non-financial development institution
major organizer of congress and exhibition events
Welcome!
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Research
29.05.2019
Key Trends in Russian Cinema (September 2018)
Despite a reduction in releases in 2017, the number of films produced in Russia has been on the rise in recent years, at around 140–150 films each year. At the same time, increasingly few films are receiving state support: while more than 70 such projects received public funding in 2015–2016, only 52 did in 2017. On the other hand, in 2017, twice as many films as usual (20 as opposed to ten) were shot with the involvement of TV channels. This is a very significant source of investment for producers.

The digital revolution paved the way for more films to make it to the big screen, with the number of films increasing from 280–350 in 2004–2011 to 400–450. The same can be said for event cinema: by 2016, a distribution system for event cinema had emerged and begun to enjoy considerable success (a total of 550–600 such films were screened as part of more than 200 programmes.) However, 2018 saw the adoption of the ‘law on film festivals’, which constitutes a serious threat to the continued existence of these types of public screenings, as it narrows the range of films that can be shown without a distribution license (and the conditions for obtaining such a license cannot always be satisfied in the case of creative content or retrospective releases).

There was little change in attendance and box-office returns between 2013 and 2015, with about 175 million admissions per year. Two fruitful years followed, attracting 193 and 213 million cinemagoers respectively, although the depreciation of the rouble led to a twofold drop over the space of five years in the level of interest expressed by foreign producers in the Russian market. At the same time, the drop in the price of a film ticket in roubles (in both real and nominal terms) indicates that people’s purchasing power is decreasing, threatening to reduce revenues for the entire film industry.

In summarizing the results of the study, the authors have identified ten key trends that are influencing and shaping the medium-term outlook for the Russian film industry:
  • The current difficult economic situation in Russia is reducing the incomes of professionals in all branches of the industry and increasing expenditure on the foreign technologies and equipment on which the industry depends.
  • In Russia, federal executive bodies have assumed a more prominent role in regulating the film market and the activities of market players, which is having an impact (both positive and negative) on all sub-sectors of the film industry.
  • The Russian cinema network has continued to expand thanks to financial support from the federal budget, which is having a positive effect on distribution and the production of domestic films. It is also having a positive effect on cinema exhibition, although this effect is more ambiguous: the number of cinemas may have increased, but competition is also increasing, and the fate of subsidized screens is uncertain.
  • State financial support for film production is concentrated on an increasingly small number of big-budget films produced by leading studios. This means that the market share of Russian films is more and more dependent on the box-office returns of a small number of players and projects.
  • There are more sources of income and investment for producers: partnerships with TV channels, crowdfunding, foreign sales (which are especially important given the weakness of the rouble), the development of video-on-demand services, TV channels dedicated to specific topics, etc.

The economy is therefore the most important factor impacting the film industry. The second most important factors are political and social, with the effect of technology on the Russian film industry in third place. The most important conclusion of this study for Russian film producers is that they must pay particular attention to the social changes that are taking place. Distributors would be advised to focus on minimizing economic and legislative risks, but it is Russian cinemas that are facing the most problems, since they must overcome technological and social challenges as well as economic and legislative issues.
Analytics on the topic

нефинансовый институт развития
крупнейший организатор конгрессно-выставочных мероприятий
Рады вас видеть
Восстановление пароля
Введите адрес электронной почты или телефон, указанные при регистрации. Вам будет отправлена инструкция по восстановлению пароля.
Некорректный формат электронной почты или телефона
Исследование
29.05.2019

Ключевые тренды российского кино (сентябрь 2018 г.)

В последние годы объёмы кинопроизводства в России возрастают (несмотря на сокращение числа фильмов на экранах в 2017-м) и составляют порядка 140-150 картин в год. В то же время государственную поддержку во всё большем объёме получает всё меньшее число лент, вышедших в прокат: если в 2015–2016 годах их было больше 70, то в 2017 — лишь 52. С другой стороны, в 2017-м вдвое больше картин, чем обычно (20 против 10), было снято при участии телеканалов — это весьма заметный источник инвестиций для продюсеров.

Свершившаяся цифровая революция открыла дорогу на широкий экран новым фильмам (число их выросло с 280–350 в 2004–2011 годах до нынешних 400–450) и спецпоказам, система проката которых к 2016 году сложилась и преуспела (на экраны выходят 550–600 наименований в составе более 200 программ). Однако в 2018 году был принят «закон о фестивалях», который всерьёз угрожает развитию данной сферы, сужая круг фильмов, которые могут демонстрироваться без прокатного удостоверения (а условия его получения далеко не всегда позволяют это сделать в случае событийных или ретроспективных релизов).

С точки зрения посещений и кассовых сборов в 2013–2015 годах на рынке была стагнация (около 175 млн посещений), после которой наступили два «тучных» года (193 и 213 млн зрителей), хотя падение курса рубля почти в два раза за 5 лет снизило интерес к российскому рынку со стороны зарубежных продюсеров. В то же время снижение цены кинобилета в рублях (как реальное, так и номинальное) свидетельствует о понижающейся платёжеспособности населения, что угрожает сокращением доходов всей киноиндустрии.

Обобщая результаты исследования, авторы доклада выделили 10 ключевых трендов, оказывающих влияние на российскую кинематографию и формирующих её облик в среднесрочной перспективе. Вот некоторые их них:
  • текущая неблагоприятная ситуация в экономике страны сокращает доходы всех ветвей кинематографии и повышает расходные статьи, связанные с зависимостью отрасли от зарубежных технологий и оборудования;
  • в России усиливается роль федеральных органов исполнительной власти в части регулирования кинорынка и действий его игроков, что оказывает воздействие (как положительное, так и отрицательное) на все подотрасли кинематографии;
  • расширение киносети России продолжается за счёт финансовой поддержки из средств федерального бюджета, что положительно влияет на прокат и отечественное кинопроизводство, а также — весьма неоднозначно — на кинопоказ (растут конкуренция и неопределённость дальнейшей судьбы субсидированных залов — при общем позитиве от роста числа кинотеатров);
  • государственная финансовая поддержка кинопроизводства концентрируется на сокращающемся числе крупнобюджетных фильмов, которые производятся лидирующими студиями, что ведёт к повышению зависимости доли рынка отечественного кино в прокате от малого числа игроков и проектов;
  • множатся источники доходов и инвестиций для продюсеров: сотрудничество с телеканалами, краудфандинг, зарубежные продажи (особенно важные при ослаблении рубля), развитие сервисов видео по запросу, тематических телеканалов и пр.

Таким образом, основное влияние на киноотрасль сегодня оказывает экономика; второе место по значимости делят политические и социальные аспекты; технологии же на состояние российской киноиндустрии влияют в меньшей степени. Главным выводом из исследования в отношении отечественных кинопродюсеров является то, что особого внимания с их стороны сегодня требуют изменения, происходящие в социальном плане. Прокатчикам следует сосредоточиться на минимизации экономического и законодательного риска. Больше всего проблем — у российских кинотеатров, для которых помимо экономическо-законодательных сложностей есть серьёзные угрозы и технологическо-социального характера.
Аналитика на тему