A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation is a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and business, public, sporting, and cultural events. It was established in pursuance of a decision by the President of the Russian Federation.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 160 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 75 countries worldwide.

The Roscongress Foundation has Telegram channels in Russian (t.me/Roscongress), English (t.me/RoscongressDirect), and Spanish (t.me/RoscongressEsp). Official website and Information and Analytical System of the Roscongress Foundation: roscongress.org.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Petteri Taalas

Petteri Taalas

Secretary-General, World Meteorological Organization
Professor Taalas was elected in May 2015 as the Secretary-General of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) for a mandate running from 2016 to 2019. He was born in 1961 in Helsinki, Finland. He holds a PhD in Meteorology (Helsinki University, Physics department 1993, Univ. of Eastern Finland: meteorology, physics, physical chemistry and international development)

Before joining WMO he was the Director-General of the Finnish Meteorological Institute 2002-2005, 2007-2015 (National weather, climate and marine Institute).

He has also held positions in International development and scientific fields:

Director of Development and Regional Activities Department of WMO, Geneva 2005-2007

Research professor on Remote Sensing/FMI 2000-2002

Senior scientist/scientist at the FMI 1986-1999

He is also a Member of various international activities:

• Member of WMO Executive Council 2008-2015

• Chairman of EUMETSAT Council 2010-2014 (European Meteorological Satellite Organization)

• Chairman of EUMETNET Council 2003-2005

(EUMETNET is a network of 31 European National Meteorological Services based in Brussels),

Member of ECMWF Council 2002-5, 2007-2015,

(The European Centre for Medium-Range Weather Forecasts is an independent intergovernmental organisation supported by most of the nations of Europe and is based at Shinfield Park, Reading, UK)

• Principal Delegate of Finland to IPCC 2007-15 (Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change)

• Member of American Meteorological Society 2007-2014

• Honorary Doctor, Teri University, India (2016)

• Honorary Member 2015, China Meteorological Association

• Chairman of the Board of University of Eastern Finland (2009-2015)

• Member Board of Directors of Fortum Energy Company (2013-2015)