A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation – a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions, congress, exhibitions, business, social and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 5000 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 126 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 69 countries worldwide.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Collaboration in Industry: Potential Areas of Growth
23 October 2019
16:30—18:00
KEY CONCLUSIONS
Russia and African countries are interested in broad industrial cooperation

I would single out five main strategic areas in which our companies have already begun building cooperation with our African colleagues. Above all, this involves the modernization of the existing industrial infrastructure, and in this regard, projects are being implemented to supply the latest Russian equipment for metallurgical and mining enterprises. The next area is the development of the transport and logistics system, including the supply of rolling stock for railways, airplanes, and helicopters of various classes and purposes, as well as security and control systems for these modes of transport. The third pillar for industrial cooperation is involvement in the creation of energy infrastructure, oil, gas, and generating capacities, including hydro and nuclear energy, as well as promising projects in renewable energy sources. Another cross-sectoral area incorporates the entire perimeter of food security issues […]. And, finally, we believe there are great prospects for our medical and pharmaceutical industries to take part in the technological development of the healthcare system and drug supply for all countries of the continent — Denis Manturov, Minister of Industry and Trade of the Russian Federation.

We have identified two points for our presence in this region: the north, namely Egypt, where we are currently implementing a project to supply 1,300 passenger cars, and the south, namely South Africa. All that is left for us to do along with our colleagues present in this room is to build a trans-African highway, connect the northern and southern parts, and ensure appropriate the economic growth and industrial growth, while we will sell our passenger cars and locomotives — Kirill Lipa, General Director, Transmashholding.

Our presence in Africa began more than ten years ago in 2008 with the acquisition of the bauxite mining company Sierra Mineral Holdings (SMHL). To date, production has exceeded 3 million tonnes, including 2 million tonnes of high-quality bauxite that is exported […]. Now we are pushing forward with the construction of a hydrated plant. The project involves the establishment of the first enterprise [in Sierra Leone] for the processing of non-metallurgical products with high added value. It will have capacity of 200,000 tonnes of aluminium hydrate per year — Karima Nigmatulina, General Director, Vi Holding.

Our strategy is to diversify the African continent so that it receives investments from a variety of sources, including Russia. We view Russia as one of the main suppliers of these investments. We need experience in agriculture and the raw materials industries — Benedict Okey Oramah, President, Chairman of the Board of Directors, African Export–Import Bank (Afreximbank).

There are so many areas in which we can collaborate. Egypt currently needs a large number of buses. It also needs to develop the transport system because the existing roads are extremely congested right now, and, of course, Russia is one of the leading countries in this area, so there is no doubt that Russia’s experience will help us. We have everything we need for this. We also have natural gas reserves. This is another area in which Russia is one of the world leaders, so our Russian colleagues can certainly help us here — Amr Nassar, Minister of Trade and Industry of the Arab Republic of Egypt.

ISSUES
Heightened risks associated with investing in Africa

We realize that we have a sort of time lag for when we can just be sellers [of mineral fertilizers]. But the local authorities will nevertheless raise the issue of localizing fertilizer production. And we will have a choice: either we take this risk, participate in joint ventures, and the leaders of the countries politely offer us to be partners with all the ensuing consequences – bring money, bring technology, set up distribution, and be responsible for financial risks – or we just remain traders, but then, if they build their own plants, the first thing that they will do is close this market off to external ones — Dmitry Mazepin, Chairman of the Board of Directors, URALCHEM.

Our community SADC [Southern African Development Community] has continued to cooperate with Russia for many years. We don’t only cooperate in the public sector, but also in the private sector. However, there aren’t many examples of successful collaboration in the private sector. In many ways, there are no joint private projects due to a lack of information. The information that we receive and provide here is very limited. Last year I was at the Moscow Chamber of Commerce and Industry, and it was very clear that the Chamber of Commerce doesn’t know much about Africa — Stergomena Lawrence Tax, Executive Secretary, Southern African Development Community (SADC).

SOLUTIONS
Systematic state support for business projects

Systematic support from the state is one of the key conditions for the success of any business projects abroad. And, in this regard, we have developed a whole complex of measures. We have set the goal of identifying promising niches and areas of cooperation and assisting companies in establishing business ties with trade missions of the Russian Federation. There are four of them on the African continent: in Algeria, Egypt, Morocco, and South Africa […]. Our trade missions around the world work in close cooperation with the Russian Export Center, which administers non-financial and financial mechanisms to support the export of our products. They could significantly reduce the cost of Russian machinery and equipment. In addition, Roseximbank and EXIAR, a member of the REC Group, provide businesses with access to borrowed financial resources on favourable terms — Denis Manturov, Minister of Industry and Trade of the Russian Federation.

You can only enter the African continent in principle with infrastructure and state support. Because the African continent, of course, is very attractive for investment. We all understand how many people live there, what potential there is, and what the potential for growth is, but there are huge financial, logistical, political, and other risks there, and it’s a rather risky task to go alone against the tide and take these risks upon ourselves — Dmitry Mazepin, Chairman of the Board of Directors, URALCHEM.

Creating mechanisms to fund mutual trade and joint projects

Today, we signed an extremely important agreement on the sidelines of this Forum to create a trade financing platform jointly with VEB.RF, Sberbank, our export center, and international companies. This allows for our trade turnover to include both the resources of Russian banks and the liquid resources that African countries sell to the world […]. So far, we have incorporated approximately ten African countries into this loop, but we understand that we can expand the mechanism as it develops. So, the goal that President Vladimir Putin spoke about this morning in his speech to double our trade turnover is absolutely real — Andrey Slepnev, Chief Executive Officer, Russian Export Centre .

At present, Vi Holding, in collaboration with Afreximbank, the state-owned Giprotsvetmet company, and Russian Export Center, is developing a new platform, including on the sidelines of this Forum, which will become a major project to create a large-scale interstate platform for the implementation of mining projects in African countries. We are talking about developing an integrated system of collaboration between Russia and the African countries, pan-African financial institutions, and investors that are interested in doing so in order to create tools to fund geological exploration and prospecting that are to be carried out mainly by specialized Russian organizations. This also implies getting Russian business structures involved in the commercial development of deposits according to the priority list of resources and under state guarantees from African states — Karima Nigmatulina, General Director, Vi Holding.

The material was prepared by the Russian news agency TASS

нефинансовый институт развития
крупнейший организатор конгрессно-выставочных мероприятий
Вход в Единый личный кабинет
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Промышленная кооперация – потенциальные точки роста
23 Октября 2019
16:30—18:00
Ключевые выводы
Россия и страны Африки заинтересованы в широкой промышленной кооперации

Я бы выделил пять основных стратегических направлений, по которым наши компании уже начали выстраивать взаимодействие с африканскими коллегами. В первую очередь, это модернизация существующей промышленной инфраструктуры, и в этой части реализуются проекты поставок новейшего российского оборудования для металлургических и горнорудных предприятий. Следующее направление — это развитие транспортно-логистической системы, включая поставки подвижного состава для железных дорог, самолетов и вертолетов разных классов и назначений, а также систем безопасности и управления этими видами транспорта. Третий блок для промышленной кооперации — это участие в создании энергетической инфраструктуры, нефтегазовых и генерирующих мощностей, в том числе гидро- и атомной энергетики, а также перспективные проекты в сфере возобновляемых источников энергии. Еще одно межотраслевое направление затрагивает весь периметр вопросов, связанных с продовольственной безопасностью. <...> И, наконец, большие перспективы связываем с участием нашей медицинской и фармацевтической промышленности в технологическом развитии системы здравоохранения и лекарственного обеспечения всех стран континента — Мантуров Денис, Министр промышленности и торговли Российской Федерации.

Мы определили две точки для присутствия в этом регионе: это северная его часть, это Египет, где мы сейчас реализуем проект поставки пассажирских вагонов в количестве 1300 штук, и южная его часть, это ЮАР. Все, что нам осталось, это совместно с присутствующими в этом зале коллегами построить трансафриканскую магистраль, соединить северную и южную часть, обеспечить соответствующий экономический рост, промышленный рост, ну а для нас — сбыт наших пассажирских вагонов и локомотивов — Липа Кирилл, Генеральный директор, АО «Трансмашхолдинг».

Наше присутствие в Африке началось более 10 лет тому назад в 2008 году с приобретения добывающей бокситы компании Sierra Mineral Holdings (SMHL). К настоящему времени объем добычи превысил 3 млн тонн, из которых 2 млн тонн — это высококачественный боксит, который идет на экспорт. <...> Сейчас [мы] двигаемся в сторону создания гидратного завода. Проект предполагает создание первого в стране (Сьерра-Леоне — Ред.) предприятия по переработке неметаллургической продукции с высокой добавленной стоимостью. Эта мощность будет 200 тыс. тонн гидрата алюминия в год — Нигматулина Карима, Генеральный директор, ООО «Ви Холдинг».

Наша стратегия заключается в диверсификации африканского континента, чтобы африканский континент получал инвестиции и получал их из самых разных источников, в том числе из России. Россию мы определяем как один из главных поставщиков данных инвестиций. Нам необходим опыт в области сельского хозяйства, в области сырьевых отраслей — Орама Бенедикт Окей, Президент, председатель совета директоров, Африканский экспортно-импортный банк (Афрэксимбанк).

Есть очень много сфер, в которых [можно] сотрудничать. Сейчас Египту требуется большое количество автобусов, также требуется развитие транспортной системы, потому что те дороги, которые имеются, сейчас весьма заполнены, и, конечно же, Россия одна из ведущих стран в этой области, поэтому, без сомнения, российский опыт нам поможет. У нас есть все, что нужно для этого. Также у нас есть запасы природного газа, это еще одна сфера, в которой Россия является одной из ведущих в мире, поэтому несомненно именно российские коллеги могут нам здесь помочь — Нассар Амр, Министр торговли и промышленности Арабской Республики Египет.

Проблемы
Повышенные риски инвестиций в Африку

Мы понимаем, что у нас есть какой-то лаг времени, когда мы можем быть просто продавцами (минеральных удобрений — Ред.). Все равно местные власти будут ставить вопрос о локализации производства удобрений у себя. И у нас будет стоять выбор: либо мы берем этот риск и участвуем в совместных предприятиях, и они, руководители стран, вежливо нам предлагают быть партнерами со всеми вытекающими последствиями — принести деньги, принести технологии, наладить дистрибьюцию, отвечать за финансовые риски, либо же остаться просто трейдерами, но потом, если они построят свои заводы, первым делом что они сделают, они закроют этот рынок от внешних — Мазепин Дмитрий, Председатель совета директоров, АО «ОХК «УРАЛХИМ».

Нехватка информации

Много лет продолжается сотрудничество нашего сообщества SADC (Сообщество развития Юга Африки, — Ред.) с Россией. Сотрудничество происходит не только в области государственного сектора, но и в частном секторе. Однако в частном секторе не так уж много примеров успешного взаимодействия. Во многом отсутствуют совместные частные проекты за счет недостатка информации. Информация, которая поступает к нам и от нас сюда, очень ограничена. В прошлом году я была в Московской торгово-промышленной палате, и было совершенно очевидно, что не так уж много известно об Африке в торгово-промышленной палате — Такс Стергомена Лоуренс, Исполнительный секретарь, Сообщество развития Юга Африки.

Решения
Системная государственная поддержка бизнес-проектов

Одним из важных условий успеха любых бизнес-проектов за рубежом является системная поддержка государства. И в этой части с нашей стороны выстроен целый комплекс выработанных мер. Мы возложили задачу по выявлению перспективных ниш и направлений сотрудничества, содействию компаниям в установлении деловых связей на торговые представительства Российской Федерации. На Африканском континенте их сейчас четыре: в Алжире, Египте, Марокко и ЮАР. <...> Наши торгпредства по всему миру работают в тесной кооперации с Российским экспортным центром, который администрирует нефинансовые и финансовые механизмы поддержки экспорта нашей продукции. Они позволяют существенно снижать стоимость российской техники и оборудования. Кроме того, входящий в Группу РЭЦ Росэксимбанк и ЭКСАР открывают для бизнеса доступ к заемным финансовым ресурсам на льготных условия — Мантуров Денис, Министр промышленности и торговли Российской Федерации.

Только имея инфраструктуру и поддержку государства можно в принципе входить на африканский континент. Потому что африканский континент, конечно, очень инвестиционно привлекателен, мы все понимаем, сколько там живет жителей, какой там потенциал, какой потенциал роста, но там же и присутствуют огромные риски финансовые, логистические, политические и все остальные, и двигаться в одиночку против течения и взятие этих рисков на себя — достаточно рискованная задача — Мазепин Дмитрий, Председатель совета директоров, АО «ОХК «УРАЛХИМ».

Формирование механизмов финансирования взаимной торговли и совместных проектов

Сегодня мы подписали на полях этого форума важнейшее соглашение по формированию платформы для торгового финансирования совместно с ВЭБ.РФ, Сбербанком, нашим экспортным центром и международными компаниями. Это позволяет включить в наш торговый оборот как ресурсы российских банков, так и те ликвидные ресурсы, которые африканские страны продают в мир. <...> Пока около 10 африканских стран мы включаем в этот контур, но мы понимаем, что по мере отработки механизма мы можем его расширять. Таким образом, та задача, о которой сегодня говорил Президент Владимир Владимирович Путин утром на выступлении по удвоению нашего товарооборота, — мы видим абсолютно реальной — Слепнев Андрей, Генеральный директор, АО «Российский экспортный центр».

В настоящий момент, в том числе на полях этого форума, „Ви Холдинг“ во взаимодействии с Афрэксимбанком, государственной компанией „Гипроцветмет“ и Российским экспортным центром развивает новую платформу, которая станет масштабным проектом по созданию масштабной межгосударственной платформы для реализации горнорудных проектов в странах Африки. Речь идет о разработке комплексной системы сотрудничества России с заинтересованными странами Африки, панафриканскими финансовыми институтами и инвесторами для создания инструментов финансирования геологоразведочных и изыскательских работ, которые предполагается выполнять преимущественно силами российских специализированных организаций. Это также предполагает подключение российских деловых структур к коммерческому освоению месторождений по приоритетному перечню ресурсов и под госгарантии заинтересованных африканских государств — Нигматулина Карима, Генеральный директор, ООО «Ви Холдинг».

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС