non-financial development institution
major organizer of congress and exhibition events
Welcome!
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
LNG for the Asia-Pacific: Potential for Cooperation and Sustainable Development
5 October 2018
14:00—15:15
KEY CONCLUSIONS
The Asia-Pacific is the largest consumer of energy resources in the world

The Asia-Pacific is one of the most rapidly developing, from an economic point of view, regions in the world. At the same time, it consumes the most energy resources because the economy and the population continue to grow — Liu Hongpeng, Director, Energy Division, United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP); The Global Energy Prize Expert.

It is expected that the Asia-Pacific region will see a 34% increase in LNG consumption by 2022. Asia will account for over 70% of the import of these resources — Liu Hongpeng, Director, Energy Division, United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP); The Global Energy Prize Expert.

Liquified natural gas is the most promising energy export

By implementing small scale energy projects using LNG, we’ll be able to offer, for the first time, a supply of clean energy to rural regions and increase the population’s standards of living. Today we’re talking about a ‘virtual’ pipeline – we don’t need to build long gas pipelines to supply gas across a long distance – we can build modest gas supply ships and ensure LNG deliveries. We should think not just about economic value and profits, but about human impact. We must put people first. By launching small scale LNG energy projects, we can reduce poverty and facilitate the development of manufacturing in rural regions — Alan Lau, President Director, PT Anglo Euro Energy Indonesia.

Current government policy is focused on improving the island’s environmental situation. Green technology and the use of liquified natural gas have been identified as promising avenues of development. Sri Lanka is transitioning to clean sources of energy and intends to gradually reduce dependence on coal. Although the country’s economy is small, we have a large potential for growth, so LNG deliveries may rise to a significant volume — Merrille Godfrey Abeywickrama Goonetilleke, Additional Secretary, Ministry of Power and Renewable Energy of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka.

LNG has many advantages – a reduced environmental footprint, convenient transport – so in large part, the growth in LNG consumption is the result of a transition from coal power plants to gas — Liao Xianchun, Professor, Research Institute of Green Development, Jinan University.

From the point of view of infrastructure and economic opportunities for delivering gas along pipelines, the delivery of these natural resources (LNG) is very promising. The LNG market in the Asia-Pacific has been growing recently — Liu Hongpeng, Director, Energy Division, United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP); The Global Energy Prize Expert.

Development of the LNG market requires new business models

In any case, LNG is a very promising model for Asia, but it demands an absolutely novel approach to business integration and profit is gained through a completely different process — Tatyana Mitrova, Director, Energy Centre, SKOLKOVO Moscow School of Management.

ISSUES
Lack of gas

Currently 2000 MW [of Bangladesh’s energy capacity - Ed.] remains unused because of a lack of gas — Mohammad Hossain, Director General, Power Cell Division, Ministry of Power, Energy and Mineral Resources of the People’s Republic of Bangladesh.

Insufficient funds to convert generation from coal to gas

Where funds are lacking, in regions that have trouble attracting investment, countries will continue to use coal. The smallest capital intensity and energy resource price – these are the key factors in the choice between natural gas and coal — Tural Gadirli, Portfolio Manager, QBF Portfolio Management.

The main competitor to natural gas is coal. Currently, natural gas is losing out to coal, even if we take into account harmful emissions — Tural Gadirli, Portfolio Manager, QBF Portfolio Management.

Financial risks for LNG suppliers

Clients are increasingly paying attention to spot indices, which increases financial risk for suppliers. Contracts are becoming shorter and smaller and, accordingly, to sell the same quantity of LNG you need to work very quickly and market actively to sell your surplus LNG — Tatyana Mitrova, Director, Energy Centre, SKOLKOVO Moscow School of Management.

There’s another important moment with new consumers. Many of them don’t have very high credit ratings. These are developing countries, where national risks are far higher. From the supplier’s point of view, it’s rather difficult to make the decision to work with such countries — Tatyana Mitrova, Director, Energy Centre, SKOLKOVO Moscow School of Management.

