A socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Roscongress Foundation – a socially oriented non-financial development institution and a major organizer of international conventions; exhibitions; and sporting, public, and cultural events.

The Foundation was established in 2007 with the aim of facilitating the development of Russia’s economic potential, promoting its national interests, and strengthening the country’s image. One of the roles of the Foundation is to comprehensively evaluate, analyse, and cover issues on the Russian and global economic agendas. It also offers administrative services, provides promotional support for business projects and attracting investment, and helps foster social entrepreneurship and charitable initiatives.

Each year, the Foundation’s events draw participants from 208 countries and territories, with more than 15,000 media representatives working on-site at Roscongress’ various venues. The Foundation benefits from analytical and professional expertise provided by 2,500 people working in Russia and abroad. In addition, it works in close cooperation with 122 economic partners; industrialists’ and entrepreneurs’ unions; and financial, trade, and business associations from 69 countries worldwide.

RC personal account
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
The Future of the African Continent: Sovereignty and Traditional Values as Crucial Elements of a Development Strategy
24 October 2019
11:00—12:30
KEY CONCLUSIONS
National sovereignty is a foundation for Africa’s development

Today, Africans wish to achieve sustainable development based on cultural values and sovereignty — Marie Noelle Koyara, Minister of National Defense and Army Reconstruction of the Central African Republic.

The sovereignty of each country should be maintained at the level of national legislation and should ensure that all governmental and non-governmental organizations are subject to law and government decisions. Changes in the legal framework, energy, electricity generation and education are required. Legislative changes are needed to combat corruption, fraud and money laundering. Depoliticization of the energy sector is needed — Vaiva Adomaityte, Founder, Chief Executive Officer, ADMIS Consultancy.

We need development, we need new policies that will be based on local solutions that go vertically from the bottom up. And of course, we are talking about associations that need space for qualified young people, not only in Africa, who can bring to the continent something that will lead to further development — Jose Matemulane, President, Association for Free Research and International Cooperation.

Africa is attractive for foreign investors

Africa is a continent that is developing very rapidly. It boasts vast natural resources, human resources and, of course, those countries that will have the most influence on the continent will determine global policy as well — Anton Morozov, Deputy of the State Duma, Member of the Committee on International Affairs.

Africa is the most competitive and attractive place to invest from all over the world. At a time when many banks do not have any profits, we now see that we do not have negative rates — Clifton Ellis, Founder, Chairman, International Sustainable Energy Organisation.

Russian-African cooperation is based on equality

It is very important and significant that Russia and its African partners are talking not only about business, not only about the economy, not only about investments, but also about humanitarian projects, education and the search for that joint future <…> where everything will be implemented based on the win-win strategy and where one partner will not take advantage of the temporary weaknesses of another — Alexander Malkevich, President, Foundation for National Values Protection; Chairman, Commission of the Civic Chamber of the Russian Federation on Development of the Information Community, Mass Media and Mass Communications.

The vision of Africa's history and future should not be based on the French neo-colonial point of view. The Russian point of view is quite different: it is the logic of mutually beneficial cooperation, in particular, cooperation between private enterprises of our countries — Nathalie Yamb, Executive Adviser, Liberty and Democracy for the Republic Party (LIDER) of the Republic of Cote d'Ivoire.

The fact that Russia has never been a metropolis makes up our approach to our foreign partners. Our foreign policy concept does not have and never had any provisions that would impose our cultural values, standards of democracy and so on. We always respect the sovereignty of our partners. In this sense, it is much more beneficial for African countries to cooperate with Russia — Anton Morozov, Deputy of the State Duma, Member of the Committee on International Affairs.

ISSUES
Negative heritage of the African colonial past

After centuries of slavery, colonization, pseudo-independence, we may have gained freedom – but freedom in the closed space of the Francophone Africa. Today, in 2019, our Francophone Africa is essentially under French control — Nathalie Yamb, Executive Adviser, Liberty and Democracy for the Republic Party (LIDER) of the Republic of Cote d'Ivoire.

We have been developing for 60 years, but our development projects are facing great difficulties. It is very difficult for many countries to defeat poverty, resolve climate issues, and political and economic problems. Sub-Saharan Africa is a very poor region. For 50 years, the population's income was only USD 1.25 a day. <...> 70% of Cameroon's population lives below the poverty line. Much has been said today about the reasons for this, but I would like to talk about another reason. This is a lack of respect for African sovereignty. It is a structural problem. For a very long time, African countries have not had their sovereignty — Laurence Ndong, Vice-President, «Pour le Gabon».

Underdeveloped infrastructure and weak economic policy

The new government of Sudan is making plans to use Russia's experience in a variety of fields. <...> Sudan has always suffered from political instability and internal wars, and this has led to the destruction of infrastructure. Mismanagement issues, absence of various important laws and the spread of corruption, led to a decrease in investments. Wrong policies over the past 30 years have led to a deterioration of the economic situation — Abdelrahman Noureldayem Saeed Abdelwahab, Member, Sudanese Economists Association.

SOLUTIONS
Russia’s competences can help resolve economic problems

The presence of Russia, which has no colonial tradition, can be very useful. <...> We would like to invite Russian companies to participate in the development of our agricultural sector, our mining industry and so on — Nathalie Yamb, Executive Adviser, Liberty and Democracy for the Republic Party (LIDER) of the Republic of Cote d'Ivoire.

Many of the economic problems we now see in Africa are similar to those economic issues that Russia faced in the 1990s. <...> At some point, we chose our own path, the path of economic sovereignty. This is always a very difficult choice, but we see our strength in it. <...> We feel very confident in terms of practical experience in implementing these reforms. <...> In general, Russian specialists are ready to work in various African countries — Maksim Moskalev, Russian economist.

Embracing innovative technologies

African governments now have the opportunity to radically change their societies, using distributed registry technologies and using quality and quantity to maximize this impact — Nathalie Yamb, Executive Adviser, Liberty and Democracy for the Republic Party (LIDER) of the Republic of Cote d'Ivoire.

Using national competitive advantages

In most African countries, the majority of the population is rural. Those are agricultural countries; therefore, the development of the agro-industrial sector in these countries should be given a priority — Marie Noelle Koyara, Minister of National Defense and Army Reconstruction of the Central African Republic.

Warranties for investors

At legislation level both our African partners and us, we need to prescribe certain mechanisms in order to create certain preferences for Russian companies working in African markets — Anton Morozov, Deputy of the State Duma, Member of the Committee on International Affairs.

The material was prepared by the Russian news agency TASS

нефинансовый институт развития
крупнейший организатор конгрессно-выставочных мероприятий
Рады вас видеть
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Образ будущего Африканского континента: суверенитет и традиционные ценности как важные элементы стратегии развития
24 Октября 2019
11:00—12:30
Ключевые выводы
Национальный суверенитет — основа развития африканского континента

Желание африканцев сегодня — это достичь устойчивого развития, основанного на культурных ценностях и на суверенитете — Койара Мари-Ноэль, Министр национальной обороны и реконструкции армии Центральноафриканской Республики.

Суверенитет каждой страны должен сохраняться на уровне национального законодательства и должен гарантировать, что все государственные и негосударственные организации должны подчиняться единому закону и решениям правительства. Требуется внесение изменений в законодательную базу, энергетику, электрогенерацию, а также в образование. Необходимы законодательные изменения для борьбы с коррупцией, мошенничеством и отмыванием денег. Необходима деполитизация энергетического сектора — Адомайтите Вайва, Основатель, главный исполнительный директор, ADMIS Consultancy.

Нам требуется развитие, нам требуется новая политика, которая будет основана на местных решениях, которые будут идти по вертикали снизу вверх, и, конечно же, мы говорим об ассоциациях, которым требуется пространство для квалифицированных молодых людей, не только африканских, которые могли бы привнести на континент то, что приведет к дальнейшему развитию — Матемулане Жозе, Президент, Ассоциация свободных исследований и международного сотрудничества.

Африканский континент привлекателен для иностранных инвесторов

Африка — это континент, который развивается очень динамично, имеет огромные природные ресурсы, человеческие ресурсы, и, безусловно, те страны, которые будут иметь влияние на континенте, будут определять в том числе и мировую политику — Морозов Антон , депутат Государственной Думы Российской Федерации, член комитета по международным делам.

Африка является наиболее конкурентоспособным местом и привлекательным местом для инвестиций со всего мира. В те времена, когда у многих банков нет какой-либо прибыли, мы сейчас видим, что у нас нет отрицательных показателей по ставкам — Эллис Клифтон, Основатель, председатель, International Sustainable Energy Organisation.

Российско-африканское сотрудничество базируется на равноправии

Очень важно и значимо, что Россия и ее африканские партнеры говорят не только о бизнесе, не только об экономике, не только об инвестициях, но и о гуманитарных проектах, об образовании и о поиске того совместного будущего <…> где все будет реализовываться по принципу win-win и не будет один партнер пользоваться временными слабостями другого — Малькевич Александр, Президент, Фонд защиты национальных ценностей; председатель комиссии Общественной палаты Российской Федерации по развитию информационного сообщества, СМИ и массовых коммуникаций.

Видение истории Африки и ее будущего не должно опираться на французскую неоколониальную точку зрения. Российская точка зрения совсем другая — это логика взаимовыгодного сотрудничества, в частности, сотрудничества между частными предприятиями наших стран — Яамб Натали, Исполнительный советник, Партия «Свобода и демократия за республику» (LIDER) Республики Кот-д’Ивуар.

В том, что Россия никогда не была метрополией, состоит наш подход к нашим иностранным партнерам. В нашей концепции внешней политики нет и никогда не было положений, которые навязывали бы наши культурные ценности, стандарты демократии и так далее. Мы всегда уважаем суверенитет наших партнеров. В этом смысле для африканских государств гораздо выгоднее сотрудничать с Россией — Морозов Антон , депутат Государственной Думы Российской Федерации, член комитета по международным делам.

Проблемы
Негативное наследие колониального прошлого стран Африки

После веков рабства, колонизации, псевдонезависимости мы, может быть, получили свободу — но свободу в замкнутом пространстве франкофонной Африки. Сегодня, в 2019 году, наша франкофонная Африка под контролем Франции, по сути — Яамб Натали, Исполнительный советник, Партия «Свобода и демократия за республику» (LIDER) Республики Кот-д’Ивуар.

Вот уже 60 лет мы развиваемся, но наши проекты развития сталкиваются с большими трудностями, и нам очень сложно во многих странах победить бедность, решить климатические вопросы, политические и экономические проблемы. Африканский регион к югу от Сахары — очень бедный регион. За 50 лет доходы населения составляли лишь $1,25 в день. <…> 70% населения Камеруна живет ниже уровня бедности. О причинах этого уже много сегодня говорилось, но я хотела бы поговорить еще об одной причине. Это недостаток уважения к суверенитету африканских стран. Это структурная проблема. Очень долго африканские страны не имели своего суверенитета — Ндонг Лоренс, Вице-президент, «Pour le Gabon».

Неразвитость инфраструктуры и слабость экономической политики

Новое правительство Судана строит планы для использования опыта России в разных областях. <…> Судан всегда страдал из-за нестабильности в политике и внутренних войн, и это привело к разрушению инфраструктуры. Из-за отсутствия организации, разных требуемых законов и распространения коррупции это привело к снижению инвестиций. Неправильная политика в последние 30 лет привела к ухудшению экономического положения — Абдельвахаб Абдельрахман Ноурелдайем Саиид, Член, Ассоциация экономистов Судана.

Решения
Компетенции России помогут решить экономические проблемы

Присутствие России, у которой нет колониальной традиции, может быть очень полезным. <…> Мы хотели бы пригласить российские компании участвовать в развитии нашего сельскохозяйственного сектора, нашей горнодобывающей промышленности и так далее — Яамб Натали, Исполнительный советник, Партия «Свобода и демократия за республику» (LIDER) Республики Кот-д’Ивуар.

Многие экономические проблемы, которые мы видим сейчас в Африке, в африканских странах, во многом схожи с проблемами, которые Россия решала в 90-е годы в экономической сфере. <…> В какой-то момент мы избрали для себя свой путь, путь экономического суверенитета. Это всегда очень непростой выбор, но мы в этом видим свою сильную сторону. <…> Мы очень уверенно себя ощущаем с точки зрения практического опыта реализации этих реформ. <…> В целом российские специалисты готовы работать в различных странах Африки — Москалёв Максим, российский экономист.

Ставка на инновационные технологии

Сейчас у правительств африканских стран есть возможность радикально изменить свое общество, используя технологии распределенного реестра, а также используя качество и количество, для того, чтобы максимизировать этот результат — Эллис Клифтон, Основатель, председатель, International Sustainable Energy Organisation.

Использование конкурентных преимуществ стран

В большинстве африканских стран население в основном сельское, это сельскохозяйственные страны, поэтому развитию агропромышленного сектора в этих странах должно уделяться приоритетное внимание — Койара Мари-Ноэль, Министр национальной обороны и реконструкции армии Центральноафриканской Республики.

Гарантии для инвесторов

На уровне законодательства нашего и наших африканских партнеров нужно определенные механизмы прописать, для того чтобы создать определенные преференции именно для российских компаний при работе на африканских рынках — Морозов Антон , депутат Государственной Думы Российской Федерации, член комитета по международным делам.

Материал подготовлен информационным партнером ТАСС