A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation – a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 126 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 69 countries worldwide.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Expert opinion
15.10.2019

Andrey Slepnev: "It’s time to go beyond stereotypes amid the developing Russia-Africa economic relations"

— Russian Export Center is a major foreign shareholder of the African Export-Import Bank. What impact does this have on cooperation between Russia and Africa? What are the first results?

— Our cooperation began in late 2017 when REC acquired a share in Afreximbank and became the third-largest shareholder among those represented by non-African financial institutions, export credit agencies and private investors. Afreximbank is our reliable partner in Africa that helps us to promote Russian products on the continent. At the moment, there are two major areas of business. Firstly, we are developing certain projects to minimize financial risks. More than 10 projects are currently under consideration in Egypt, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Nigeria and Angola. In 2019, we closed the first deals. For example, Eximbank of Russia confirmed two letters of credit issued by Afreximbank for the benefit of Uralkali’s affiliate. This will make it possible to supply Russian fertilizers to Zambia to the value of $45 million. Secondly, we promote Russian export products through Afreximbank’s channels by participating in joint business missions and exhibitions as well as searching for partners. The Russia-Africa economic conference held this summer in Moscow is the latest most significant event organized within the annual meeting of shareholders of Afreximbank. It yielded significant arrangements in some business areas.

— What could be considered the key projects recently implemented by Russia and African countries?

— African countries are highly interested in Russian farming machinery, motor vehicles (KAMAZ, GAZ Group, URAL, UAZ) and special equipment. Farming machinery produced by ROSTSELMASH is already supplied to the RSA; LADA assembles vehicles in Egypt, RENAULT supplies Russian made car bodies to Algeria. Russian companies participate in projects involving the maintenance and modernization of power stations, oil development and transportation, and the construction of facilities for chemical and metal mining industries in Africa. Another important area is the supply of agricultural products to Africa. For example, Egypt is the largest importer of Russian grain.



— A joint industrial area is being developed in Africa. What preferences will Russian companies get? Who are the residents?

— The Russian Industrial Zone (RIZ) is a part of the International Cooperation and Export project. We will gradually develop a unique complex on an area of 525 hectares at the East Port Said site of the Suez Canal Economic Zone. Russian exporters and suppliers will be able to set up their production facilities near the promising markets of the Middle East and Africa. The residents will be able to use the advanced engineering and utility infrastructure, namely roads, safety systems, water and electric power supply systems, etc. The manufacturers will be offered an optimal site to develop business, namely a basic site for the development of production facilities (greenfield) or ready-made production facilities (brownfield). The residents will enjoy various exemptions and concessions, special export and import customs duties, salary benefits and special Suez Canal tolls. There will be a possibility to repatriate 100% of the collected earnings back to Russia with no Egypt partners involved. 25 agreements of understanding have already been signed with Russian companies, which provide for their participation in the RIZ as potential residents. These include manufacturers of biochemistry products and fertilizers, construction materials and metal structures, composite materials, farming machinery, electrically-powered and oil and gas equipment, dock facilities, etc.

— Africa traditionally attracts major state-owned Russian companies. Could this market be interesting to small and medium-sized businesses and to what extent?

— The number of companies that consider African markets attractive for expanding their export operations is constantly growing. The REC Group is ready to engage various financial and non-financial support measures to promote export and implement joint projects. For example, Nigeria is planning to construct and upgrade the existing integrated iron- and-steel works with the participation of Russian contractor. Russian exporters may focus on the following niches when planning to expand their operations: the motor vehicles and car assembly sector, railroad infrastructure development and modernization, wheat milling, oil processing equipment and much more.

— The development of trade and economic relations is limited by poorly developed logistical routes and poor knowledge of local markets. How can these problems be solved?

— We are systematically developing special export routes. They speed up cargo delivery, which is especially important for perishable goods. It is very important for trade and economic rotations to further strengthen the partnership with the African countries in the field of logistics. To do this, we are actively introducing electronic document management systems to be used by all the countries and a single multimodal transport document. We are assisted by Russian Railways, the Federal Customs Service, and other partners. The development of new technological supply chains and new logistics products for exporters will increase non-commodity export to African countries and will help to enhance transport service export. These are the primary objectives that should be addressed by us in the framework of the International Cooperation and Export project.



— Russia is interested in increasing commercial and industrial turnover and know-how export as well. Can you share any successful examples in this regard?

— We know that know-how export is tightly connected to energy and power plant construction projects. There are examples in the oil sector related to the construction of pipelines and in the mining industry. The delivery of tangible objects in these areas is often followed by the introduction and dissemination of advanced Russian technologies and know-how.



— What does REC expect from the Summit and the Forum? What documents do you plan to sign?

— The REC Group is going to execute a series of cooperation agreements with its African partners in key economic sectors. First of all, it is the energy sector, the oil sector, transport and infrastructure, iron and steel industry, the chemical industry, mechanical engineering and the agro-industrial complex. We have achieved significant progress in all these areas over the past year. The Russia-Africa Summit and the Economic Forum will become a milestone in the new history of our relationship. I hope Russian and African companies will see new perspectives thanks to the events to be held in Sochi. The strengthened cooperation between Russia and African countries in the political sphere must be followed by the logical development of economic ties. I hope all the forum participants are able to successfully use this unique platform to achieve their business goals!


Analytics on the topic

нефинансовый институт развития
крупнейший организатор конгрессно-выставочных мероприятий
Рады вас видеть
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Экспертное мнение
15.10.2019

Андрей Слепнев: «Пришло время выходить за рамки стереотипов»

— Российский экспортный центр — крупнейший иностранный акционер Афрэксимбанка. Как это влияет на развитие сотрудничества России и Африки? Вы можете подвести первые итоги?

— Наша совместная история началась в конце 2017 года: РЭЦ вошел в капитал Афрэксимбанка, став третьим крупнейшим акционером среди неафриканских финансовых институтов, экспортных кредитных агентств и частных инвесторов. Афрэксимбанк — наш надежный партнер в Африке, работа с которым помогает продвигать на континентроссийскуюпродукцию. Сегоднямыработаем в двух направлениях. Во-первых, прорабатываем конкретные проекты с возможностью минимизации финансовых рисков. Сейчас на рассмотрении их уже более 10 — в Египте, Зимбабве, Замбии, Нигерии и Анголе. В 2019 году мы закрыли первые сделки, например, РОСЭКСИМБАНК добавил подтверждение по двум аккредитивам, выпущенным Афрэксимбанком, в пользу дочерней компании ПАО «Уралкалий». Это позволит поставить удобрения российского производства в Замбию на сумму порядка 45 млн долларов США. Во-вторых, в том числе через каналы Афрэксимбанка мы продвигаем российский экспорт в Африке — речь идет о совместных бизнес-миссиях, выставках, поиске партнеров. Самым значимым мероприятием за последнее время стала Экономическая конференция Россия — Африка, которая прошла в июне в Москве в рамках общего Ежегодного собрания акционеров Афрэксимбанка и где были достигнуты существенные договоренности по ряду направлений.

— Какие проекты последних лет по линии Россия — Африка можно считать ключевыми?

— Рынки африканских стран очень интересуют российских поставщиков сельскохозяйственной техники, автопромышленников (КамАЗ, группа «ГАЗ», УРАЛ, УАЗ), производителей специальной техники. Сельхозтехника РОСТСЕЛЬМАШ уже успешно продается в ЮАР, LADA реализует локальную сборку в Египте, «Рено» поставляет в Алжир кузовы российского производства. Российский бизнес включается в проекты по обслуживанию и модернизации электростанций, по нефтедобыче и транспортировке нефти, по обустройству объектов химической и горнорудной промышленности в Африке. Сохраняют свое значение поставки в Африку продукции сельского хозяйства и продовольственных товаров. Например, Египет крупнейший импортер российского зерна.



— В Африке создается совместная промышленная зона. Какие преференции получат российские компании? Кто из них уже стал резидентом проекта?