SOLUTIONS
Creating new terminals for LNG

We are expanding partnership opportunities and plan to create floating regasification units and build new terminals — Mohammad Hossain, Director General, Power Cell Division, Ministry of Power, Energy and Mineral Resources of the People’s Republic of Bangladesh.

Optimizing contract and project financing mechanisms

We must preserve a certain about of flexibility and room to maneuver. If we make the decision that energy must be cheaper, we would need to take action with regard to gas prices. This is why it is vital to structure demand correctly — Merrille Godfrey Abeywickrama Goonetilleke, Additional Secretary, Ministry of Power and Renewable Energy of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka.

We’re talking about innovative paths, for example, small projects, about customers. The role of users, consumers is growing, and that can be included in contracts. Usually suppliers start to search for more flexibility in terms of their service contracts, and that flexibility comes from the price — Monica Sun, Partner, Herbert Smith Freehills LLP.

Sustainable development requires a widescale dialogue between suppliers and consumers. We need to find project financing mechanisms and contract procedure mechanisms that, maybe, don’t yet exist, some sort of mutual guarantees, including with development banks. We need to create a new foundation, new technologies, and new business models — Tatyana Mitrova, Director, Energy Centre, SKOLKOVO Moscow School of Management.

The material was prepared by the Russian news agency TASS

нефинансовый институт развития
крупнейший организатор конгрессно-выставочных мероприятий
Рады вас видеть
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
СПГ – новые возможности для сотрудничества и устойчивого развития в Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе
5 Октября 2018
14:00—15:15
Ключевые выводы
Азиатско-Тихоокеанский регион — главный потребитель энергоресурсов в мире

Азиатско-Тихоокеанский регион является наиболее быстроразвивающимся с точки зрения экономики регионом мира. В то же время он потребляет наибольшее количество энергоресурсов — это связано с продолжающимся экономическим ростом, а также ростом населения — Хунпэн Лю, Директор отдела энергетики, Экономическая и социальная комиссия для Азии и Тихого океана Организации Объединенных Наций; эксперт премии «Глобальная энергия».

АТР, как ожидается, вырастет на 34% с точки зрения потребления СПГ в 2022 году. Доля Азии будет составлять более 70% от импорта этих ресурсов — Хунпэн Лю, Директор отдела энергетики, Экономическая и социальная комиссия для Азии и Тихого океана Организации Объединенных Наций; эксперт премии «Глобальная энергия».

Поставки сжиженного газа — наиболее перспективное направление экспорта энергоносителей

Реализуя маломасштабную энергетику на основе СПГ, мы впервые можем предложить поставки чистой энергии в удаленные районы, можем поднять уровень жизни населения. Сегодня речь идёт о „виртуальном“ трубопроводе — не нужно строить длинных газопроводов, чтобы поставлять газ по трубопроводу, можно построить небольшие суда — газовозы и обеспечить поставки СПГ. Мы должны думать не только об экономической ценности и прибыли, но и о человеческой эффективности. Люди должны стоять на первом месте. С помощью маломасштабной энергетики на основе СПГ можно добиться сокращения бедности, обеспечить развитие промышленности в удаленных регионах — Лау Алан, Президент-директор, PT Anglo Euro Energy Indonesia.

В настоящее время государственная политика направлена на улучшение экологической ситуации на острове. Перспективными направлениями развития энергетики выбраны „зелёные“ технологии и использование сжиженного природного газа. Шри-Ланка переходит на чистые источники энергии и намерена постепенно отказываться от угля. Хотя экономика государства небольшая, у нас есть большой потенциал для роста, поэтому объемы поставок СПГ могут достигнуть значительной величины — Абейвикрама Гунетилеке Марилле Годфри, Помощник секретаря, Министерство энергетики и возобновляемой энергии Демократической Социалистической Республики Шри-Ланка.

У СПГ много преимуществ — снижение экологической нагрузки и удобство в транспортировке, поэтому во многом рост потребления СПГ обусловлен переводом угольных электростанций на газ — Сяньчунь Ляо, Профессор, Научно-исследовательский институт «зеленого» развития, Университет Цзинань.

С точки зрения инфраструктуры, а также экономических возможностей поступления газа по трубопроводным системам, появляются большие возможности поставок этих природных ресурсов (СПГ — Ред.). В последнее время в Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе появляется наиболее активный рынок для СПГ — Хунпэн Лю, Директор отдела энергетики, Экономическая и социальная комиссия для Азии и Тихого океана Организации Объединенных Наций; эксперт премии «Глобальная энергия».

Развитие рынка СПГ требует новых бизнес-моделей

СПГ в любом случае очень обещающая модель для Азии, однако она требует абсолютно нового подхода к ведению бизнеса, и прибыль достигается совершенно другими способами — Митрова Татьяна, Директор, Центр энергетики, Московская школа управления СКОЛКОВО.

Проблемы
Нехватка газа

В настоящее время 2000 МВт [из существующих в Бангладеш энергетических мощностей — ред.] по-прежнему не используются в связи с недостатком газа — Хоссейн Мохаммад, Генеральный директор по энергетике, Министерство энергетики и минеральных ресурсов Народной Республики Бангладеш.

Недостаток средств для перевода генерации с угля на газ

При отсутствии финансирования в регионах со сложным привлечением капитала страны будут продолжать использовать уголь. Наименьшая капиталоемкость и цена на энергоноситель — это ключевой аспект в вопросе выбора между натуральным газом и углем — Гадирли Турал, Портфельный управляющий, QBF Portfolio Management.

Основной конкурент природного газа — уголь. На текущий момент природный газ уступает углю даже с учетом факта выброса вредных веществ — Гадирли Турал, Портфельный управляющий, QBF Portfolio Management.

Финансовые риски для поставщиков СПГ

Клиенты все больше внимания уделяют спотовым индексам, а это повышает финансовые риски для поставщиков. Контракты становятся более короткими и более мелкими, соответственно, чтобы продать то же количество СПГ, придется работать очень быстро, заниматься активным маркетингом, чтобы продавать излишки СПГ — Митрова Татьяна, Директор, Центр энергетики, Московская школа управления СКОЛКОВО.

Есть еще один конкретный момент с новыми потребителями. У многих из них не очень высокие кредитные рейтинги. Это развивающиеся страны, где страновые риски достаточно высокие. С точки зрения поставщиков, принять решение о том, чтобы работать с такими странами, достаточно нелегко — Митрова Татьяна, Директор, Центр энергетики, Московская школа управления СКОЛКОВО.

Решения
Строительство новых терминалов для приема СПГ

Мы расширяем наши партнёрские возможности и планируем создавать как плавучие платформы для регазификации, так и строить новые терминалы — Хоссейн Мохаммад, Генеральный директор по энергетике, Министерство энергетики и минеральных ресурсов Народной Республики Бангладеш.

Оптимизация механизмов оформления контрактов и финансирования проектов

Нам необходимо сохранить определенную гибкость, пространство для маневра. Если будет принято решение о том, что энергия должна быть более дешевой, нужно будет принимать меры в отношении цены на газ. Поэтому необходимо правильно структурировать спрос — Абейвикрама Гунетилеке Марилле Годфри, Помощник секретаря, Министерство энергетики и возобновляемой энергии Демократической Социалистической Республики Шри-Ланка.

Мы говорим об инновационных путях, например, мелких проектах, о тех, кто является покупателями. Роль пользователей, потребителей растет, и это можно записывать в контракт. Обычно поставщики начинают искать большей гибкости в рамках своих сервисных контрактов, а гибкость обеспечивается стоимостью — Сан Моника, Партнер, Herbert Smith Freehills LLP.

Для устойчивого развития потребуется обширный диалог между поставщиками и потребителями. Нужно найти такие механизмы финансирования для этих проектов, такие механизмы оформления контрактов, которые, может быть, еще не существуют на данный момент, какие-то взаимные гарантии, в том числе с банками развития. Необходимо создать новую базу, нужны новые технологии и новые бизнес-модели — Митрова Татьяна, Директор, Центр энергетики, Московская школа управления СКОЛКОВО.

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС