is a more permanent, systemic effect where increases in water vapor in the atmosphere increase heavy downpours and, ultimately, soil erosion.

The authors of the report note that actual water availability is impacted by projected increases in both flooding and drought going forward. Increased flooding puts up to 1.6 billion people at risk by 2050. However, compared to the sporadic impacts of flooding, drought is a chronic, long-term issue, and arguably the most pernicious result of climate change. Meanwhile, the number of droughts globally is up by five times since 1950.


Source: Emergency Events Database (EM-DAT)

Estimated water infrastructure investment requirements


Water infrastructure requires substantial capital investments. On many of these investments the minimum acceptable rates of return are not met due to low water pricing in many regions. Meanwhile, despite the price/value mismatch (especially if environmental costs are incorporated), the current ability to price water is significantly constrained and regulated.

Estimates of the required investment in global water and sanitation infrastructure by 2030 vary considerably from USD 7.5 trillion (McKinsey 2016) to USD 23.1 trillion (New Climate Economy Report, 2014). An OECD technical note reviewing varying forecasts, estimates a USD 13.6 trillion cumulative investment requirement (2015 USD, 2016–2030).

Currently, investment in water infrastructure remains insufficient and very low compared with investments in other types of infrastructure. As an illustration, Credit Suisse provides investment figures for water, ICT, energy, and transport infrastructure in emerging markets.


Source: World Bank, Credit Suisse estimates


Analytics on the topic

Социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд Росконгресс – социально ориентированный нефинансовый институт развития, крупнейший организатор международных, конгрессных, выставочных, деловых, общественных, спортивных мероприятий и событий в области культуры.

Фонд учрежден в 2007 году с целью содействия развитию экономического потенциала, продвижения национальных интересов и укрепления имиджа России. Фонд всесторонне изучает, анализирует, формирует и освещает вопросы российской и глобальной экономической повестки. Обеспечивает администрирование и содействует продвижению бизнес-проектов и привлечению инвестиций, способствует развитию социального предпринимательства и благотворительных проектов.

Мероприятия Фонда собирают участников из 208 стран и территорий, более 15 тысяч представителей СМИ ежегодно работают на площадках Росконгресса, в аналитическую и экспертную работу вовлечены более 5000 экспертов в России и за рубежом. Установлено взаимодействие с 131 внешнеэкономическим партнером, объединениями промышленников и предпринимателей, финансовыми, торговыми и бизнес-ассоциациями в 70 странах мира.

Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Исследование
17.03.2020

Дефицит воды: решение ключевых проблем

Значимость проблемы дефицита пресной воды


Вода покрывает 70% земной поверхности. Однако пригодная для использования пресная вода составляет лишь 3% от всего объёма водных запасов. В наше время более двух миллиардов людей живут в странах, испытывающих дефицит воды, а четыре миллиарда людей переживают его как минимум один месяц в году. Авторы исследования прогнозируют, что к 2030 году разрыв между спросом и предложением воды увеличится и составит 40%.

Нехватка воды и связанные с ней социальные риски являются одной из ключевых проблем, с которыми сталкивается современный мир. Дефициту воды уделено особое внимание в рамках реализации Целей ООН в области устойчивого развития, и решение этой глобальной проблемы, возможно, будет способствовать достижению шести Целей устойчивого развития.

Факторы роста потребности в воде


Мировое потребление воды в ближайшие десятилетия будет только расти. Авторы исследования приводят три фактора, способствующих этому росту:
  • Рост населения. Ожидается, что к 2050 году численность населения Земли достигнет десяти миллиардов. В связи с этим потребление воды в мире вырастет с 3,7 трлн куб. м в настоящее время до 5,3 трлн куб. м в 2050 году.
  • Урбанизация. Развитие городов содействует упрощению доступа людей к воде, распространению использования водопотребляющих приборов, в результате чего потребление воды возрастает. Наряду с этим урбанизация приводит к увеличению потерь воды из-за вышедших из строя объектов инфраструктуры.
  • Рост доли среднего класса в развивающихся странах. Рост благосостояния в странах с развивающейся экономикой позволит увеличить расходы на продукты питания, а также на непродовольственные товары, производство которых требует больших затрат воды.


Необходимость глобального подхода к дефициту водоснабжения


Множество стран, страдающих от дефицита пресной воды, не обладают возможностями увеличения объёма водоснабжения из собственных источников. Отсутствие должного внимания со стороны мирового сообщества к проблеме нехватки воды Credit Suisse объясняет тем, что на сегодняшний день она чаще воспринимается как локальный вызов, нежели чем последствие глобального изменения климата. В частности, дефициту водоснабжения в странах Северной Африки и Ближнего Востока не придаётся глобального значения.

Авторы исследования объясняют разные уровни дефицита воды в разных странах влиянием регионального фактора. Для комплексного решения проблемы дефицита необходим глобальный подход.

Неразрывная взаимосвязь дефицита воды и изменения климата


Дефицит воды и изменение климата неразрывно связаны между собой. Одним из основных доказательств этой связи является, к примеру, тот факт, что в результате изменения климата нарушается режим выпадения осадков. В целом, из-за изменения климата наступают как немедленные негативные последствия (усиление засухи, более частые наводнения, повышение температуры), так и системные (увеличение количества водяных паров в атмосфере усиливает выпадение осадков и, в конечном счёте, эрозию почвы).

Credit Suisse отмечает, что фактическая доступность воды зависит от прогнозируемого увеличения как случаев затопления, так и засухи в будущем. К 2050 году усиление наводнений подвергнет риску 1,6 млрд человек. Однако, по сравнению с нерегулярными последствиями наводнений, засуха является более долгосрочной, хронической проблемой и, возможно, самым пагубным результатом изменения климата. А между тем, с 1950 года количество случаев засухи увеличилось в пять раз.


Источник: Emergency Events Database (EM-DAT)

Оценка потребностей в инвестициях в водную инфраструктуру


Использование водных ресурсов требует значительных инвестиций в инфраструктуру и связанныхс нейкапитальныхзатрат. При этом текущие возможности определять стоимость водоснабжения существенно ограниченыи регламентированы. Так, оценки необходимых объёмов инвестиций в глобальную инфраструктуру водоснабжения и санитарии к 2030 году значительно варьируются: от 7,5 трлн долл. США (McKinsey, 2016) до 23,1 трлн долл. США (New Climate Economy Report, 2014). ОЭСР в 2015 году оценил совокупнуюпотребность в инвестициях в водную инфраструктуру на период 2016–2030 гг.в 13,6 трлн долл. США.

Вместе с тем сегодня мы наблюдаем недостаточные финансовые вложения в развитие водной инфраструктуры по сравнению с объёмами инвестирования в другие сектора. Credit Suisse показывает это на примере сопоставления отдельных направлений инвестиций в развивающихся странах.


Источник: Всемирный банк, расчёты Credit Suisse


Аналитика на тему