— Создание Российской промзоны в Египте (РПЗ) входит в Национальный проект «Международная кооперация и экспорт». На площадке «Восточный Порт-Саид» экономической зоны Суэцкого канала будет постепенно создаваться уникальный комплекс площадью 525 га. Экспортеры и поставщики из России смогут локализовать здесь свои производственные мощности — в непосредственной близости от перспективных рынков Ближнего Востока и Африки. Резиденты будут пользоваться современной инженерной и коммунальной инфраструктурой — это дороги, периметр безопасности, водои электроснабжение и т. д. Производителям предложат выбрать оптимальное место для работы — базовую площадку для проектирования собственной застройки (greenfield) или готовые производственные корпуса (brownfield). Для резидентов будут действовать льготы и преференции, связанные с налогообложением, таможенными пошлинами на экспорт и импорт, затратами на персонал и оплатой прохождения Суэцкого канала. Предусмотрена возможность 100% репатриации полученной выручки, при этом не будет требований, касающихся наличия египетского партнера. На сегодня подписано 25 соглашений о намерениях с российскими компаниями относительно их участия в РПЗ в качестве потенциальных резидентов. Это производители биохимии и удобрений, строительных материалов и металлоконструкций, композитных материалов, сельскохозяйственной техники, электротехнического и нефтегазового оборудования, портовой оснастки и другие.

— В Африке Россию традиционно представляли крупные предприятия с государственным участием. Насколько рынки континента интересны компаниям малого и среднего бизнеса?

— Все больше компаний рассматривают рынки стран Африки в контексте развития своей внешнеторговой деятельности. А мы, группа РЭЦ, готовы задействовать все возможные финансовые и нефинансовые меры поддержки в деле продвижения экспорта и реализации совместных проектов. Например, при участии российского генерального подрядчика и с привлечением российского финансирования Нигерия планирует завершить строительство и провести модернизацию металлургического комбината. Перспективные направления и ниши для российских экспортеров в Африке — это поставки готовой автомобильной техники и машинокомплектов, строительство и модернизация железнодорожной инфраструктуры, поставки оборудования для мукомольного, нефтеперерабатывающего производства и многое другое.



— Развитие торгово-экономических отношений сдерживается слабым развитием логистических маршрутов, незнанием местных рынков. Как решаются эти проблемы?

— Мы системно работаем над формированием специальных экспортных маршрутов. Они ускоряют доставку грузов, что особенно важно для скоропортящихся товаров. Партнерство со странами Африки в области логистики очень значимо для дальнейшего укрепления торгово-экономических связей. Для этого мы активно внедряем электронный документооборот между странами, вводим единый мультимодальный транспортный документ. Хочу отметить, что нам содействуют и РЖД, и ФТС, и другие партнеры. Развитие новых технологических схем поставок, новых логистических продуктов для экспортеров увеличит объемы экспорта поставок несырьевых товаров в страны Африки, поможет развитию экспорта транспортных услуг. Именно такие первоочередные задачи стоят перед нами в рамках Нацпроекта «Международная кооперация и экспорт».



— Россия заинтересована не только в увеличении торгово-промышленного оборота, но и в экспорте своих технологий. Приведите удачные примеры такого сотрудничества.

— По нашему опыту, экспорт технологий наиболее характерен для проектов энергетического комплекса и строительства электростанций. Есть примеры и в нефтяном секторе, связанные со строительством трубопроводов, и в горнорудной промышленности. После поставок материальных объектов в этих сферах всегда происходит внедрение и распространение передовых российских технологий и разработок.

— Что РЭЦ ждет от Саммита и Форума? Какие документы планируете подписать?

— Группа РЭЦ готовит серию соглашений о сотрудничестве с африканскими партнерами по ключевым отраслям и секторам экономики. В первую очередь, это энергетика, нефтепромышленный сектор, транспорт и инфраструктура, металлургия и химическая промышленность, машиностроение и АПК. За прошедший год мы отмечаем существенный прогресс по всем этим направлениям. Саммит и Экономический форум Россия — Африка станут точкой отсчета в новой истории наших взаимоотношений. Рассчитываю, что благодаря мероприятиям в Сочи российские и африканские компании увидят друг друга в новом свете. Крайне важно, чтобы за укреплением сотрудничества России и стран Африки в политической сфере следовало закономерное развитие экономических связей. Желаю всем участникам Форума успешно использовать эту уникальную площадку для достижения своих бизнес-целей!


Аналитика на тему